Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-L8350CDW

Color Laser Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
16 of 20(80%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-L8350CDW
Review 1 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
NEW COPIER
Date:April 10, 2015
By Baylor56
from OK
It is really fast. I still don't know how to copy one hard copy page. I am mostly using it for stuff I've
typed on the computer. And I don't know how long the ink will last. Other than that, I really like it. Ask me in six months. The reason I purchased it was because I have read the ink cartridges last a lot longer than my HP. Years ago I bought a brother
word processor/typewriter, and I have 3 brother sewing machines.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:March 24, 2015
By MamaZim
from New York
The quality of this printer is excellent. It is fast and easy to setup. My only problem was the black toner leaked right out of the box. I own other Brother printers and have always been highly satisfied.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Color Laser I Have Owned
Date:March 14, 2015
By Robbie1
from Sterling, Va.
I purchased this printer to replace a 7 year old printer of another brand. After exhaustive research and reading of reviews I decided on the Brother. Setting up on our LAN (wired ethernet) was the easiest I have ever encountered. The colors are fine for my use. The two big pluses are that it ships with a full set of toner plus the quiet operation. Yes, there is a slight paper curl, but I'm using up some old paper I already had. I plan to switch to a premium laser paper which I've read from other reviews will not only improve the color rendition, but also the curl which is not an issue with me anyway. I did not attempt the wireless setup, but other reviewers state it is easy. Be sure and go into your router setup and "reserve" the IP address so if you lose power to the printer or have to reboot, it will keep the same IP so other computers on the network can find it. Some reviewers have posted settings to the print driver which they claim give a better experience, but I was quite pleased right out of the box. After not printing for a few minutes it goes into "Deep Sleep" and is so quiet you would not know it was even on. The good part is it wakes up immediately when you initiate a print job. So far I couldn't be happier.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
so far, so good
Date:February 23, 2015
By Sherry1147
from Wisconsin
I've been using this printer for a couple of weeks. The wireless setup was very easy. We have multiple laptops with Win 7 and 8.1 that all connected fine. I was able to program the printer to work with a Unix system by emulating HP with PCL6 settings. It switches between this and windowed printing automatically. Very pleased.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MUCH better than some reviews have indicated
Date:February 23, 2015
By Wyrbender
from St. Louis, MO
I have had the printer about a week and I am absolutely stunned by the quality of the printer. Running it in 2400 x 600 dpi mode gives me exceptional photographs, either on plain paper or even glossy photographic paper. No jams as of yet, which seems to have been a problem for some. It is fast, and relatively quiet. I keep it in a closet out of sight and can access it from any part of the house. So far so good - as of now, nothing but GOOD THINGS to say!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Purchase
Date:February 17, 2015
By WestfieldinRep
from Westfield, IN
Easy to set up to WiFi with cord originally. Good Quality on printing and very fast. I am looking forward to seeing how this does on print volume per cartage versus my old Dell Color Laser Printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Nice Wireless Printer
Date:February 5, 2015
By JEJohnson
from Stuart, FL
I finally gave up on my solid ink 7 and 8 year old Phaser Printers due to expensive repairs and expensive solid ink. Switched to a toner printer with built in wireless and, so far, am quite satisfied with the Brother HL-L8350CDW. This printer is not the workhorse that the Phasers were, but I don't do as much printing now. Overall, reasonably priced and works great with my Macs and iOS devices.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brothers HL-L8350CDW
Date:January 24, 2015
By SEHJR
from Baltiore, Maryland
I am a Brothers many time user. I have had a HL2270W for a number of years and I had a MFC6490 CW since the late 90S. I also own a P touch label make PT2430 PC. I have used HPs in the past, and also an OKI laser color printer. I now have a HL L8350CDW, and , and A MFC J6920 DWI think, that Brothers, are way ahead of all the others. The printers work really well, but the service available from them is outstanding. I am now using the Ethernet system for all three of my Brothers printers. Easy installation. !!! SEHJR
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 9 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:January 23, 2015
By Anonymous
from San Diego, CA
The setup was easy. The print quality and speed are great.
I love that we can print from other non-connected devices like our phones or tablets.
This is not necessarily related to Brother, but I wish I could buy agri-based inks for this printer, but so far no luck.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 10 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A REALLY NICE printer!! Well worth it.
Date:December 23, 2014
By RussW64
from Eastern Long Island, NY
I am the IT Coordinator at my local library and we had been using an old HP color laser printer (with the drum that spins around to each color, so it was slow). It was time for a replacement. What I was looking for was a simple, easy to use and maintain color laser and found it with this Brother HL-L8350CDW.
I bought it because of the straight path , all toner cartridges lay inside the slide out drawer (actually in the drum unit which snaps into the drawer), so that the paper passes ONCE over all the colors and then is fused. So, first copy comes out FAST!
Second reason for purchase... AUTOMATIC DUPLEXING. What a NICE function to have the printer automatically print double sided pages. And this feature is also fast.
Third reason, wireless capability. The wi-fi is strong and receives well. We haven't had any problems.
