Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-5470DW

High-Speed Laser Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
7
97 of 111(87%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-5470DW
Review 1 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:December 4, 2014
By rickco
from Loveland, CO
I have been using my Brother HL-5470DW printer for several months now with no issues whatsoever. I love the features and excellent print quality. Good investment.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great small printer
Date:July 31, 2014
By DBAtech
from OH
I bought this to replace an older Brother laser printer, and it has been better than I expected over the six months I've used it. It is easy to set up on the wireless network, prints fast, has duplex capability, and has many configuration options to customize it for your home or office. If it turns out to be as reliable in the long run as my previous Brother laser printer, it will be a great value.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Printer
Date:June 30, 2014
By BigGuy
from PA
We tried several Oki Data printers. I got tired of trying to keep the streaks off the paper. It also took them a long time from start up to print. But this printer is INCREDIBLE! Not only is it twice as fast, It is clean and clear. We love it! And, it does not seem to use the toner of the HP laserjets. We use it for printing customer invoices.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic Printer
Date:June 24, 2014
By expertshot
This Printer is the Best. Very Fast! Wireless. I have owned my brother printers and this monochrome laser is the best. I had difficulty getting it wireless. Once I got the right support staff at Brother the printer never worked so good.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 5 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fast, dependable, & economical
Date:June 20, 2014
By Bebe
from Knox, IN
The Brother HL-5470DW is fast, dependable, and economical. I wish it also had a port to print from a jump drive. The quality is excellent. I do a lot of music printing; this printer makes it affordable. The wireless feature is so convenient.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:June 11, 2014
By JFR49
from Philadelphia, PA
Totally pleased with this printer. Using Windows 8.1 and there was no problem installing the drivers. Very easy to set up on my wireless network. Print quality is outstanding.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product
Date:June 9, 2014
By BruceS
from New York
I like the printer and recommend it as very reliable printer.
The only downside is the management of toner cartridges. Hard to find the number of copies printed. In addition it just stops when it gets low on toner. No warning. I was able to cover the hole on the side with tape to get a few hundred additional copies out to finish a project and order a replacement.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 8 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-5470DW Printer
Date:June 5, 2014
By soro1329
from St. Paul. MN
I highly recommend this printer. Easy setup and works great!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 9 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent, Reliable Printer
Date:June 5, 2014
By PeteHDS
from North East PA
This printer is reliable and inexpensive. You must be careful when changing toner or you can create a mess, but it is not hard to do. I do a lot of duplex printing for my classes, and this printer does the job for me.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 10 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Choice for Home/Office Wireless setup
Date:May 31, 2014
By rjmpski
Hardwired to the business section , and wirelessly connnected to a home desktop and a home laptop.
I spent more time worrying about if I'd be able to set this thing up. I WAS DONE with all 3 in about 15 minutes. Everything works flawlessly, first time & every time. I'm a happy camper, and so is my wife.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 11 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:May 12, 2014
By DougC
from Oakland County, MI
This is my second HL-5470DW. My first one ran perfect, was fast, wireless and printed both sides. One day it just quit. I haven't had the opportunity to find the problem. However, brother is standing behind their printer. The second printer is actually better than the first. Who would think.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good size - works well
Date:March 30, 2014
By Greatprinter
from Erie, PA
We have had this printer for a few months now and it has worked as expected. I have not experienced the circuit problems that others cited. It connects easily to an iphone and iPad.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Second Best Printer I Ever Purchase
Date:March 26, 2014
By LadyDiva
from Charlotte, NC
I love this printer it is wonderful. Brother products has outlasted any and all other printers I have ever used. Jam free, crisp, fast and very sharp copies every time.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 14 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer!
