Product Reviews

Brother MFC-295CN

Color Inkjet All-in-One with Fax and Networking
Average Customer Rating:
2.684 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
8
9 of 19(47%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-295CN
Review 1 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
verry happy
Date:August 18, 2010
By mack
from Hot Springs,Arkansas
This is my first brother printer used hp but had to replace it.I am using it on a desk top and also through a wireless router to a laptop.Connection was very easy and simple.I would highly recommend this printer.The print is very good,the copies are just like the originals.Good job brother this printer is great.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Value
Date:April 16, 2010
By freejack
from Honolulu, HI
Like the three other Brother printers I have owned, this one is excellent. The paperfeed, print quality and speed are perfect for a small business. The ink usuage is reasonable and well with acceptable yields. In the six months i have owned this, I had one paper jam. If I need another printer, you can bet it will be a Brother.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Efficiency is key
Date:April 15, 2010
By Brother295CNUSER
from NY
MFC-295CN is carefully priced, and well equipped in-terms of functionality. It lacks a wifi link, but it is well suited (price+functionality) for someone like myself who is a college student and needs to use a printer on a day to day basis to print black text on white sheets. So far no unexpected quirks observed. This model works beautifully and its control center is not a resource hog. It is capable of providing users with a bump free ride (Easy to setup as well). When the time comes, users can find the required cartridges very easily as they are sold online. Compatible (cheaper) cartridges are also widely available. If the users (students and small business specially) are looking for a printer that will work without a hitch and print anything they can throw at it (except photos), This is the printer they should purchase.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good for the money
Date:April 15, 2010
By Seabow2
from Humble, Texas
We purchased this mainly becuase of the price and incentives, however we are very happy with our purchase. It is really too new to rate, but I would so say, so far--so good. I like all of the features and the ease of use. I am just wondering how long the tray will last becuase I have to manually load labels on a regular basis. The tray does resemble the ones you find in a fax or laser printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
INK
Date:April 18, 2010
By janjan
I would recommend this product. It works well. good printing but the only problem is the fact that when one ink is finished, you cannot print anything, until that ink is replaced.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Excellent low volume personal unit
Date:April 17, 2010
By Wilco
from SW Florida
Takes a little time to learn how to do the wide variety of things that the machine can do! Brother Support is excellent. They patiently will help you accomplish any task that you ask about. Paper handling is usually excellent but if a jam occurs I open the back and clear it quickly but the machine continues to show "paper jam" I clear the Printer Queue to no avail! I have to shut the machine off to be able to use it again. I'm confident I'll find a cure for this problem and feel that this an ideal solution for anyone needing occasional use of Fax, Copier, Printer, & Scanner. I don't like the wasteful programmed 'cleaning' cycle.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good purchase.
Date:April 16, 2010
By Goose
from Arizona City, AZ
It's slow to start. Other than that, it's great. It prints really well.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Definitely not up to Brother standards
Date:May 3, 2010
By Riley
from Texas
I have always purchased Brother printers as I find them far superior to most other printers. The last 3 I have purchased were MFC printers. This one does not hold up to the Brother name. It uses entirely too much ink compared to the others I have had, and since I use this for a home business, this is an issue.
I do realize, however, that every company can have an inferior product. I will not let this one bad egg change what I do in the future. I will still continue to purchase Brother products; however, I will personally just do more research before my next purchase and not listen to a salesperson quite so much.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Brother/HP Comparison
Date:April 16, 2010
By rob62
from OH
I bouht a Brother because of dollar value and warranty ease of solving issues.
The only improvements that could be made where HP excels are color quality and paper handling. Before I purchased this Brother I owned an Hp it fell apart so I bought another until that one fell apart. So far I am satified with this Brother all in one.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 10 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Not bad
Date:April 15, 2010
By Phil
Like most printers these days, it drinks ink and cartridges are expensive. Besides that, its fast, no problems, no paperjams, but LOTS of ink usage!!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Poor choice
Date:May 27, 2011
By Wade
from Peachtree Corners, GA
Prints well, but uses a lot of ink. Will not print if a color cartridge is empty, even if not using color. Constant paper jams when making labels. Does not have a single feed feature, so must remove paper tray to insert a single sheet of special paper or labels. Must remove paper and reset tray guides for envelopes. A major pain for a single envelope.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
UNHAPPY HOME USER...
