Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-6490CW

Professional Series Inkjet All-in-One Printer with up to 11" x 17" Printing and Dual Paper Trays
Average Customer Rating:
4.136 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
5
55 of 66(83%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-6490CW
Review 1 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product at a great price!
Date:April 2, 2010
By Missy
from Wisconsin
This machine functions well and is easy to use. Set up took about 20 minutes and I was able to hook it up completely wireless. I had never done that before and it was easy to do. I love the print quality, and the versatility of going between an envelope all the way up to an 11 x 17 piece of paper. I have recommended this to friends and have already had a friend replace his printer with this model.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Another Excellent Machine!
Date:October 22, 2010
By LinuxMan
from New York, NY
I was so satisfied with the results I got with an MFC6890CDW I purchased that I went and got this one for Home use to set it up on a mixed interface network with different Operating Systems and network protocols (I have linux on my machine, my wife uses Windows and my teenage kids use Mac).
Once again the Brother machine proved to be extremely easy to set up even for my wife who is not an advanced user and the wireless connectivity works flawlessly, my children are able to print and scan wireless and even use it with the Iphone through the App Brother has developed for them.
ONCE AGAIN, GREAT PRODUCT FOR A GREAT PRICE!!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great print quality with large scale scanning
Date:October 3, 2010
By SkipStone
from Phoenix
Finally a reasonably priced printer with great photo printing quality. Throw in an 11 x 17 scanner and you have the best all-in-one for the money. Thanks Brother.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer I have purchased
Date:August 12, 2010
By options
from Omaha, NE
Absolutely the best printer I have ever had. I've used HP's for years and last 3 were junk and supplies are expensive. We use this printer hard and have yet to have a problem. The 11x17 capabilities make printing our show posters cheaper and easier than taking to a print shop. We brought our design and printing in house, now we change our fliers on a per show basis. Networkable so all the computers in your office have the same great capabilities, fax, scan, print etc... We like this printer so well a couple us us have purchased for home use.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent purchase
Date:July 8, 2010
By KyleJ
from Port Orchard, WA
The purchase of this printer has served me very well. The print quality is very good and the wireless application went smoothly. Scanning has not been a problem either. I would recommend this for the person who doesn't do heavy printing volumes as the speed is a little slower but overall it is an excellent machine for the small office.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Experience and Terrific Value
Date:May 6, 2010
By Barry
from Southern California
Brother has his a home run with this product. I've had it for over three years and it has never disappointed me as I continue to explore and use its many features. I'm still amazed at its price point considering it is one of the few machines that can handle 11x17 documents - what a value! I was also concerned that I would have trouble once I installed Windows 7. Those concerns evaporated as the machine worked flawlessly from the get go. This is by far the most versatile, reliable, and economical multi-function I have ever had. I expect to get many more years of service out of it. After that, I look forward to replacing it with whatever successor model Brother has at that time. As far as I'm concerned, Brother has earned my loyalty.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:May 3, 2010
By 32sc16
from WA
Easy to set up and use including networking!
Scan & Print quality is fast for this price point & good quality.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 8 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine so far!!!!
Date:April 26, 2010
By Fabe
from Hazleton, PA
I originally purchased your competitors all in one. In my opinion it was very difficult and a nightmere to set up with Windows 7. I tried several times/ then had a friend of mine who is a computer tech try and he couldn't get it either- It also used alot of ink. The second day I had it I was back at the store for ink . I was very disgusted and annoyed. I returned it and bought this machine which was a bit more expensive but well worth the extra money-it set up right away and works great-no problems so far-not hard on ink-highly recommend this machine-I also have a word processor that still works great - I used in college- about 13 years old and it's still running- I also bought for my parents a brother fax machine that's over ten years old and it just keeps running. Great products -thanks BROTHER!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Buy
Date:April 14, 2010
By PropheticVoice
from Stafford, VA
This has to be one of the best values for the money I have come across as far as multi-function printers are concerned. Being able to print 11 X 17 paper is unheard of at this price. Very frugal on the injet cartridges also. Software that came with it (Paper Port 11 SE and others) is great. I am pleased as punch.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent All-in-One Machine!
