Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-5470DWT

High-Speed Laser Printer with Wireless Networking, Duplex and Dual Paper Trays
Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
19 of 22(86%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-5470DWT
Review 1 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product
Date:June 12, 2015
By BELL
Great Product. I fully recommend it for work or personal use.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Another workhorse printer
Date:June 9, 2015
By Notaries2U
from Red Bluff, CA
Recently I had to replace my existing Brother printer and, after researching what's currently on the market, I selected the Brother HL-5470DWT. This model comes with the second paper tray, which in my business as a professional notary public, is invaluable. I expect this Brother printer to run as well and last as long as the one I just replaced, which lasted for 10 years and only needed to be serviced three times. It's my experience that Brother produces a great - and reliable - product. Brother is always my first choice!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
pretty good printer
Date:May 19, 2015
By OfficeManager32141
from Edgewater, FL
This is a pretty good copier. I've had Brother laser scanners before and this one has them beat. The only problem I had when I took it out of the box was a wide black stripe on the left side of the paper. I had to download the manual and read it to find out how to get rid of it. Troubleshooting online didn't find an answer for me and that was frustrating.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Loving my new printer!
Date:April 28, 2015
By Squiddle
Purchased my new printer about 2 weeks ago. I print a large volume of mixed legal and letter size documents for my job and this printer performs beautifully! I needed help getting it set up and called the support line and they walked me through what I needed to do step by step. I would highly recommend this printer.
Review 5 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love it!
Date:June 14, 2014
By Rose
from san antonio, texas
Set up was easy, second tray instructions needed to be included, had to dig thru website to find them. But once I got going, it printed Legal and Letter right off the Pdf. It worked perfectly! Excellent for mobile notary business.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A fantastic decission to purchase this HL-5470DWT
Date:May 29, 2013
By opaul
from Florida
Five minutes out of the box and the HL-5470DWT was up and running. This is the fastest laser printer we have ever used. It is quiet when running and takes up hardly any space. We like this machine!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer ever
Date:May 6, 2013
By peacockallee
from Ryderwood Washington
This printer is everything that Brother said it was including being everything that I need for my business. It does the job and everything I ask it to do. I recommend this for people requiring a fast and accurate print.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
sweet printer
Date:April 17, 2013
By LittleDNeb
from Aneta, ND
I love my new printer. I just ordered the same thing but color, so I will have both.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:April 1, 2013
By luis1802
from Laredo, Texas
In my line of business, I use the dual tray printers. The best and most dependable printers have been Brother printers. This is my fourth dual tray printer and I am extremely satisfied with the performance.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Auto-selecting legal and letter page sizes
Date:March 17, 2013
By MudHut
from New Mexico
I bought the HL5470DWT specifically because it had two paper trays and I needed the ability to print documents with both legal and letter-sized pages. An earlier reviewer posted a review titled "great Product - as far as it goes" which incorrectly says the printer will not do that. I found that review one day after ordering the HL5470DWT from Costco, and I contacted Brother immediately with the idea I might need to cancel my Costco order. I was told there would be no problem, and that proves to be the case. I was emailed a description of "solution code "200000037147" out of the Brother's FAQ's and followed the instructions during setup. The printer automatically selects multiple paper sizes in PDF's, and prints flawlessly. I am sorry KGinlV had a different outcome, but I could not be happier. MudHut
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product...as far as it goes
Date:February 20, 2013
By KGinLV
from Las Vegas, NV
I've only had this printer about a month, but so far I've been very happy with it. I'm not very high-tech and I hate referring to manuals. This printer was very easy to install and set up at the start. The print speed and quality are great. My only problem is that I bought the wrong printer for my needs. This one has the capacity to print both letter-size and legal-size documents, but not within one print job. So I'm sending it back and ordering another printer. Even though my printer was purchased through Amazon, Brother customer support was prompt and friendly when I called and very thorough in helping me choose another printer. So my new printer (from Amazon) should be here in a day or two, and I'm hoping it will be just as easy to set up as this one. If not, I won't hesitate to call for help from Brother Customer Support!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer!
