Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-5890CN

Color Inkjet All-in-One with Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
16 of 20(80%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-5890CN
Review 1 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I needed
Date:July 7, 2010
By Reading2kids
from Kennewick, WA
We replaced a color copier with this model. The quality of printing is exceptional. I don't use much technology but have been able to make copies easily. My children have used it to scan photographs for presentations and they are of very good quality. I have not tried to use the FAX feature.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great All in One
Date:July 3, 2010
By msgrnbay
from Clearwater, FL
I love this printer! First time user of a Brother, and I'm really impressed with it and the print quality. I was so happy to find an inkjet that prints 11 x 17 size paper too.
The ease of use is really good, and the very clear, easy to read window is a plus.
My only word of caution is the paper tray itself, as it appears flimsy and if not careful, I'm afraid the plastic parts may break easily. I hope this printer lasts longer the my two previous HP's because something always seems to break with them.
So far so good and I would recommend this product to everyone.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent results
Date:May 1, 2010
By lcrouse
from Bradenton, FL
Have owned many printers over a 20 year time frame. Epson, Brother, Canon, Lexmark, HP, Sharp etc. Bought this because of the paper size and wireless. Quiet, fast and the best color. Incredibly simple and easy wireless setup and networking. A must have for a small or home based business. Extremely efficient ink usage. Still using OEM cart's. Have only used about 15% after 4 months.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-5890CN Printer
Date:April 26, 2010
By Skip
from Citrus Springs, Florida
I have used many brands of printers over the years and Brother continues to be my favorite! Their quality, warranty, ease of use and overall cost is hard to beat. My company currently has 2 of the 5890CN's and we make full use of its wide-range of capabilities.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best all in one ever
Date:April 26, 2010
By happyscanner
from New England
I have had a number of printers and scanners and all in ones, but this one is tops. Never has the software really worked as well as this one does, even with a Mac computer. It was easy to set up and easy to figure out. It works on our network flawlessly. Scanning has never been so easy, whether it is a photo or a document.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Investment
Date:April 25, 2010
By JudyK
from Indianapolis IN
As I move toward retirement, I wanted to be self-reliant in printing 11x17 size newsletters for a couple small organizations I volunteer for without having to cut and paste paper together then go to a copy center and pay to print the newsletters. This model is the only affordable printer I've found that meets my needs with the flexibility of scanning and regular copy options. My only disappointment is that the fax only works over actual phone lines (I have only cell phone service) although I can fax online with a webservice so it is not critical.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
TOTALLY AWESOME!!!
Date:April 25, 2010
By meebie
from Denver, CO
I replaced a B&W laser printer with this machine. The computer service I use recommended this exact printer because it would work with my network. The quality of the printing is as good as, or better than, my old laser printer, and the color is sharp and crisp. The best feature is that all the colors are separate cartridges so you don't have to waste some when you only need to refill one color. They also have available high capacity cartridges so you don't have to replace them as often, and you can get them inexpensively on Amazon. The copier and scanner work perfectly, and send the images to my laptop instantly. I couldn't be happier.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
The Best
Date:April 24, 2010
By MGTD
from Office use
Easy to set up. Works great and perfect print quality!
This printer helps ypu when pushing the wrong buttons,
Quick printing and quiet.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great value
Date:April 24, 2010
By Intuitive
The MFC-5890CN has all the features I need and everything works perfectly. Superior print quality.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent all-in-one printer
Date:April 24, 2010
By Westy
from Cortez, Fl
I sold my big bulky HP 7410 which worked OK after getting the run around on a printhead that was in warranty. I bought the 5890 from an E store for the same price I sold my HP printer. I am real happy with the compact size of this printer. It does all my old printer did plus the print quality seems much better. The 5890 was very easy to install. I have it running in a combined wired/wireless network (2 laptops, 1 desktop) at home. I was very happy not to need the 500+ MB of software you have to install on each computer with the HP product. All in all a nice printer for home or a small office. The only thing I would like is more fax number storage memory.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
The Copier That could !
Date:April 24, 2010
By BigAl
from Salisbury, NC
This copier is great for moderate - heavy use which produces surperb quality copys. This copier has features that are convenient and very easy to use.
Also, the cost per copy is much less that other higher priced All-in-Ones because of the competitive price of the replacement cartridges available.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
QUALITY
Date:April 24, 2010
By jimw
from South Florida
I have 2 of these machines and use them bioth regularly. I find them to be of good quality, economical to run and very reliable.
