Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-7840W

Laser All-in-One with Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 of 27(89%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-7840W
Review 1 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:April 6, 2011
By ParamedicStewie
I have had this printer for over a year now and I have had no issues with it. I print a lot and this printer has never failed me. I have used many Brother products and currently have 3 Brother printers in use, 2 of which are label machines.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A very good buy
Date:November 26, 2010
By Anonymous
I have had this machine for over a year now and it has worked quite well. I have no regrets at all; I would buy it again. I have found it cheap to operate and quite serviceable. The installation was a little problematic but once it was resolved all was well. I highly recommend this machine . Remember it is not color but black and white so if that is what you want then this machine is for you.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Solid Product
Date:October 12, 2010
By westcoasthawk
from Seattle, WA
Amazing product for such a reasonable price. Top quality print. Great fax capabilities. Scans effortlessly. Copies like a champ. I won't be going back to over-priced, merely adequate HPs again.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not a thing wrong with this printer.
Date:October 11, 2010
By clicker01
from Silicon Valley, Ca.
This printer is awesome. Hard to believe some of these reviews. In fact, I'm writing this review simply because I'm amazed that people are complaining about this and that. This is an awesome multi-function printer. Super easy wireless networking setup across every platform out there; Windows version "everything", Linux, Novell, MAC, Unix, BSD. You name it, I have it piped in to this all in one.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Large Business (1000+ Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love My Brothers
Date:July 5, 2010
By beans
from Irving, TX
We had a Brother MFC9600 for 10 years without any problems. The quality started to deteriorate and we decided to replace it with a wireless Brother 7840W. We have had it about 2 weeks and it is performing wonderfully. The wireless set up was a little chore up front because of our unfamiliarity with the Verizon routing codes. Once I talked to Verizon the set up went flawlessly.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good choice
Date:July 4, 2010
By Artsy
from surprise, Arizona
I was looking for a multi-function, laser quality, black printer. I had other printer experiences and knew the Brother was reliable and could take a lot of use. So far, it has met all my needs; I defintely like the larger paper tray and feeder. I'm not one for reading directions, but I have been able to use several functions such as the enlarging option which I also like w/o any frustration. Now, if I use the provided disc, that would be a good thing! My previous all in one, color printer which is smaller will be going to my son, is also a Brother and is continuing to perform admirably.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Buy
Date:July 4, 2010
By dollspot
from San Francisco. CA
This is the second Brother printer I have owned. The first one lasted 5 years and I got this one so I could go wireless. I have no doubt it will last me as long or longer then the first. It was not complicated to set up and all functions were working within a short time. Thanks Brother -keep the reliable units coming!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Delighted. Just Delighted
Date:July 3, 2010
By CT1069
from Miami, FL
After using four devices (Dell Laser Printer, Cannon Personal Copier, Brother Fax, and Visioneer Scanner -- all good sutff but 'tired') to do the same thing, I bought a Brother MFC-7840W after shopping around. I needed a reasonably fast mono laser printer with good quality. This machines is great in each area of capability. Very happy with the quality and speed of printing output which was of prime importance. The document feeder has worked flawlessly with even rumpled sheets and can be used for faxing or copying. Set up was a snap (although I have not set up the wireless feature for the other computers that will share this unit.) The 'icing on the cake' is the software interface that comes with the unit -- Control Center 3. It allows you to configure scanning functions for IMAGE (to JPG or TIFF or whatever), then OCR (using Paperport which has improved manyfold since I last used an OCR programi to identifity letters and numbers from a printed page and put them into an editable document for a program like Word, EMAIL to attached a file to an email ready to be sent using an interface to your email program and FILE (to create things like PDF files). Then there are four more customizable buttons to allow personal preferrence setups like scanning to make low-res or higher-res files (either PDF or JPG or some other fiiles) for those occasions when you need that type of stuff. All in all, this purchase exceeded my expectation. Like I said, I am just delighted. Haven't found a single thing to complain about.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good product
Date:July 3, 2010
By cynthie
from Los Angeles
I have been using this mfc 6 months and I have not had problems. Brother is a good product. You need to keep it covered so dust will not accumulate. Dust mess up the fax feeder.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Multi-Function Printer
Date:July 3, 2010
By Patrick
from California
I checked the reviews online before deciding and all the positive comments about this printer were true. It installed easily on the network via the wired Ethernet connector. After downloading the Mac drivers from Brother, my sweetheart's MacBook Pro connected easily and works better wirelessly with this printer than the one she uses at school! The print quality is excellent, including graphics. I've used the copy, fax and image scan functions and they all work without any problems. Since I use fax and scan infrequently, it's a testament to the intuitive nature of the device that I could do so without having to reread the manual. Also, the print cartridges are a much better value that HP's. Bottom line: I'm very happy with this excellent device.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great for a family Network Printer
Date:July 3, 2010
By DMay
from Space Coast, Florida
We started out with a printer connected to our Desktop PC, and a standalone fax. Now we have more space with this printer being an all-in-one.
