Product Reviews

Brother MFC-7220

Compact Laser All-in-One
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
17 of 24(71%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-7220
Review 1 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good printer
Date:December 24, 2012
By eyak
from Utah
Wish it had been a bit cheaper but it's a good and fast printer. Have had no jams or other problems but I only use it at home.
Review 2 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent, Work Horse
Date:April 29, 2012
By Joselillo
from Miami FL
I really like this printer, it's being used as fax to send and receive with a conventional phone line and also with a VoIP line with no problems, also being used as printer scanner on my home/office and works perfect, supplies are available all the time every where and reasonable prices.
I'm an IT professional and have this printer for over 1 year with no problems at all.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
What a find!
Date:April 5, 2012
By MizPeep
I have been reluctant to try a multipurpose unit but I have always like Brother products; the price was right and I found the replacement toner cartridges price to be reasonable. I have had it now for several months and don't know why I waited so long. It is great, easy to understand and the print quality is more than adequate for my use.
I highly recommend this printer and am very happy I bought it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:March 6, 2011
By Satisfied
from Winter Garden, Florida
I bought my MFC7220 Brother laser printer in January 2005 and it has given me trouble-free service until recently when it needed minor servicing. It's back in service as good as ever. I look forward to using it for years to come. The toner cartridges are easily available and are reasonably priced and long lasting. A great laser printer for everyday use.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Solid choice
Date:March 6, 2011
By Hoppah
from Kenmore, WA
I was tired of replacing expensive inkjet cartridges in my Epson so was looking for an all in one laser. Costco had an offer for the MFC-7220 for a very reasonable price.
I've not used the fax function but have been very pleased with the scan, copy and printing functions and the accompanying software has been easy to use. Great choice for an inexpensive all-on-one.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
too good
Date:March 5, 2011
By bala
Gives problems after two years like paper jamming frequently. Otherwise good product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
My MFC-7220 experience
Date:March 5, 2011
By FLRudy
I have been using the MFC-7220 in our Home-Office for over a year now and have had not one problem with it. It performs perfectly every time as a printer, Fax, copier, and scanner. I recommend it highly.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Replacing a MFC-7420
Date:March 4, 2010
By galaserve
from Norwich, CT
Just purchased to replace a MFC-7420 which has served me well for the past 5 years. I do income tax preparation so the old unit got a lot of use especially during the tax season. was able to retain the new drum that I had just purchased as well as to use the new stock of toner cartridges. I expect that this one will suit me as well as or better than the old one. Was always an HP fan before but am much happier with the Brother experience. I also have a HP color inkjet which i anticipate replacing soon and will definitely be looking at a Brother printer to replace that.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 9 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good product
Date:March 30, 2013
By kgm1
from Tampa
I would recommend this as a general purpose tool. Its fast will use far less resources than an inkjet.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 10 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:December 29, 2012
By acuhappyhouir
from MA
I have had many printers, this is my first laser printer. It has been great! Less Cost in ink with the laser. This gives warning of when ink is low. Very AFFORDABLE.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
A Good Buyer
Date:December 25, 2012
By StraightShooter
from Seattle, WA
MFC-7220 All-in-One works well. Its technical support is helpful, stepping through patiently with me to fix my installed software problems.
The machine itself is not that expensive, but its parts are expensive, for example,
the toner TN350 which I ordered directly from Brother Mall is more than double the price that I pay to buy from other office supply places and they are originals by Brother, not imitations or refurbishes.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
brother 7220
Date:December 24, 2012
By MOWil
from Andalusia, Al
I like the printer. Fast and quite. The only thing I don't like is I can't lay a book or other big document down on the glass and copy. I would recommend it to any one that is a business person for personal use. I print to it from 3 computers. Works well. I would give it 4 Stars
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 13 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
It just WORKS!!
Date:March 6, 2011
By greenmachine
from Dallas, TX
This little machine is a workhorse! It definitely delivers. It's the best money I ever spent on a printer...and then there is the copy, scan and fax. Oh Boy!! The only reason I rated it 4 stars is the recent trouble I had using the scanning software. Not sure what the problem is, but I was able to use the scanner with a document preview program on my computer. I purchased the unit in 2006. I make my share of copies and the toner gives me my money's worth. I haven't had to change the drum yet.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good
Date:March 6, 2011
By KMBCONINC
from San Antonio, Tx
Dependable and durable. I use it to print out 100- 150 pages at a time and it works very well since I have had this machine which has been for a little bit over a year.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 15 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
very good functionality at a great price
Date:March 5, 2011
By Cotton
from Ohio
The 7220 multi-function machine I purchased is easy to use, makes great copies, faxes easily, scans & copies all with just a few buttons to push.
This machine doesn't take up a lot of space on my desk, yet does the job(s) of much bulkier machines.
I am very satisfied and happy that I bought this machine at such a good price & warranty.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Too complicated
Date:March 5, 2011
By Broisgood
from St Louis MO
The day/date setting appears to be more complicated then need be and , if machine is shut off, it has to be done again. Needs to be simpler and retained. Other functions seem to work fine. It's great for short run home copying.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 17 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
reliable equipment
Date:March 5, 2011
By RuralAccountant
I have had three of these; I mostly use them to receive faxes, and as backup to other equipment. I find they last about 2 years; each time, I have bought another one to replace it. (I replace them when the drum goes, as it costs almost as much to buy a drum as an entirely new machine.) The machines have been extremely reliable. I don't even remember having a paper jam, though I can't swear to that.
One caution: I had an electrician rig separate circuits, as the Brother machines all seem to draw a lot of power when they start up and I don't want the power fluctuations on my other machines. Same with all Brother equipment that I use.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
OK - but could be better
Date:May 7, 2011
By simpleuser
from Southern California
I use the printer in a home office and the usage as light. Print and FAX functions work to my satisfaction with infrequent jams. Paper feed does not work well resulting in slanted scans and envelopes. The LCD display is virtually invisible unless viewed at a certain angle. I keep a flashlight by the printer to see the display. I use the printer with XP so I can’t comment on how the printer will perform with newer versions of Windows. I would say an OK, not great, value for the price
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
home office
Date:March 5, 2011
By salesman
The price was the main reason for the purchase. The customer service people are very nice. The weakness with the product is printing gray or light colored letters. You can not adjust enough to see the names of streets or the streets them selves on a map printed out.
Review 20 for MFC-7220
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
mfc 7220
Date:March 5, 2011
By tvc1881
from St.
Down and dirty model. Very basic. A few bucks more can get a lot more bang.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 2 next>>