Date:January 20, 2012
By FayH
from Providence, RI
This device was on sales at my local Staple store and one year and 10 month I knew why in a very dissapoint way and very angry dissatisfy views. I thought this printer support to last longer than 5 years. Do usa companies no make long last product anymore, so they can make more money by thier product boken down and customers go spend more money in wihich they might not have but had to? I was not going to buy this device, but my husband said Brother make good printers that apparently NOT! The ink were expensive to buy. I barely used the printer once a week, how can it broken down so fast? When I called customer service, I could not even understand the english. What happened to the custmer training? You support to get a notice when a device malfunctioning if you register the device in which I did not. Everything work beside it won't print or copy black. I thought I run out of inks, so I bought new inks and it still won't work. I also found out that I did not know the device is a discontinued model! Brother offer me replacement, I said NO and Thank You. I would not buy another Brother printer anymore and I will not recommend the device to any one. My cheap $20 printer from college days work better and still does. Thing you buy support to make life easier!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Worst Printer I have ever purchased
Date:October 10, 2011
By Rivertech
from Oregon
What a piece of junk! For the past few months, it displays an error code that is not even in the Manual. I will not print Black, new cartidges will not remedy the situation. Before this, lost its Networking configuration twice. I CONSTANTLY has paper jams, that require pain stakenly careful opening up the machine to remove pieces of paper.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
worst purchase ever
Date:February 21, 2011
By hysped
from savannah ga
my mfc-295 cn printer is a piece of junk. after printing several pages it runs out of ink. printing only in black it uses up color ink as well . printing in black does not work if any color is out. customer service reads from a script and was no help at all. i will never purchase another brother product.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
MCF-295cn MY COMMENTS
Date:February 7, 2011
By maddad4915
from Oscoda, Michigan
This printer lacks quality in every aspect, hard to work with, uses ink like Brett Favre says he's retiring, when 1 ink cartridge is empty printer fails to operate, this is ridiculous. And I recently received notice that their is a malfunction with this specific printer with instructions on what to do when this happens to you, this should not occur. I am very upset with this purchaseand only had it for 2 months. Would return it for money back if I could, still would purchase another Brother.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not Happy
Date:January 25, 2011
By cathyb55
After reading the reviews I thought this printer would do the trick. However, it is a very slow printer even in draft mode. It is extremely hard to read the monitor on the front - even when you get right up on it. Not a product I would buy again.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Worthless Product
Date:December 11, 2010
By Jesus
from Deployed
The box the printer comes in states it will print even if you run out of a ink cartridge. I ran out of yellow and have a full black cartridge and the printer will NOT work. It is just a giant paper weight. Customer service will just tell you to buy a new cartridge. The website goes against what the box states and this printer is NO good, I will buy myself a different brand printer as soon as I log off. You should buy any brand but not this one.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
N GOOD CONSCIENCE; I CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS MACHINE
Date:April 15, 2010
By fontana
from LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
Since I have not tried the other mfc features, I will address only the printing feature. My gripe is the default multi pages print setting. If I were to print, ex: 10 pages, it begins printing the FIRST PAGE FIRST and LAST PAGE ON TOP of the printed stack. This would mean that I have to manually reverse sort the pages so that the 1st page would be on top to follow the numerical page sequence. Then when I change the default printing sequence so that it prints 2>1, after printing, the machine will automatically revert to the default printing 1>2. 2 side printing is also a problem. In the example of 10 pages, while odd number pages can be printed first, then taking out the printed stack and inserting back into the machine to print the EVEN numbered pages, back side of page 1 will read page 10. I have 2 other printers which do not cause this problem. IN GOOD CONSCIENCE; I CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS MACHINE TO ANYONE.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-295CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Worst purchase ever
Date:March 12, 2010
By eduardo
from New York, NY
Never again will I buy a Brothers product it was money down the drain and when I call there in no help other that hold and no one ever pick up.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
5 of 10 found this review helpful.