Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-6180DW

High-Performance Laser Printer with Wireless Networking, Large Paper Capacity and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
7
36 of 45(80%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-6180DW
Review 1 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:July 17, 2015
By Jdgmnt1
from Los Angeles, CA
Works efficiently, has good value for its price....it actually has a large bin for paper and feeds envelopes...I would make the envelope feeder holder more envelopes...otherwise it is perfect for our law office.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
excellent quality
Date:June 2, 2015
By SatisfiedBrotherOwner
from Morgan City, louisiana
extremely satisfied with this unit. we are having a bit of an issue with paper jams on the first print job each morning with the first page jamming. once cleared we go all day with no errors. We have two additional HL-6180s put in service same date over a year ago an no problems. Brother is working with us to identify the problem. we will be buying 2 more to finish our system.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
printer
Date:May 26, 2015
By office
from Shreveport, LA
I love the printer. The speed of pribting is excellent for my tax business.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great for Small Office
Date:May 7, 2015
By Tracy
from Laguna Niguel, California
I replaced an HP laser printer with this machine. This machine is really good for printing envelopes with a straight through path. The back opens up and the envelopes go straight through without wrinkling.. Its also prints duplex really well which saves money on paper. I really love this machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Printer Review
Date:April 28, 2015
By archiedl
from Hawaii
So far I am very happy with this printer. It was very easy to install on a wireless mode basis. No power surp problems that other reviewer had. Also, the speed of the printer is very fast.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Super Rock Star Printer!
Date:April 17, 2015
By Raven
It prints fast, holds plenty of paper for high-volume print jobs, broad range of adjustable settings, cost-efficient price for the unit and the ink. Excellent brand reputation. No wires and easy to install. It rocks!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
New HL-6180
Date:March 25, 2015
By Gertrude
from Columbus, OH
Excellent machine with great paper storage and printing ability. Also purchased extra paper tray.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL 6180dw
Date:February 7, 2015
By jimpo
from Banning CA
Good printer for the price. Faster than most. Only problem is that the paper drawer drags on the desk top and is hard to open because the clearance between the drawer and desk is a little toooo restrictive. Suggest you make the printer pads a bit higher or the draw a little higher from the bottom of the printer. My Brother 5370DW does not have this problem. This DOES NOT affect the printer or its abilities but it is a bothersome thing only. Still like the speed of this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Solid Performer
Date:November 25, 2014
By robbi
This printer has performed very well over the month that I have had it! The fast print capability is an asset when we print large documents, and has saved hours from waiting for the print to finish. The duplexing option saves us money since we are only using half of the paper quantity. Definately a Solid Performer!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:November 19, 2014
By VickiS
from CT
I have been using this machine for a few months and it's great. It's fast and can keep up with my needs. I would purchase another if needed.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding printer
Date:November 3, 2014
By Sold123
from Gaffney, SC
Brother HL-6180
Printers are replacing all of our Hewlett Packard laser printers
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Wonderful upgrade
Date:July 14, 2014
By Sheri8343
from Ramona, SD
For 10 years now, I have purchased Brother duplexing laser printers for my home based business doing books for local small businesses. While being always satisfied with all my brother printers (I totally use them up until nothing left), this one was quite a delight to open and set up. The paper tray holds a full ream of paper, and the toner is available is 3 sizes of use. Its quick response from "send to printer" to print is respectable and networking set up or wireless set up a breeze.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Front Desk Printer
Date:April 15, 2014
By mkelly
from Fort Wayne, IN
This printer has been in use just over a week now and the front desk is quite happy with the performance, specifically the speed in which the first page prints. The print quality is very nice. The unit was easy to set up and put on the network.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Printer
Date:April 10, 2014
By Josh41014
from Berkeley, CA
I an not in the habit of rating things in superlatives; however, that being said, I believe this is a good, solid and I hope for the next couple years a reliable printer. I have only been running this printer for a week, so far I have not been disappointed. The point of sale for me was a duplex printer and with a 500 sheet paper feeder which I could build on if it became necessary; the print quality is very good. Another point is that it is somewhat user serviceable, that is I can replace the drum as needed for nominal cost. that main consumable, that is, toner is also very economical, less than half the cost of the toner of its predecessor and I have a lot of choices vis-a-vis toner capacity which is very important to me. If this holds up and remains unproblematic, I will likely purchase another in the future.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:March 25, 2014
By Alger
from Colorado
The 6180DW was easy to install once I ignored the quick startup instructions. The wireless setup is easier to configure using the CD. I set the DHCP range between 100 to 150 and set the printer IP to within that range. Now the 6180 never fails to initialize. The straight through printing using the MP Tray works well except the rear output area needs support for paper as it exits the printer. Straight through does accept 43 lb paper.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:February 11, 2014
By Angeldakota
from Houston Tx
This is my third Brother printer. I bought this model a year ago and love it. Unfortunately it broke a week after the year warranty was up. I print a high volume at my job. I do love it though and so bought another. It is very fast and holds a ream of paper. I am happy with my purchase and would recommend it highly.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding Small Business Printer
Date:November 7, 2013
By mjdCPA
from Bakersfield, CA
Needed to replace six mono laser printers that were 8 to 10 years old which had given us excellent service and all used the same toner, and were from another manufacturer. We researched that manufacturer's current product line, but also others. After reading over 100 reviews on Amazon, we decided to buy one Brother HL 6180DW, which was priced at about one-third what we had paid for each of the printers we needed to replace. After using it for two months we bought five more. That was six months ago and, without exception, our staff is completely satisfied with every aspect of this printer, especially the fact that its paper capacity is a full ream. Toner change out is extremely simple and our cost per page is approximately the same very reasonable amount that was the deciding factor on the printers we bought 8 to 10 years ago.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer!
