Product Reviews

Brother MFC-255CW

Color Inkjet All-in-One with Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
2.167 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
2 of 6(33%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-255CW
Review 1 for MFC-255CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love this printer
Date:May 1, 2011
By AaronM
from CT
i was very surprised to see such negative reviews for this unit. i got it for college about 9 months ago and i JUST had to change the ink for the first time. it prints fine and the built in scanner copier works like a charm. haven't had to use the fax yet but if it is as easy to set up and use as the rest of the machine is i'm sure it would be a breeze.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-255CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Really Good Purchase
Date:April 8, 2010
By Jack
from Binghamton, NY
After doing a lot of research into what printer to buy I decided on this one. I am extremely pleased with the printer. It does everything I want & more. I love the fact that I can make copies at home. The only downside was the initial setup. To enter the password needed for the router from the cable company I subscribe to was a nightmare, but the tech support staff at Brother was MOST helpful & we resolved the issue to my satisfaction. The color is impressive & the print quality is excellent. I am very happy!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-255CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Waste of money
Date:March 1, 2012
By brandywine
from Los Angeles, CA
I made the mistake of buying not one but two of these models (I have two home offices). They both ran out of ink around the same time. I had to buy black and magenta. After installing both cartridges, the machine still reads it as empty. I am fairly proficient at all things electronic related so this has been frustrating for me. What's even more suspect is that my second printer also refuses to read the cartridge. I feel that I've wasted time and money playing around with it. Now I will have to replace BOTH printers.
I don't care how much this drops in price. It will end up being worthless. I wish I could get my money back. Especially since I bought two.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 4 for MFC-255CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Piece of ----
Date:May 24, 2011
By wrinkledquarter
This printer is terrible. even though I never print in color and the computer is set to only print in black and white, it constantly tells me I'm out of Magenta ink! Its way to expensive to replace this cartridge I never use. And the entire machine disables itself if one of the 4 cartridges is considered empty. You cant even scan with this piece of ---- if a cartridge is considered empty. I say considered because I know the cartridges are not empty! Do NOT buy this. It is a money pit.
15 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-255CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Ink Robbery
Date:December 2, 2010
By RegretfulCustomer
Just FYI the ink magically disappears from this printer... I have switched to only printing in black and white with my mfc-255CW. I replaced all of my ink cartridges 46 days ago, because even to print in black and white it requires that I have ink in ALL cartridges. One other note is that if you take the ink cartridge out and put it back in it will say that it's empty. I found that out after accidentally ejecting a cartridge that was not even low when I was changing the other cartridges and the printer said it was gone after I put it back it. That was irritating, so I bought another printer (which I LOVE!) and have only been using the MFC255-CW for scanning purposes. The settings on my computer are to just print in black and white as well. So without using any magenta ink it has evaporated into thin air and now I can't even scan without buying another magenta ink cartridge. For that ink cartridge to last barely a month and to have printed at most 10 pages not even using any color ink is ridiculous! I wouldn't wish this printer on anyone! As soon as I can afford to buy a scanner I'm going to pull an "Office Space" on this printer, because I would feel guilty selling this to someone or even giving it to the Salvation Army. One last thing I wasn't impressed with the print quality for photos.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-255CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not user friendly
Date:August 27, 2010
By depnomore
from San Antonio, TX
It was a pain to connect to computer, I'd never created an ad hoc connection. There's too much accompanying software, I wasn't sure which program was for what and if it was essential or not.
Paper tray doesn't hold enough paper, black ink doesn't go far AT ALL. With no usb port to connect to, I was pretty lost.
Everything I have to do, I have to sit down and read, read, read the darned owners manual. It's discouraging. Very.
I've had computers since at least 87, this machine is NOT FRIENDLY.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
4 of 4 found this review helpful.