Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-495CW

Color Inkjet All-in-One with Wireless Networking for Home or Small Office
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
78 of 89(88%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-495CW
Review 1 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great all around machine
Date:July 9, 2011
By gh91344
from Los Angeles, CA
I purchased the MFC-495CW as a replacement for my MFC-490CW. I purchased this printer versus others in its class because of its size, versatility, design, and print quality.
I have printed full page 8.5 x 11 photographs on it and the quality of the ink and prints is outstanding. The prints I have made were for school and were printed out as part of my portfolio. The detail in the prints is amazing, and as test I printed out a full sized photograph of a pink flamingo with a multil-textured and hued background of green. The contrast was amazingly realistic and the texture and colors of the background was very rich.
I have printed CD jewel case labels, business cards, greeting cards, and brochures with great detail and color accuracy.
My only dislike is the lack of automatic duplexing.
One major negative is the ink cartridges are small and run out quickly.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Support Team Comes Thru
Date:February 14, 2011
By Anonymous
from New Jersey
My printer was no longer seen by my wifi network. I did all as the website suggested, and made no progress. After being frustrated, I called customer service and the representative walked me thru the steps to get it back on line. I am no longer flustered and my printer is working!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
awesome product
Date:January 28, 2011
By spiked2u
from Anderson,ca.
I have bought many other printers and spent alot of money on so called top brand names in the past and this one tops them all. very easy to setup.I love the wifi.If you have a wireless router, any computer can use this with no extra cables but to the router... there is no wrong when you buy this printer.difficulty level for setup i feel is 3 out of 5... Im a freelance photographer and this is a great machine for me....Someone finally knows how to make a printer user friendly and affordable..5 stars "Brother"..
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
mfc496cw
Date:August 10, 2010
By sammy
from new york,n.y.
the machine work's perfect. It is say to use,and it prints everything perfect. the fax work's good,and all the functions are easy to apply. best quility investment ever. should buy".!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Large Business (1000+ Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Buy
Date:July 18, 2010
By jeanne
from Los Angeles, CA
Makes great photos and copies. Easy to operate. Inks last longer than the other brand I replaced with this model. Much more, great customer service reps and excellent technical support that can not be beat. I also have a Brother laser printer and I am very happy with it. I would not hesitate to recommend this to my friends and family.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Another Great Product From Brother - MFC-495cw
Date:July 12, 2010
By Marion
from Los Angeles, CA
I am extremely happy with this multi-function unit. It is easy to work with. This is my 2nd Brother printer bought within 4 weeks replacing the other brand I had where I had to change ink cartridges in a matter of days like there is no tomorrow. Product met my expectations and the best thing I like with Brother products is their excellent customer service. It can't be beat. Going forward, I will be buying Brother printers.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:July 11, 2010
By tweety
from Pa.
I purchased this printer to replace another brother printer. I liked the feaures of wireless, the double paper tray and the ink cartridges.