Some NOTES for the technically inclined. We wanted to be able to print BOTH wirelessly AND through wired connections. The INITIAL literature from Brother stated that you could print wirelessly (wifi) and wired (ethernet). But after a call to brother technical support we found out that it should have said: wireless OR wired, not both. Turns out the printer has only one network interface that allows only one IP. So it's either wifi enabled or eithernet enabled not both.
BUT... there's a silver lining... I wasn't to be deterred, and realized that the printer WOULD allow BOTH wifi printing AND USB printing.... so a simple purchase of a Ethernet/USB print server allowed us to assign an IP to this adapter and then plug the Brother's USB cable into it. So when our patrons send print jobs through our wired network , they go into this device and get "translated" to USB and into the printer. Wifi patrons just connect directly and do just fine. We have not had a problem since.
Second tech note: If you are going to print labels, you MUST use the straight through path (open the BACK DOOR of the printer to allow the labels to come in through the bypass tray and out the back). If you don't, you'll ruin your drum... like I did.. and paid for a new one.
So.... if you are still wondering if you should buy this printer.... YES. You won't be disappointed. Brother truly makes an excellent product.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very satisfied
Date:November 20, 2014
By Safebustr
from Coastal South Carolina
I have been a monochrome Brother laser printer user for several years now. Recently after losing another inkjet printer to the dreaded stopped up print head I decided to take the plunge and go color.
While I have only used this printer for about a week I am very satisfied, the colors are bright and really "pop". I have printed some photos and the quality is better than I expected. While I don't think any laser printer will compare with a high end ink jet on photo printing, this one will meet most office needs.
The jury is still out on cost of use, but if this printer is anything like my Brother monochrome unit, I will be more than satisfied.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Printer
Date:June 30, 2014
By BestprintER
from San Antonio, TX
I bought this printer and set it up in 15 min. The print quality is often and I can print on all sizes of paper. Great Printer
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
HL-L8350CDW One complaint
Date:March 28, 2015
By StandingTall
from Maryland
I recently purchased the 8350 model to replace an older HL-4070. The LCD screen on the old model would tip up so that it could be seen if the printer was at eye level. The LCD screen on the new model does not tip up so that I have to stand up if I want to look at the LCD display. I consider this a design flaw and a step backward. Otherwise, the new printer seems to work well.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Very Sound Equipment
Date:September 11, 2014
By OldPilot
from Conroe, Texas
I purchased the machine for home office use and find it to be all that I expected from Brother. The printer is quick, color is accurate, and is a great addition to my other Brother products.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Very Happy
Date:August 11, 2014
By COFWPCC
from Findlay, Ohio
So far so good. Good color quality, great black & white printing. Handles file folder labels and envelopes well. It does curl the pages some as it prints and is a bit loud when printing but it quiets down quickly. In all, we're very happy.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Copy-on
Date:October 8, 2014
By Caxton
from Iowa
This is our second week of operation with our HL-L8350CDW. So far so good.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
GOOD PURCHASE/DIFFICULT INSTALLATION
Date:July 1, 2014
By EDUCATOR
from MADISON, ALABAMA
Very difficult to setup. Called today for technical assistance and was placed on hold for 35 minutes so I ended up hanging up the phone. I am sure once installed, the printer will work fine....I am just pretty upset with not receiving the assistance needed.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Terrible Printing from Adobe - NO help from brothe
Date:March 26, 2015
By DanM
from Small business in PA
Printing from Microsoft office programs are fine but printing from any Adobe programs yields extremely low res prints (text and images). It's so bad even texts appears pixely (actual file res makes no difference). I've owned multiple printer of various qualities, and I've been using photoshop and other adobe software for over a decade and have never had this issue. I was on the phone with Brother support for over an hour, sent in samples to them, and they responded that everything is working normally which I know is pure ignorance from the tech person working there. I can't get any help and the printer is basically useless to me for everything except printing form MicroOffice software
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Expensive consumables
Date:March 6, 2015
By buyerbeware
from NH
We have had this printer for three months.
We bought this printer for our small business. We chose this one based on reviews and us wanting to move to a laser printer.
Wireless setup is extremely challenging -- and we are software engineers! It is not a "plug and play" aspect and is not user friendly.
What no one tells you is that the drum needs to be replaced after 25,000 prints. For a small business printing shipping labels and product instructions, we did that in 3 short months. The price of the replacement drum is almost HALF of what we paid for the printer itself! The drum is considered a consumable by Brother and is not covered under their warranty. So, if we keep this printer, we may as well buy a brand new one every six months or so, due to the extremely HIGH COST of replacing the drum.
This was not a good purchase for us and Im feeling extremely ripped off by Brother
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-L8350CDW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Initial configuration
Date:February 10, 2015
By DocTW
from Onalaska, WI
I ordered this printer because of the advertised great toner efficiency - 4000 pages per black toner.
I picked the printer up at the local merchant, took it home, and attempted to set it up with an i-Mac desktop, and also a PC laptop. After about 4-5 hours of trying every conceivable approach, I was not able to install the software successfully on either computers. The time I spent on this attempt was more valuable to me than the price of the printer, so I returned it to the merchant for a refund.
This printer qualifies as the most difficult to install of all the printers I've ever installed. The installation software needs to be seriously improved.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.