Product Reviews

Brother HL-6180DW

High-Performance Laser Printer with Wireless Networking, Large Paper Capacity and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
24 of 30(80%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-6180DW
Review 1 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Wonderful upgrade
Date:July 14, 2014
By Sheri8343
from Ramona, SD
For 10 years now, I have purchased Brother duplexing laser printers for my home based business doing books for local small businesses. While being always satisfied with all my brother printers (I totally use them up until nothing left), this one was quite a delight to open and set up. The paper tray holds a full ream of paper, and the toner is available is 3 sizes of use. Its quick response from "send to printer" to print is respectable and networking set up or wireless set up a breeze.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Front Desk Printer
Date:April 15, 2014
By mkelly
from Fort Wayne, IN
This printer has been in use just over a week now and the front desk is quite happy with the performance, specifically the speed in which the first page prints. The print quality is very nice. The unit was easy to set up and put on the network.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 3 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Printer
Date:April 10, 2014
By Josh41014
from Berkeley, CA
I an not in the habit of rating things in superlatives; however, that being said, I believe this is a good, solid and I hope for the next couple years a reliable printer. I have only been running this printer for a week, so far I have not been disappointed. The point of sale for me was a duplex printer and with a 500 sheet paper feeder which I could build on if it became necessary; the print quality is very good. Another point is that it is somewhat user serviceable, that is I can replace the drum as needed for nominal cost. that main consumable, that is, toner is also very economical, less than half the cost of the toner of its predecessor and I have a lot of choices vis-a-vis toner capacity which is very important to me. If this holds up and remains unproblematic, I will likely purchase another in the future.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:March 25, 2014
By Alger
from Colorado
The 6180DW was easy to install once I ignored the quick startup instructions. The wireless setup is easier to configure using the CD. I set the DHCP range between 100 to 150 and set the printer IP to within that range. Now the 6180 never fails to initialize. The straight through printing using the MP Tray works well except the rear output area needs support for paper as it exits the printer. Straight through does accept 43 lb paper.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:February 11, 2014
By Angeldakota
from Houston Tx
This is my third Brother printer. I bought this model a year ago and love it. Unfortunately it broke a week after the year warranty was up. I print a high volume at my job. I do love it though and so bought another. It is very fast and holds a ream of paper. I am happy with my purchase and would recommend it highly.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding Small Business Printer
Date:November 7, 2013
By mjdCPA
from Bakersfield, CA
Needed to replace six mono laser printers that were 8 to 10 years old which had given us excellent service and all used the same toner, and were from another manufacturer. We researched that manufacturer's current product line, but also others. After reading over 100 reviews on Amazon, we decided to buy one Brother HL 6180DW, which was priced at about one-third what we had paid for each of the printers we needed to replace. After using it for two months we bought five more. That was six months ago and, without exception, our staff is completely satisfied with every aspect of this printer, especially the fact that its paper capacity is a full ream. Toner change out is extremely simple and our cost per page is approximately the same very reasonable amount that was the deciding factor on the printers we bought 8 to 10 years ago.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer!
Date:July 7, 2013
By Pisces1954
from Colorado Springs
This printer was easy to set up wirelessly and over the first week of operation has met my expectations. Print quality is good, speed is as rated. Operates fairly quietly. I am happy with this printer so far.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent all purpose black and white printer
Date:April 18, 2013
By ListenHere
from CA
I print on different size paper, including envelopes, address labels, file labels, and priority mail labels. For convenience, I just start with a letter size document in the word processor and change the margins, etc., so that it will print where I want it to print on whatever paper is in the multipurpose slot, without having to specify to print from the multipurpose slot. Not all printers can do this, and you will really miss this ability if your printer cannot do it. Some printers do not have auto detect and priority for the multipurpose slot, and some will give an error code that has to be cleared every time the document size does not match the paper size.
With the 6180 I can just pop an envelope, label, or whatever into the multipurpose slot. It will sense that something is in the multipurpose slot, and it will print to the multipurpose slot without having to make any other changes. If the multipurpose slot is empty, it will print from the paper tray. The Brother does not care if the document size does not match the actual paper size. It will simply print without complaint onto whatever paper is in the multipurpose tray. This Brother is very fast, and the printing is clean, sharp and dark. Compared to the older Brothers, the build quality seems a bit weaker. The paper tray, for example, is made a little thinner than on the old Brothers. The heavy paper trays on the older Brothers could be stepped on, but you probably don't need a paper tray that you can step on. Just handle it normally, and I think it will work fine.
One thing that is odd, but is not a deal breaker, is that letterhead goes into the tray different ways depending on whether you want to print one sided or two sided. On duplex printing, letterhead faces up and to the rear. On a single page, letterhead faces down and to the front. If the printer is set for duplex but the entire document is only one page, then letterhead still faces down and to the front. This makes it clumsy to just leave letterhead in the tray, because you have to change the orientation depending on whether you want to print one sided or two sided. I don't know if the default paper orientation can be changed or not. This is not a big deal for me, because with only one tray, I don't leave letterhead sitting in the tray as my default paper.