There are 2 things I might change to improve them 1) make it capable of scanning a full 11x17
and 2) to add a 2nd paper tray that tabloid can fit and be stored in. This is a very good machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great All-in One MFC-5890CN
Date:March 25, 2010
By Bill
from Kreamer, PA
After many years of using HP printers, this is my first Brother printer. Right out of the box this was the easiest printer to set up that I have ever owned. I especially like the ease of replacing the ink cartridges. The fax function works flawlessly. Thanks Brother, for making a great machine.
PS> No more HP printers for me!!!!!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Very Good Printer
Date:May 19, 2010
By huis
I purchased this printer from Office Depot on special with trade in credit. I purchased it for the 11x17 print size capability since I needed to print some drawings. It printed the drawings very well. I have tried to use it for faxing some but find no easy way to tweak the fax settings so that I can fax over slow and noisy connections. Also, I did not find a way to delete faxes from the fax queue. I printed about 2/3 of a ream of 11x17 paper (engineering drawings) on the first tank of black ink. The color tanks show about 60% full though I have done almost no color printing. I guess that the rather frequent head cleanings must have used up a lot of ink. The plastic paper tray feels flimsy but nothing has broken. For the price, I am happy with my purchase.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Glad I have it
Date:April 26, 2010
By Consultant
from Northern Kentucky
I received this machine to replace an older unit. I was able to set it up quickly and it went to work almost immediately. I am still learning the features but it has performed nicely and does what I need it to do.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Device
Date:April 24, 2010
By Barb
from Santa Monica, Ca
Its quick, its quiet, its easy to use and its a great buy. I recently purchased replacement ink through Amazon.com and expected it would cost a bundle, but it was reasonably priced compared to other multi-purpose machines. If it had a built in answering machine, I could replace another multipurpose machine that has that feature.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Instruction Manual Not Written for The Novice.
Date:April 26, 2010
By farmerroy
from Spokane, WA
For the faint of heart, trying to set up all the capabilities of this machine can prove to be daunting. Once set up, it works great, good print quality, but it took me several phone calls over several days to tech support to work thru the setup issues. Main issue is sensitivity of the fax receive system to telephone line noise. Before hooking up to your phone system, have the local phone company run line noise level tests. Also, check on the Brother support site for the latest Firmware Revision Number, and update your firmware. The PPM Print Rate is slower than advertised, but both color and BW Print quality is good.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Fits a need but could be much better
Date:June 29, 2011
By wpc3
from Tampa Bay, FL
Bought this to replace an HP multi-function cause I need 11x17 printing. I also access it from multiple PCs, so the LAN connectivity was a must.
The print quality is OK, but not as good as the HP. I can live with it. It's the flakey LAN connectivity I cannot live with. One day it works, one day it doesn't. The printer usually works. But sometimes it's the printing that doesn't work, while the scanning does.
Support doesn't really read your emailed questions. I tell them it's printing, but won't scan. Or I tell them it's working on one or two computers, but not on another that it worked fine with yesterday. They always write back telling me to check the connections!
I'd hoped this would be a single printer solution. It looks like I'll just have to go back to the old HP plus a larger format printer. I need reliable equipment to get my work done when its due.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Bad purchase if your looking for hassel free print
Date:April 24, 2010
By Jlaru
from Ohio
The main reason I bought this unit was for the 11 x 17 page it could print. The color is great, however it is a extreme hassel in changing paper. the tray holds approx 300 sheets without jambing (8 1/2 x 11); when changing the paper to use a 8 1/2 x 14 the tray can be extended however it does not stay in place when inserting it back in the machine. Also the last 10 sheets in the tray the printer feeder will not pick it up and feed the paper. I am very disappointed due to theses machanical problems
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-5890CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Don't Bother
Date:November 25, 2011
By origRLsec
from Port Huron MI
Copies with ease, but the networking just doesn't cut it. Every time I make the slightest change to my network (i.e. adding/deleteing a computer, changing the router password or more recently I dropped a landline) the machine refuses to come online. Often one computer will be able to print but not another. I've updated/re-installed the software, firmware, reset it, everthing I can think of. The only thing Customer support tells me is I need to talk to my router people. Well it's NOT the router since that is 2 years old and no one on the network has problems connecting to it or to each other.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1