Date:January 9, 2013
By lizards718
from Maryland
Printer is everything that Brother says it is! Even works great for envelope printing.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I replaced a HP printer
Date:December 25, 2012
By CharlieB
from Guthrie, OK
I needed a dual tray printer. With the Brother I got so much more with the wireless capabilities including the ability to print from my Apple devices like IPhone IPad and my Mac. It was real easy to set up on my Mac and PC.
I like the speed and the expected economy to use.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:December 24, 2012
By Goldmine375
from Boulder Creek, CA
Wow! This printer really delivers! I will be buying from Brother again because they make great products!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:June 22, 2015
By KLAsPrinter
from California
This printer was purchased to replace an HP Printer. I bought it due to the price. Well worth it. My ONLY issue with it is the communication between it and my MS Word Program when trying to print envelopes and individual 3"x5" labels. I got around it by adjusting the margins on 11"x8-1/2" paper.
I would absolutely suggest this printer to my associates.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Fast!!!
Date:June 30, 2014
By cjpanda
from Huntington Beach, CA
We replaced another Brother machine, the HL 5240. We use it as a shipping label/manifest production machine ... so we have frequent use. We're already noticing quite a difference in speed as well as the quality of print.
The only issue we had was it took a bit longer than I hoped to get it setup. We bought the double tray version and the 2nd tray wasn't being recognized immediately and all the literature told us to look up the special manual for tray 2? But there wasn't one that came with it and we couldn't find anything online either. So, after much diggin' through the properties, we figured out where to change the settings and voila! Tray 2 is being used.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Suprised
Date:June 12, 2014
By HealthTech
from Kentucky
Used brother for many years, suprised they let this model through with a fuser manufactoring defect, Failed on some of my models just out of warrenty, Brother is fixing them for free but still have a out of service machine while its being fixed. Fuser fails about 1/2 life, sometimes sooner.
Other that this issue, they are great machines, easy to set up and consumbles are priced fair.
BUT, Probably wait until the initial supply of this model and others using the affected Fuser have be depleted, there is still many out there. Model is made in Vietnam.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Once I got It Set Up
Date:May 9, 2013
By Blusiamese
from Greensboro, NC
This printer is super but it was a pain in the butt getting it to connect wirelessly. I could never get my laptop to recognize that the USB cable was connected (recommended that you connect it this way until it's all configured). After working with it and completely deleting and re-installing the printer driver several times, I finally got it up and running. However, I don't really know what I did differently that fixed the issue.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Fast setup and great print speeds
Date:May 6, 2013
By ABurch
from Missouri
This machine really looks great: it's very sleek and has a small footprint (critical in this instance). Installing the 5470 as a network printer was quick and fairly simple (the interface is slow to work, but that's a given when there's limited space for the display and keys). The print speed is also excellent, and though I haven't timed to verify 40ppm, the users in that office are impressed with the 5470's performance so far.
The only real fault I noted (-1 star) was the flimsy plastic used for both paper trays - I will not be surprised if one or both break in the future, as the materials used seemed light and very brittle.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-5470DWT
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
NOT compatible -Adobe mixed-page printing with Mac
Date:May 9, 2015
By mobilenotaryOR
from Portland, OR
If you need to print mixed page PDFs and have a MAC, Brother CUPS driver is NOT compatible. The software forces you to choose letter or legal but does not have an option for auto. I have a 2011 MacBook Air and updated both my operating system to Yosemite and have the latest version of Adobe Reader. The "Mac" technical assistance team at Brother are trained for basic level assistance but kept pawning off the problem on Apple and Adobe. My friend has a 2013 MacAir and has a Samsung printer that prints PDF mixed pages documents. My big problem with Brother is that they did not want to admit it's not compatible and/or she made a wrong assumption and didn't admit it was an assumption. It's a good printer and works great with Windows software but Mac users beware.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>