Date:April 6, 2010
By RimCountrySunrise
from Arizona Mountains
I have had this printer for over a year and am are very pleased with the performance. The computer and the printer are in separate rooms and the wireless feature works great! I prints lots of letter and legal documents every day and it is so easy to switch between paper trays on the computer screen. The scanner feature works very well for documents and pictures. The fast/normal print feature is great for printing emails...get a quality print and saves on ink. It would be nice to have a less cumbersome way to print envelopes. Overall, this is a great machine - black/white and color prints are sharp/clear. A great all-in-one machine and excellent value!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Choice
Date:April 5, 2010
By Penguin1
from Santa Ana, Californis
I was looking for a 11X17 All In One, and this unit fits the bill perfectly. The price is good, and it fits well in my home office. It replaced a letter format All In One, and now allows me to print large format which is standard for my industry. The only thing missing is a single sheet feeder. The unit installed and started up without any problems whatsoever.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great, Versatile AIO
Date:April 4, 2010
By breakfastchef
from NC
This printer is for home office use and will receive light to moderate use. My favorite features are the wireless connectivity, and the flip open top that makes it easy to scan/copy large and/or clumsy documents.
Fax and print functions work fine. Nothing stellar; just very good. I was suprised how well the scan function worked on a few test documents I sent through the device. Document feeder is a great feature. The card readers are super convenient if you have a few photos you want to print directly from camera media.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Does it all
Date:April 4, 2010
By Michael
from Raleigh, NC
I needed a printer that could print 11x17 and in the past had to settle with one printer just for 11x17 at a ridiculous price and another for smaller formats. This printer does it all and at a great price. Works flawlessly with windows. Is slow to print with Ubuntu Linux. Only complaint is I wish it had a aux slot in the back to run thick paper or envelopes through instead of removing the paper tray and reloading.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
The Last Printer You Will Buy
Date:April 4, 2010
By ArizonaCowboy
from Arizona
After spending countless dollars on ink I had my reservations about buying this printer. My concerns were unfounded as I have gone through two reams of paper and I still have ink in the cartridges. I thought that I would have problems setting up this printer but found out quickly that it practically set itself up. With the two paper storage compartments I find that I never run out of paper during that large printing project. This is amazing as all the computers in my wireless network print to this one printer so I don't have to buy a printer for each computer. I am shocked with the speed of printing and the clarity of each copy. For a photographer and flyer producer I have to say this is the best printer that has come to market in a very long time. The price is right and the cost of ink is good but the end printed product is FANTASTIC. I am very supprised with this product as it out performs printers I have purchased for twice the price.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good machine
Date:April 4, 2010
By FTDesign
from Reno , NV
This printer allows us to make good quality 17x11,ledger, sized plan sets & submittals for 25% or less than of the cost of our 24x36. It's used every day and has been without error since we obtained it 4 months ago.
So far it has good reliability and very good quality at a fair price.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 16 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Ever
Date:April 3, 2010
By SpacyBickerson
from Cincinnati, Ohio
I occasionally print big graphic images and had always wanted something beter than an old tractor feed wide format Panasonic dot matrix printer.
This Brother was a godsend - not only does it print tabloid size images but it does them in color as well.
The price was affordable and it has so many features that I still havn't used them all.
I have it set up as a network printer and use it to print from several computers.
I recommend this printer or any Brother multifunction printer to anyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 17 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
If you don't get one, you're makin' a big mistake
Date:April 3, 2010
By Jim1
from Towson, MD
Quick setup out of the box. Big foot print, but it does big things. A tall man need big feet! Switched from an HP, and couldn't be happier. Does everything, so will take some time in tweaking all the possibiities. But, that's ok. It's why I bought the printer in the first place. You won't be sorry with this biggie.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 18 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Solution
Date:April 3, 2010
By lowend15
from jacksonville, FL
Wireless, mulit-document scanning (single side only), prints and scans 11x17. This printer is awesome. Worth much more than it sells for. Don't waste your money on a photo printer you'll never use, like I used to. I use my Brother more because I can do so much more with it, Scan to PDF, copy, etc. And the ink is very reasonable priced, and from what I understand, the customer support is great too.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 19 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Well Worth Considering
Date:April 2, 2010
By Tierney
from Gresham, OR
I had one of these machines at work and liked it so well I bought one for home. I need to be able to scan and print tabloid size plans and images. This Printer/Scanner is the most reliable I've ever had and does not clutter my computer with artsy craftsy software or software demos.
The wireless feature is a plus as well as the dependability. I took a few tries to get the wireless hooked up right, but I'm sold on the Brothers All-in-one!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 20 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
It's great and Easy to use
Date:April 2, 2010
By Lucky
from Illinois
The print quality is exceptional - very crisp. Responds quickly to wireless promts to print from our computer. The copy and scanning ability is the best I have ever used - particularly the large document glass - works great for some of our projects. This is the ONLY printer we have seen in stores with this feature. One improvement on future models of this printer design I would like to have the ability to print on larger paper for photo album projects: 12"x 12" or 13"x 20"
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 2 3 4 next>>