Print quality is great and fast, plus the family loves the ability to print from their laptops wirelessly. I've used the fax, copy, and scan features also. All work well for the home user in my opinion. Brother has designed a nice one here.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good machine
Date:July 3, 2010
By jirihipo
from Brownsville,TX
All in one, save space and excellent quality and printers
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 13 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-7840W "A" Good Copier
Date:July 3, 2010
By MacMan
from Hobe Sound, Florida
I bought my Brother MFC-7840W and find it to be a very good copier.
Brother on line and telephone assistance were very helpful to me to get it up and running. If you have occasion to call -You will meet some very nice customer assistance folks from other parts of the world.
Note - In setting it up you must stand in front of the machine and look down at the window in order to read the prompts.
The machine is supposed to be "wireless" Fax, Scan & Copy. I am somewhat disappointed in that you can not use the fax function without a land line. That is hardly "Wireless". It was only after numerous phone calls that customer service finally told me that. So I do not use the fax function in that it does not have the ability to fax. That is a bit lame.
My home computer is a new IMac, which is totally wireless. (Wireless keyboard and wireless mouse) using an AT&T router which also enables me to have wireless on demand TV movies, surfing using my Direct TV remote.
The Brother MFC-7840W copy function works very well. That's about it. I give this model an "A" for being a good copier.
MacMan
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product, Great value
Date:July 3, 2010
By eliz
I needed to replace a b/w printer. After doing research about performance and price, I choose the MFC-7840W. Hasn't let me down yet! I definitely recommend this product.
Review 15 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Printer is Great
Date:July 3, 2010
By brockmc
We have been so excited with our new MFC Printer.....We have it on a different level of the house and the wireless function works perfectly. My husband was afraid he'd waste time printing when the machine might be out of paper and we'd have to go downstairs just to be disappointed.....Not to worry, yesterday I had a window appear on my computer that said the printer was "Out of Paper"....No worries now..It's great.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good
Date:March 15, 2011
By Anonymous
from Philadelphia, pa
i own 4 brother printers - they are the best! some are over 10 years old and still going. my only problem with this printer is the wireless software is def flaky on win 7. some machines it works great - some not at all. if they can lock down the software portion it will be a 5 out of 5 star printer
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 17 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good product for the money
Date:December 19, 2010
By Dado
from New Orleans, LA
All printing functions were good out of the box until I tried printing envelopes through the manual paper feed. Almost every time I tried I got a message saying 'Paper Jam, Remove and reinstall the Toner Cartridge. I finally returned it for another and it has been working fine. Good product for the money. Simple to install.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Windows 7 wireless lan installation finally worked
Date:September 10, 2010
By semitechie
from Honolulu
I returned an HP M1522nf that would not do what I needed, and exchanged it for this one despite earlier complaints about it not working with Windows 7. It came with a Windows 7 disk. After several unsuccessful wireless attempts, I used a wired connection to the router for the setup on the desktop computer (which turned out to have a wired connection to the router!). Once the printer showed up in the network map and I had added it to the homegroup, I did a wireless lan installation for the laptop (calling it a Brother peer to peer network). It easily found the printer and the installation works for both computers: wired for one, and wireless for the other. Anyone visiting the household can access the wireless lan if they have the WEP key, and just would need to install the software suite or the driver.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Must buy (almost perfect)
Date:August 23, 2010
By Jeff
from Los Angeles
I was looking for a laser multifunction device with network capability that I could use to print from my laptop anywhere in the house. A lot of reviews seemed to point to the Brother MFCs as the best overall brand for laser monochrome devices. The only problem was that there were a LOT of different models to choose from - just going to the Brother website to do some comparison shopping made my head spin.
The MFC-7840W is a recently introduced model which has seemed to get good reviews across the board. A major plus is that it has both wireless and wired network capabilities. I took the plunge and purchased this model. Since I already had a wireless router to plug it into, I didn't need to use the wireless capabilities, but it seemed to be a nice option for future flexibility. The Ethernet connection was easy to set up and worked the first time I tried printing from my laptop. I like that they had 2 option wired and wireless. this is Great. Now I am using the wireless.
I've been very pleased with the quality and feature set of the MFC-7840W. Not only does it print high quality output, but it has clearly-labeled buttons for scan, fax, and copy, which makes it a breeze to use any of these functions. Plus, the device is relatively light and doesn't have a very large footprint, so it fits easily on top of a small file cabinet. High marks overall. The only thing missing was duplex(double side page) printing option and USB direct print. (it will be perfect)
Please Brother the next update add duplex double side printing and usb direct.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-7840W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great machine
Date:July 4, 2010
By Edlewusa
from Long Island
Easy set-up, does everything well. Having a network printer is the best; printing from the backyard, the basement, etc. Don't know yet about the toner life. This replace a Brother multifunction that replaced a Brother laser that replaced a Brother laser.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 2 next>>