Product Reviews

Brother MFC-490CW

Color Inkjet All-in-One with Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
2.522 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
11
9 of 23(39%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-490CW
Review 1 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:February 16, 2011
By Fredd
from NC
I bought this about 4 years ago to replace my old Brother MFC that served me well for about 5 years.
Set up was easy including networking on wireless network. Scanning, Faxing printing is easily done with any of my computers.
I love the smart FAX feature that listens for incoming calls and detects if it should handle it as a fax or if it should let the answering machine pick up.
I will replace this one in a few more years with another Brother MFC!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
3 Years and going strong.
Date:October 22, 2010
By candreae
from Cincinnati, OH
I'm a happy customer, and have suggested this product to numerous customers, co-workers, family members and friends. I agree that the wireless networking feature can be picky at times, and usually has to be setup again after a long period of inactivity, but I see no validity to the claims that "it is junk" or "it's an ink hog." Never base your printer's cartridge use based off of the toner/ink that comes with the unit. These are basically ink "samples" in my experience. I went through my starter cartridges quickly...but I have been using the same high yield replacements for 6 months plus now.
Honestly, try owning the product for more than a few weeks before driving off other potential customers from what is, in reality, a wonderful product.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
No Complaints
Date:October 1, 2010
By mvrazi
from Slovenia, EU
Great product!
Great print quality for this price!
Johnny sad: "you need to start the scanning from your pc" WRONG
sbyrd sasd: "paper keeps jamming" WRONG
Just sometimes.. only when you print photos on non original brother photo paper.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product
Date:August 14, 2010
By Nita
from VA
I have had this printer for over a year and have not had any complaints. I use the scanner and copier as much as I use the printer. The ink cartridges last a reasonable time and the print quality is excellent. I would HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone needing a multi-function printer at a reasonable price.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Printer
Date:July 28, 2010
By Bret
I have had the MFC-490CW for almost a year now and it is great. We can use it to print from anywhere in the house and quality is great. This is well worth the money!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
No Complaints after 1 year
Date:September 28, 2010
By Flynorth
from Washington DC
Owned the printer now for over a year.
Use it pretty much daily for printing, copying, faxing and scanning.
Simple enough that my 10 year can do what she needs on it.
Agree with other reviewers that ink is readily available online at reasonable prices - way cheaper than other ink jet printers I've owned in the past.
WiFi feature worked great on two different wireless-g routers we had until we got Verizon FIOS and their packaged router. I've read online that the FIOS wireless router is finicky with alot of different wireless gizmos. If I could dump anything it would be the FIOS router...not the Brother printer.
As a work around we've just hooked it up to the router directly via the LAN cable.
As for print quality / paper jams / etc. No complaints. Understand - its a $120'ish printer. So if you're printing photo's - you're going to get an ok / acceptable picture, but its not going to be like something from a $20K professional printing set-up at Target / Walmart etc. If you want hi quality / keepsake pics...spend the .21cents and get 'em printed someplace. If you need pics quick for school projects, hand outs etc etc, then this printer does a bang up job.
Lots of little nice extras too...like the USB, SD / CF slots on the front, and the color screen that even shows caller id info - saving me from having to go over and look at the phone when the telemarketers are "hunting you".
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good SOLID printer
Date:June 28, 2010
By Homeofficepro
from Texas
I personally have had NO issues with this printer after owning it for about a year. I have it connected via Wifi to 4 different computers and it works like a champ. Ink is cheap, so it's hard to go wrong. Print quality is good. I've printed on clear labels, photo paper, ink jet paper, and standard laser stock paper...all without any issues.
Only Con- I'm not horribly thrilled with the interface software. While manageable it's not immediately user friendly, but does allow for quite a bit of customization of the hardware.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Looking
Date:February 19, 2010
By scapersprinter
from Lakewood, Ohio
The machine is stylish and lightweight and appears to be able to do all I will need for my small business. Once it is up and running, no telling what all can be accomplished with it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
brother 490cw fix/solution to black not printing
Date:October 20, 2011
By Jaxsin
from Cali
For some reason when the paper is set to plain (as in the default manufactures setting) the black will not print, even during the "test pages". The printer head is not clogged nor is the tubing leading to the head fill. Select glossy paper in the print settings and presto the black works. I figured the problem out while using the brother print/scan app for iphone, since the default settings within the app is set to 4x6 glossy photo paper. So I toggled the setting to plain letter and it printed a faded blue. Then I immediately went to my printer setting and changed it and now it works just as good as the day I bought it. It took 2 hours and I hope I save others from tons of wasted hours and hard earned money. late 2008 macbook
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Could be better
Date:November 7, 2010
By Mike2
This unit has a lot of features but using them can be difficult at times. It has been better than the LexMark and HP printer preceding it. I've had this printer now for 20mo. Paper jammed only once. Have had to reset settings a few times and reprogram when when changing PC's, router's etc. As for the ink, don't trust the popup ink level indicator. You can view the ink level in the cartidge manually. Trust that. I use generic ink and only have trouble with the yellow. I think it's the print head, not the ink though. I like being able to only change the color that needs it. Cleaning the print head regulary is frustrating but corrects the problem. Now, the plastic lever to press down and eject the yellow ink cartridge has broken. "OUT OF mfr WARRANTY" My AE card extended warranty but have to apply for that coverage now.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Interesting issues
Date:June 8, 2011
By Anonymous
from Okinawa, Japan
This printer is not bad as a general printer. Also, don't worry about ink costs unless you know how cheap you can actually find ink. I bought a 12 pack online that (averaging the black and colors) was literally about 30 times cheaper (I did the math, but am not allowed to post the prices) than buying them individually from the store.