I really liked the way everything worked and no problem in setting up the computer. The only problem I have is, I recently tried the photo tray only to find it would not work as the tray will not click in place which is one of the reasons I purchased this new printer as my other printer still works great. I have contacted Brother and am hoping they will replace the tray. I have had other printers but find the Brother is the best I have had for price and most of all reliability. Really disappointed with the paper tray not working in a brand new printer. I used the other tray and the pictures print great, but that cedrtainly defeats the purpose of having a two tray system.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent value
Date:July 4, 2010
By DesignDiva
from Alabama
This is my third Brother printer, have tried others but keep coming back. I love the wireless feature, the ability to change ink based on the colors I use, and the ability to also scan fax and copy. I wish it was a little faster in the "recovery" mode, but that's what you get for the money! In other words, I make a copy and have to wait until it recovers to copy page two. I get a little impatient with that and will definately upgrade when this one wears out. If your copying 5 or 6 page document, it's annoying! Other than that, I give it 5 stars. I have a special cabinet that limits the size of all in one I can have so this is perfect for that spot. It is rather small and compact.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 9 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Wireless Printer
Date:June 3, 2010
By Jim44Tampa
from Tampa, FL
The MFC 495 CW wireless printer has worked great as a copier and printer. I have not used it as a fax machine. The printer cartridges are a little pricey, even though the printer was a good price at Staples.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Well Pleased
Date:May 19, 2010
By Networklady
from Philadelphia, PA
I love this printer. The color printing is crisp and clear. Love the wireless feature, especially when I'm sitting up in the bed working via my laptop. I've had other printers before this and I find this printer to be one of the best. The price was not bad either. I'm pleased.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase Ever
Date:May 4, 2010
By Gidge
from Virginia
I purchased this product for a small office I set up in my home, and I'm throughly enjoying the ease of faxing,scanning and copying.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 12 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
PERFORMS STATED FEATURES
Date:May 4, 2010
By VaBchVolunteer
from Virginia Beach, Virginia
I have had three printers previously - all different brands. This is my first Brother but I am very pleased because it actually accomplishes, with ease, all advertised features. This is the first computer product that I have purchased where I feel like I have gotten the biggest bang for my buck. I would recommend that anyone looking for a new printer to support at home requirements, non-profit or a small business seriously consider purchasing a Brother Printer - they are truly reliable and do what is advertised.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MCC-495C
Date:May 1, 2010
By jajm
Easy to set-up with XP. All functions work as designed. Works well for our home use needs. No photos but print reports, scans, and faxes.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great multifunction
Date:April 28, 2010
By Infoprises
from Grand Rapids, MI
I bought this printer to replace an older Brother machine I had for several years. It has been a fabulous multifunction machine for our home office. The wireless capability works great and was simple to setup. Having four different ink cartridges is very efficient and they seem to last a long time. I feel like I have received maximum value for my purchase.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 15 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine
Date:April 27, 2010
By galaserve
from Norwich, CT
I was always a fan of HP, but was very unhappy with the cost of the ink, especially with the waste of color ink when one color ran out and there was still plenty of other color inks in the cartridge. Was very excited to see that the different colors could be replaced individually. A few years ago I purchased a Brother Laser printer, which also replaced a HP. Had such good luck with that, that I also replaced it with a new Brother with more features. I do a lot of photo printing, and this has allowed me to replace a separate photo printer and prints faster and easier than the old photo printer. I now only have to stock printer cartridges for one printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Better than leading competitors all in one
Date:April 26, 2010
By Kosta
from SF CA
I purchased a Brother MFC 495 CW for my wife's office. It was easy to install and setup the WIFI. Purchased an MFC 495CW for my office and will replace all competitive printers over the next year.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer I have.
Date:April 26, 2010
By sarducci
from New Jersey
This is my first brother printer and i'm very satisfied. Very sleek looking and user friendly. This printer does what they say. Wireless is great. Love how its all ways ready to print. Great printer.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 18 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Quality product
Date:April 26, 2010
By Edward
from Carbondale, CO
I got this printer because I wanted wireless printing capabilities. Initially, I bought another well-known brand but ended up returning it because after 2 1/2 hours on the phone with their tech support, I couldn't get wireless to work--they said it was my computer. Got the Brother and was printing wirelessly in 10 minutes. Seems like a very well-made printer. Menu is easy to navigate and so far I have no complaints. I've also scanned wirelessly and that works great too.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Purchase
Date:April 25, 2010
By VSIB
from Dallas, TX
This is my first Brother Multi-Functioning printer. I am greatly pleased! I totally appreciate the wireless print service --totally cool! Overall the print quality and fax capabilities have been satisfying for use in my home based business. I would definitely recommend this product to friends and professionals.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 20 for MFC-495CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:April 25, 2010
By Foxstyle
from Michigan
I would highly suggest purchasing this product!!! Way better than HP
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>