Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-5490CN

Color Inkjet All-in-One with Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 of 15(73%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-5490CN
Review 1 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love Brother
Date:January 9, 2012
By katrinna
This is my third Brother all-in-one printer. I purchased this one 2 weeks ago. I absolutely would recommend this to anyone. It is so fast. My only problem is when I make my greeting cards, I cannot teach it to print the envelopes. I had that trouble with my last one the MFC 490C. It may be the fault of the greeting card company that I subscribe to. I am not sure, but I still love the Brother MFC-5490CN.
Review 2 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good product
Date:April 30, 2011
By Anonymous
from St. Louis, MO
Customer service is awesome! Whatever the problem-Brother sends u an email of the fix-so oyu can use the Fix sheet if the problem ever happens again. I'm an author and use this printer for everything. Gregory Pike is my pen name.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
How did I get along without it?
Date:March 7, 2011
By Docmaker
from Sacramento, CA
After my laser printer died and Windows Vista/7 no longer supported my scanner, I was using my photo inkjet for a general purpose printer and everything was just too awkward. With the 5490CN, I won't be printing photos, but I will be scanning, faxing, saving and networking with not a whisper of trouble. Like all inkjets, I wish the cartridges lasted longer or were cheaper but that's the only criticism. What a great machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
THE BEST PRINTER MONEY CAN BUY
Date:March 7, 2011
By Tammy
from Mississippi
I have owned other printers in the past but since i started using brother printer i will not change. They put out some of the best printers money can but. You want go wrong with Brother. Rep. are friendly and helpful when you call and always ready to go the extra mile for you.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 5 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
excellent all on one
Date:March 6, 2011
By cb54j
from New York, NY
Excellent all in one; easy to set up and to use.
A bit noisy.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 6 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellant
Date:March 6, 2011
By JDS1966
from Illinois
Great printer! Best printer I have ever owned. Does it all without any problems
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good printer
Date:March 5, 2011
By ltubeman
from Dwight, IL
I purchased this printer to replace a previous Brother that I had worn out. This is a great printer for the price. It installed easily. I have had no issues sharing it on my home network. It prints good quality pictures and documents at a decent rate of speed. If this printer lasts anywhere close to as long as previous Brothers that I have owned, it is definitely worth the money! You might want more, but you aren't going to find it for this price!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 8 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I will never change my Brother MFC-5490CN
Date:March 5, 2011
By Quenipas56
from Brooklyn, NY
This is my second Brother MFC that I have buy, Yes my second because I upgrade it. Its the best printer I have had since I got my first lasmark, and I will not go back to any brand of peinter
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:March 5, 2011
By mharris127
from Ludington, MI
Printer prints great overall, another very similar Brother printer (the MFC-295CN) that I have had for almost two years seems to hold up like nothing I have seen. All features work well, including fax, scan, copy and print. About my only complaints is that "fast" print speed causes the print head to clog and prints too light (any other print speed works great) and that this line of printers seems to print a bit slow at about four to five pages a minute.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 10 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Reasonably Priced For The Features
Date:March 5, 2011
By Jade
from Morrilton, Arkansas
My overall rating of this product is good and the only reason I didn't go excellent was because of the design. There's just something about the design that doesn't fit the machine. However I like the dust cover for the automatic document feeder definitely a plus on keeping dust out when not in use. Not to crazy about sending faxes using memory, as I'd rather send them in real time. Menu could be a little easier to work with, but those with any technical savvy shouldn't have any trouble. Scanning documents or pictures is easy and produces good results. I'm not to crazy about the printout quality, it could be better.
I printed out a picture using the HP J5780 inkjet and one with this printer and the picture printed out with the J5780 definitely had a slightly sharper brighter more vivid appearance. I like the fact that ink cartridges can be replaced individually when they run out instead of having to replace all four at once.
And by the way installing an ink cartridge is a relatively easy and straight forward procedure through the door on the front of the machine. Not thrilled at all about the USB or Ethernet cable which has to be routed through the machine on the side and when you lower the scanner glass back down do so with extreme care and gentleness, you can cause a ton of damage by trying to force it down.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 11 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
nice printer
Date:March 5, 2011
By iamndmurff
from Chicago Il
It is a great printer that does a great job. It has remained trouble free for over a year. The only drawback is it seems to go through a lot of ink and the cost of the cartridges is not cheap.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good and Bad
Date:March 7, 2011
By Sonny
from Washington, DC
Good: The machine scans and prints quickly. The software with the machine is useful. It rarely jams.
Bad: The machine will start a head cleaning when you are trying to print something (5 min), even if it has been on for a while. The LAN connection is slow and the printer response is sluggish. The ink is runs out quickly and sometimes doesn't properly show the ink level.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Needs work
Date:June 1, 2010
By savas
just installed new MFC-5890CN, my first BROTHER product. This replaces a 6 year old multi-funtion printer. The 5890 prin speedm is almost comparable to the old set; it does not come close to the exdeptionaladvertised speed. Paper tray is a cumbersome feed. Worst design feature is printing envelopes which requires disasembling much of the feeder tray for printing and then re-doing the whole thing again for regular printing. About the best I can say at this time is that the packaging is attractive.
Review 14 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Don't recommend this product
Date:March 8, 2011
By lucysmom
from Milford, CA
This printer does a very poor job printing photos. HP deskjet is far superior. I had to have it repaired under warranty as it would not print anything, fax, scan, etc. It uses ink so fast that I have to buy multiple cartridges, which I have to order online as I can't find them in any store. I would not recommend this product.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-5490CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Date:March 7, 2011
By Problems
from Oklahoma City, OK
I have only had the printer 2 months and it has been to the shop twice to have printheads replaced. Thank goodness it has a two year warranty, because they are repairing it, but it leaves me without a printer for one to two weeks and as I said I have only had it two months (and three weeks of that it has been in the shop).
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.