Date:January 7, 2014
By Vickie
from Moultrie, GA
I love the speed of this printer and the finished copy once printed.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:November 19, 2013
By rchrd1221
from Bucks County, PA
The printer is easy to install, easy to use, has good speed and is perfect for my needs. I have absolutely no complaints.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Always the Best
Date:November 6, 2013
By TrainLady
from Richmond, VA
I have only used Brother Laser Printers for my small business. Before buying the HL-5470DW I had a regular Brother laser printer that still works just fine. I really wanted to upgrade to a wireless model and this model fits the bill. I love that I don't have to turn over the paper to print on both sides. I never could figure out what side went up or down. You can also use legal size paper in the same tray. No more switching out the tray. And now with my laptop and I Pad I can print from them without any worry. The size is a perfect fit too. I can't say enough about how good this machine is.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:August 5, 2013
By Anonymous
from Deer Park, NY
This printer is very fast in printing tax returns. With internal memos I can use scrap paper and save on paper costs.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 18 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
One for the Money
Date:July 8, 2013
By DMI1
I purchased this printer because a new drum for my other wasnt that much different in price. I have the HL-5240 also, but the HL-5470DW prints much faster, and quite a bit sharper.
Overall, I would say this is a good buy. I got about 25000 sheets out of my 5240, so lets hope this one can do the same!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Completely Satisfactory
Date:July 6, 2013
By HectorG
from St. George, Utah
It was nice to see the quality of packaging when this printer was delivered, a well designed box for safely transporting the printer. It was quite easy to remove the printer from its package nest.
This printer has almost every feature I wanted; I do hope to find a second tray to complete my wish list. I just didn't have the funds to purchase the tray when I acquired the printer. Duplex printing is a requirement and I am pleasantly surprised at this printer's speed when using the duplex function. In fact I'm pleased with the printer's speed in general.
The printer has a nice, non-shiny, textured, conservative appearance and looks very comfortable next to my iMac. The physical design is tasteful.
The versatile and well-performing fold-out top tray works very well, and feels robust. I use it regularly and it has been absolutely reliable.
I am completely satisfied with the control functions. The controls are adequate, convenient, and simple, and the display is quite readable. The cancel button is readily at hand, and responds immediately with no jamming of paper. This is not the case with many printers I've used. The menu structure is fine but extensive, so do print it out from the online user guide before using the menu controls. Yes, it can be done by guess-and-try, but that uses unnecessary time and paper.
The user guide, incidentally, has quickly provided any information I've needed or wanted. The index is quite easy to use, and clicking on a page number in the index immediately takes you to that page. Well done, Brother.
For me the operating noise is quite acceptable-my wife and I quickly became used to it and really don't hear it anymore. Like dogs--you hear your neighbor's, but not your own when it barks outside. When not printing the machine is silent. It quickly comes out of sleep mode when printing is required. There has been no hint of a paper jam in the several weeks we've had the printer. My printing is mostly on 24 or 20 pound paper, with an occasional, (not frequent), heavier cover stock using the flat output tray at the rear of the printer.
A little thing: all of my printers have little felt pads that eliminate rattling noises from the various parts. (I use many of these--all of my cupboard doors, the doors inside the house, and anything I can stop from rattling or closing with a hard sound. The felt adds a sense of quality. I've not yet found a rattle on this Brother. Most unusual in my experience with so many plastics being used.
The quality of the print, regardless of font size, is absolutely satisfactory. I find graphics, which I use regularly, are printed well with this printer. Both B&W and colour graphics. (The colour prints in B&W of course.)
The Brother was installed easily on our wireless network, working with two iMacs and a Macbook. I did, experimentally, hook it up for a short trial with the ethernet port, and it functioned well.
I might explain that I purchased this B&W printer because I refill my inkjet cartridges with a high-quality ink at very low cost, and can thus print in colour inexpensively. But for speed and convenience, the Brother can't be beat, so "I have the best of both worlds". The Brother is our workhorse printer. It was a great choice for my purposes.
It is not uncommon for me to be asked what equipment I'm using, and I can both recommend and demonstrate this printer to a friend. Enthusiastically.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great for a doctors office
Date:February 23, 2013
By DrPhil
from Wilmington, NC
I use Brother printers throughout my office and have done so for years. We recently upgraded our network and EHR system. While doing so, I installed this printer on our network and it is fast, crisp and very reliable. Thanks, Bro!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>