Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-5470DWT

High-Speed Laser Printer with Wireless Networking, Duplex and Dual Paper Trays
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-5470DWT
Review 1 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love it!
Date:June 14, 2014
By Rose
from san antonio, texas
Set up was easy, second tray instructions needed to be included, had to dig thru website to find them. But once I got going, it printed Legal and Letter right off the Pdf. It worked perfectly! Excellent for mobile notary business.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A fantastic decission to purchase this HL-5470DWT
Date:May 29, 2013
By opaul
from Florida
Five minutes out of the box and the HL-5470DWT was up and running. This is the fastest laser printer we have ever used. It is quiet when running and takes up hardly any space. We like this machine!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 3 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer ever
Date:May 6, 2013
By peacockallee
from Ryderwood Washington
This printer is everything that Brother said it was including being everything that I need for my business. It does the job and everything I ask it to do. I recommend this for people requiring a fast and accurate print.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 4 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
sweet printer
Date:April 17, 2013
By LittleDNeb
from Aneta, ND
I love my new printer. I just ordered the same thing but color, so I will have both.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 5 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:April 1, 2013
By luis1802
from Laredo, Texas
In my line of business, I use the dual tray printers. The best and most dependable printers have been Brother printers. This is my fourth dual tray printer and I am extremely satisfied with the performance.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 6 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Auto-selecting legal and letter page sizes
Date:March 17, 2013
By MudHut
from New Mexico
I bought the HL5470DWT specifically because it had two paper trays and I needed the ability to print documents with both legal and letter-sized pages. An earlier reviewer posted a review titled "great Product - as far as it goes" which incorrectly says the printer will not do that. I found that review one day after ordering the HL5470DWT from Costco, and I contacted Brother immediately with the idea I might need to cancel my Costco order. I was told there would be no problem, and that proves to be the case. I was emailed a description of "solution code "200000037147" out of the Brother's FAQ's and followed the instructions during setup. The printer automatically selects multiple paper sizes in PDF's, and prints flawlessly. I am sorry KGinlV had a different outcome, but I could not be happier. MudHut
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product...as far as it goes
Date:February 20, 2013
By KGinLV
from Las Vegas, NV
I've only had this printer about a month, but so far I've been very happy with it. I'm not very high-tech and I hate referring to manuals. This printer was very easy to install and set up at the start. The print speed and quality are great. My only problem is that I bought the wrong printer for my needs. This one has the capacity to print both letter-size and legal-size documents, but not within one print job. So I'm sending it back and ordering another printer. Even though my printer was purchased through Amazon, Brother customer support was prompt and friendly when I called and very thorough in helping me choose another printer. So my new printer (from Amazon) should be here in a day or two, and I'm hoping it will be just as easy to set up as this one. If not, I won't hesitate to call for help from Brother Customer Support!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer!
Date:January 9, 2013
By lizards718
from Maryland
Printer is everything that Brother says it is! Even works great for envelope printing.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I replaced a HP printer
Date:December 25, 2012
By CharlieB
from Guthrie, OK
I needed a dual tray printer. With the Brother I got so much more with the wireless capabilities including the ability to print from my Apple devices like IPhone IPad and my Mac. It was real easy to set up on my Mac and PC.
I like the speed and the expected economy to use.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:December 24, 2012
By Goldmine375
from Boulder Creek, CA
Wow! This printer really delivers! I will be buying from Brother again because they make great products!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 11 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Fast!!!
Date:June 30, 2014
By cjpanda
from Huntington Beach, CA
We replaced another Brother machine, the HL 5240. We use it as a shipping label/manifest production machine ... so we have frequent use. We're already noticing quite a difference in speed as well as the quality of print.
The only issue we had was it took a bit longer than I hoped to get it setup. We bought the double tray version and the 2nd tray wasn't being recognized immediately and all the literature told us to look up the special manual for tray 2? But there wasn't one that came with it and we couldn't find anything online either. So, after much diggin' through the properties, we figured out where to change the settings and voila! Tray 2 is being used.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Suprised
Date:June 12, 2014
By HealthTech
from Kentucky
Used brother for many years, suprised they let this model through with a fuser manufactoring defect, Failed on some of my models just out of warrenty, Brother is fixing them for free but still have a out of service machine while its being fixed. Fuser fails about 1/2 life, sometimes sooner.
Other that this issue, they are great machines, easy to set up and consumbles are priced fair.
BUT, Probably wait until the initial supply of this model and others using the affected Fuser have be depleted, there is still many out there. Model is made in Vietnam.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Once I got It Set Up
Date:May 9, 2013
By Blusiamese
from Greensboro, NC
This printer is super but it was a pain in the butt getting it to connect wirelessly. I could never get my laptop to recognize that the USB cable was connected (recommended that you connect it this way until it's all configured). After working with it and completely deleting and re-installing the printer driver several times, I finally got it up and running. However, I don't really know what I did differently that fixed the issue.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 14 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Fast setup and great print speeds
Date:May 6, 2013
By ABurch
from Missouri
This machine really looks great: it's very sleek and has a small footprint (critical in this instance). Installing the 5470 as a network printer was quick and fairly simple (the interface is slow to work, but that's a given when there's limited space for the display and keys). The print speed is also excellent, and though I haven't timed to verify 40ppm, the users in that office are impressed with the 5470's performance so far.
The only real fault I noted (-1 star) was the flimsy plastic used for both paper trays - I will not be surprised if one or both break in the future, as the materials used seemed light and very brittle.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
HL5470 High Hopes - Duplex worthless
Date:July 5, 2013
By ExperiencedPro
from USA
Upgraded from a HL5370DW to get faster speed and bigger paper trays AND SPECIFIC to do duplex. The H:5470DWT developed paper streaks on the left after around 2000 pages. At that point it also started randomly creasing pages on duplex which made the output useless. Put the paper on "thin" but this didn't help. Ran ok on "one sided" only but the duplex unit is a reall bummer. Seems to be ok for 10 pages or less. It looks like the duplex rollers don't uniformly grip when they gget warm from the hot components and slip.
The toner cartridge signalled "empty" while there was still good print quality which means that I am not getting full value from the cartridge. The 5370 allowed you to keep going until the ink started getting thin.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5