Date:July 7, 2013
By Pisces1954
from Colorado Springs
This printer was easy to set up wirelessly and over the first week of operation has met my expectations. Print quality is good, speed is as rated. Operates fairly quietly. I am happy with this printer so far.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent all purpose black and white printer
Date:April 18, 2013
By ListenHere
from CA
I print on different size paper, including envelopes, address labels, file labels, and priority mail labels. For convenience, I just start with a letter size document in the word processor and change the margins, etc., so that it will print where I want it to print on whatever paper is in the multipurpose slot, without having to specify to print from the multipurpose slot. Not all printers can do this, and you will really miss this ability if your printer cannot do it. Some printers do not have auto detect and priority for the multipurpose slot, and some will give an error code that has to be cleared every time the document size does not match the paper size.
With the 6180 I can just pop an envelope, label, or whatever into the multipurpose slot. It will sense that something is in the multipurpose slot, and it will print to the multipurpose slot without having to make any other changes. If the multipurpose slot is empty, it will print from the paper tray. The Brother does not care if the document size does not match the actual paper size. It will simply print without complaint onto whatever paper is in the multipurpose tray. This Brother is very fast, and the printing is clean, sharp and dark. Compared to the older Brothers, the build quality seems a bit weaker. The paper tray, for example, is made a little thinner than on the old Brothers. The heavy paper trays on the older Brothers could be stepped on, but you probably don't need a paper tray that you can step on. Just handle it normally, and I think it will work fine.
One thing that is odd, but is not a deal breaker, is that letterhead goes into the tray different ways depending on whether you want to print one sided or two sided. On duplex printing, letterhead faces up and to the rear. On a single page, letterhead faces down and to the front. If the printer is set for duplex but the entire document is only one page, then letterhead still faces down and to the front. This makes it clumsy to just leave letterhead in the tray, because you have to change the orientation depending on whether you want to print one sided or two sided. I don't know if the default paper orientation can be changed or not. This is not a big deal for me, because with only one tray, I don't leave letterhead sitting in the tray as my default paper.
You can get the 6180 with an attached additional paper tray (6180DWT). If you use multiple types of paper, you may want more than two trays in any event. A good solution for me was to start with the 6180 and purchase some additional paper trays separately from Brother. The Brother LT5400 paper tray is fairly expensive, but that is the additional lower paper tray you permanently mount onto the printer. Brother also sells just the normal paper drawer. This is the drawer you pull out, and is just like the drawer that comes with the 6180. The Brother item code is LY5727001, and this is $19.99. That drawer can handle legal size paper if desired. I got a few of these, and if I am going to print a lot of the same type of paper, I can just pop in a tray of letterhead, envelopes, scratch paper, or whatever. I have more versatility than the two fixed trays of the 6180DWT, for a lower cost, and I don't touch the paper once it is in the trays. I have not seen other printers that make a separate low cost replacement paper tray available.
Over all, I am very happy with the speed, print quality, the auto detect and priority of the multipurpose slot, the ability to print anything even if the paper size does not match the document size, and the ability to obtain additional inexpensive paper trays. I am not aware of any other printer that can do all of this.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-6180DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:March 19, 2013
By Markman
from Hespeia, CA
Works very well and is very fast. Can set it up on the network manually without having to use the printer software. Air print works great as this was the reason it was purchased.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Large Business (1000+ Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>