You can get the 6180 with an attached additional paper tray (6180DWT). If you use multiple types of paper, you may want more than two trays in any event. A good solution for me was to start with the 6180 and purchase some additional paper trays separately from Brother. The Brother LT5400 paper tray is fairly expensive, but that is the additional lower paper tray you permanently mount onto the printer. Brother also sells just the normal paper drawer. This is the drawer you pull out, and is just like the drawer that comes with the 6180. The Brother item code is LY5727001, and this is $19.99. That drawer can handle legal size paper if desired. I got a few of these, and if I am going to print a lot of the same type of paper, I can just pop in a tray of letterhead, envelopes, scratch paper, or whatever. I have more versatility than the two fixed trays of the 6180DWT, for a lower cost, and I don't touch the paper once it is in the trays. I have not seen other printers that make a separate low cost replacement paper tray available.
Over all, I am very happy with the speed, print quality, the auto detect and priority of the multipurpose slot, the ability to print anything even if the paper size does not match the document size, and the ability to obtain additional inexpensive paper trays. I am not aware of any other printer that can do all of this.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:March 19, 2013
By Markman
from Hespeia, CA
Works very well and is very fast. Can set it up on the network manually without having to use the printer software. Air print works great as this was the reason it was purchased.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Large Business (1000+ Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer yet
Date:March 4, 2013
By CBurch
from Southern Oregon
I use exclusively Brother Printer's and fax machines in my business. I love that you have finally introduced a paper tray that holds an entire ream of paper. Awesome! No more second paper tray and hoping the program I am using will trigger the second tray automatically.
The speed is incredible and using it wireless makes it so efficient. When I log in remotely from home, I can send my work to the printer and the next morning, it's there waiting for me.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Predictable Quality
Date:January 16, 2013
By Lake
from Covina California
I have been using Brother Printers for a number of years so my expectations were already high. Particularly with the Black and White Printers I have never been disappointed, and our new HL-6180DW certainly lives up to those expectations. It runs flawlessly and produces high quality printing in both standard and duplex mode.
Much of our output goes directly to press (we have a print shop) and we have never had complaints regarding quality.
Thanks for an excellent product at a reasonable price.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Yet
Date:December 26, 2012
By MF83
from Oklahoma City, OK
Super simple set up and work like a gem. No problems to date. Very satisfied with this product and would buy another if needed.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Better than ever
Date:December 3, 2012
By billofla
from Los Angeles
My previous Brother laser printer had a fried fuser after 20,00 pages. Rather than repair it, I choose this new model instead. It has double the paper capacity at 500 sheets, and handles envelopes much better. I was the Technology Teacher and Network Manager for my school, and have installed hundreds of printers across our school system. None, have been as fast, as productive, or as dependable as these two were. And at an amazing price no less!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Value.
Date:December 3, 2012
By DonH
from Southlake, TX
We were replacing 8 HP printers, some over 15 years old. We were looking for 30+ppm and wireless connectivity. The Brother seem to provide the biggest bang for the buck. Reliability seems good based on the one 4-year old Brother we have. The 500+ single paper tray is great, but the single sheet tray seems to hold fewer sheets and not as solidly constructed as our older Brother. A bit noisy!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
6180 Print
Date:November 1, 2012
By Tango
from Pensacola, FL
Works as advertised. Great printer.
500 page input is nice. Would buy again and recommend to a small business.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Amazing fast printer
Date:October 31, 2012
By George09
from Los Angeles, California
@ 42 PPM this printer is amazingly fast. also it prints duplex with litle speed degration.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love it!
Date:October 15, 2012
By Tamara1028
from Tallahassee, Florida
This printer is very easy to setup, is fast and efficient and definitely the best printer I have ever owned.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good work printer
Date:May 2, 2014
By KP317
from East Windsor, NJ
Fast printer, very crisp print outs. Easy to use and setup with Windows XP, although haven't upgraded to Windows 7 yet. Good printer for the $$, if you can buy it on sale at an office supply store it's worth it. Only rating four stars because of issue with fuser on original printer purchased, was under warranty so Brother shipped refurb printer which is working like a charm.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
First model had to be replaced
Date:October 3, 2013
By ABurch
from Missouri
This machine was purchased to replace an HL-5470 that was setup in an office that, unfortunately, printed a far larger volume than I'd anticipated. In order to head off issues down the road, we decided to upgrade to the 6180 model.
The initial machine purchased threw up an error code after two weeks, and after working with Brother technical support, I received a brand new replacement days later. This was the first issue I've had with a Brother printer, it being the fourth I've purchased this year. This was also the first call I've made to their technical support line, and I was impressed by the friendly, (stateside) professional service. Due to the quality of support, the issue I experienced won't steer me from purchasing another Brother.
As always, though, I'm a bit disappointed by the brittle plastic used for the trays. I've never had one break on me or my users; I just don't like the quality. Hardly a deal breaker.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 20 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Fastest block printer I've had
Date:September 10, 2013
By dsuzuki
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Had a little difficulty setting up the printer for Airprint but I finally got it to work.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 2 next>>