Cons on the printer:
1. It will not print in black and white unless you have ink in all colors.
2. If you try to print from a USB storage device, it allows you only to print image files.
3. It has a lot of interesting connections options and abilities, but they seem to be sloppily managed. Troubleshooting this printer is hopefully still easier than trying to fix a bug in the source code of the operating system on your personal computer.
I want to see a printer that makes it as clear as day to anyone who can speak English what it is connected to, what it is printing, where to save it to, what file to what device to print from etc. and to make them all work fully interchangeably. Limiting the storage devices to picture files only is not fully interchangeable.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Fair
Date:March 22, 2010
By Johnny
from New York, NY
If you can get it to print, it prints great. Fax and scan work ok, but you need to start the scanning from your pc, you can't start it from the machine.
Paper size is a total wack job. Other than letter and legal, you cannot tell what size to set the paper unless you have their nomenclature in your head, because it can't be found on line and if you don't have your instruction book you won't be able to figure it out. I can't find mine, so I don't even know if it is covered in there. Paper sizes are: A4, Index Card, Photo, and other nondescript sizes which, if you don't have it set exactly to the correct one, the machine just spits out your paper and says "Incorrect paper size". No help online either.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Disapointed in Miami
Date:February 28, 2012
By Miami
from Miami, FL
I purchased this machine over two years ago under the assumption that it would perform well as the Brother Brand has been around for a long time and is well respected. Unfortunately I was disappointed. The machine was easy to configure for my home office use for wireless printing, this was a plus at the beginning. Sadly it has been the only positive thing. The print quality is poor for images, no matter the resolution. I have run web based 72dpi files as well as 300dpi print ready documents with similar results in regards to color all poor. The results did not change by much even when print settings were adjusted and different paper was utilized. The machine has never jammed on me... but it decides when it wants to print and when it doesn't. This of course causes serious delays when your in a crunch situation. The WiFi disengages intermittently and the machine hangs/freezes when a land line is connected to it and is in use for a regular call. After the call none of the functions or buttons are operative, I have to unplug the machines power to do a hard boot. I can go on and on. Needless to say I am an experienced user with plenty of print hardware and software knowledge and this machine has left me perplexed at times. I am disappointed and in the market for a replacement now.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
After 2 years - black print head bad! Horrible!
Date:August 18, 2011
By Mark4Fitness
from Raleigh, NC
Talked to a fellow who repairs and sells ink cartridges and we came to the conclusion that the internal, non-accessible print head is clogged. I tried doing the self cleaning option off the menu (6 times) and have tried two other cartridges and still does not work! As mentioned by others, the Brother brain trust decided that it was a good idea to have ALL color ink cartridges loaded with ink before you can print black and white! Uh, why? Really? OH BROTHER...
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
The worst ever
Date:August 15, 2011
By bmoc
Paper gets stuck once out of every 8 times attempting to print. Ink doesn't last too long but is cheap. Avoid this, by far again the worst ever, im constantly fixing this due to paper issues.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Worst Printer Ever
Date:January 9, 2011
By john
The printer is not bad but the problem is that you need to have all the colors cartridge with acceptable levels for the printer to work. You can not print in black & white only.
17 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
driver nightmare
Date:November 11, 2010
By jca698
from alabama
very difficult to solve printer problems, poor interface with customer
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
forget it.
Date:September 28, 2010
By jimb
this printer although it connects pretty good on the network it really lacks it in print quality. i wish i had never purchased it.
we rarely use it but when we need it it needs something done to it to make it work.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
THIS UNIT IS JUNK
Date:August 28, 2010
By TLB1221
from Clinton Twp, MI
USES A LOT OF INK, IF LET TO SIT AND NOT USED FOR SEVERAL DAYS OR A WEEK IT DON'T PRINT WITHOUT HAVING TO WASTE INK AND CLEAN.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Super Disappointed
Date:August 27, 2010
By LadyPj
from Union City, CA
I purchased this printer and have only used it once and the black ink will not work. I am having to send it back and they will send me a refurbished machine. I will not purchase another Brother product.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>