Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-5470DW

High-Speed Laser Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
82 of 91(90%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-5470DW
Review 1 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good size - works well
Date:March 30, 2014
By Greatprinter
from Erie, PA
We have had this printer for a few months now and it has worked as expected. I have not experienced the circuit problems that others cited. It connects easily to an iphone and iPad.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 2 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Second Best Printer I Ever Purchase
Date:March 26, 2014
By LadyDiva
from Charlotte, NC
I love this printer it is wonderful. Brother products has outlasted any and all other printers I have ever used. Jam free, crisp, fast and very sharp copies every time.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer!
Date:January 7, 2014
By Vickie
from Moultrie, GA
I love the speed of this printer and the finished copy once printed.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:November 19, 2013
By rchrd1221
from Bucks County, PA
The printer is easy to install, easy to use, has good speed and is perfect for my needs. I have absolutely no complaints.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Always the Best
Date:November 6, 2013
By TrainLady
from Richmond, VA
I have only used Brother Laser Printers for my small business. Before buying the HL-5470DW I had a regular Brother laser printer that still works just fine. I really wanted to upgrade to a wireless model and this model fits the bill. I love that I don't have to turn over the paper to print on both sides. I never could figure out what side went up or down. You can also use legal size paper in the same tray. No more switching out the tray. And now with my laptop and I Pad I can print from them without any worry. The size is a perfect fit too. I can't say enough about how good this machine is.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:August 5, 2013
By Anonymous
from Deer Park, NY
This printer is very fast in printing tax returns. With internal memos I can use scrap paper and save on paper costs.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
One for the Money
Date:July 8, 2013
By DMI1
I purchased this printer because a new drum for my other wasnt that much different in price. I have the HL-5240 also, but the HL-5470DW prints much faster, and quite a bit sharper.
Overall, I would say this is a good buy. I got about 25000 sheets out of my 5240, so lets hope this one can do the same!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Completely Satisfactory
Date:July 6, 2013
By HectorG
from St. George, Utah
It was nice to see the quality of packaging when this printer was delivered, a well designed box for safely transporting the printer. It was quite easy to remove the printer from its package nest.
This printer has almost every feature I wanted; I do hope to find a second tray to complete my wish list. I just didn't have the funds to purchase the tray when I acquired the printer. Duplex printing is a requirement and I am pleasantly surprised at this printer's speed when using the duplex function. In fact I'm pleased with the printer's speed in general.
The printer has a nice, non-shiny, textured, conservative appearance and looks very comfortable next to my iMac. The physical design is tasteful.
The versatile and well-performing fold-out top tray works very well, and feels robust. I use it regularly and it has been absolutely reliable.
I am completely satisfied with the control functions. The controls are adequate, convenient, and simple, and the display is quite readable. The cancel button is readily at hand, and responds immediately with no jamming of paper. This is not the case with many printers I've used. The menu structure is fine but extensive, so do print it out from the online user guide before using the menu controls. Yes, it can be done by guess-and-try, but that uses unnecessary time and paper.
The user guide, incidentally, has quickly provided any information I've needed or wanted. The index is quite easy to use, and clicking on a page number in the index immediately takes you to that page. Well done, Brother.
For me the operating noise is quite acceptable-my wife and I quickly became used to it and really don't hear it anymore. Like dogs--you hear your neighbor's, but not your own when it barks outside. When not printing the machine is silent. It quickly comes out of sleep mode when printing is required. There has been no hint of a paper jam in the several weeks we've had the printer. My printing is mostly on 24 or 20 pound paper, with an occasional, (not frequent), heavier cover stock using the flat output tray at the rear of the printer.
A little thing: all of my printers have little felt pads that eliminate rattling noises from the various parts. (I use many of these--all of my cupboard doors, the doors inside the house, and anything I can stop from rattling or closing with a hard sound. The felt adds a sense of quality. I've not yet found a rattle on this Brother. Most unusual in my experience with so many plastics being used.
The quality of the print, regardless of font size, is absolutely satisfactory. I find graphics, which I use regularly, are printed well with this printer. Both B&W and colour graphics. (The colour prints in B&W of course.)
The Brother was installed easily on our wireless network, working with two iMacs and a Macbook. I did, experimentally, hook it up for a short trial with the ethernet port, and it functioned well.
I might explain that I purchased this B&W printer because I refill my inkjet cartridges with a high-quality ink at very low cost, and can thus print in colour inexpensively. But for speed and convenience, the Brother can't be beat, so "I have the best of both worlds". The Brother is our workhorse printer. It was a great choice for my purposes.
It is not uncommon for me to be asked what equipment I'm using, and I can both recommend and demonstrate this printer to a friend. Enthusiastically.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great for a doctors office
Date:February 23, 2013
By DrPhil
from Wilmington, NC
I use Brother printers throughout my office and have done so for years. We recently upgraded our network and EHR system. While doing so, I installed this printer on our network and it is fast, crisp and very reliable. Thanks, Bro!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 10 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product, Great Price
Date:February 22, 2013
By bigbobby
from Tacoma, WA
Replaced a 10 yr old HL-1440 that still worked fine with our WinXP computer, but balked at networking with the newer Win7 computers. Also wanted the convenience to h/u wireless with laptops, and figured duplex printing would be nice/cheaper. This HL-5470DW really fills the bill. Installing on wireless/network was a snap. It does seem to be a little noisier than the HL-1440, but it is also quite a bit faster. Hope it will last as long as the HL-1440, and that the toner lasts as long also. Keep up the good work Brother, and thanks for a great product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 11 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent printer
Date:February 21, 2013
By Canesfan
This printer is fast and has made me much more productive in my daily work. I highly recommend it.
Review 12 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Seems like a good purchase so far!
Date:February 5, 2013
By MikeF
from Clarksburg, WV
Bought this unit rather than purchasing drum units and new toners for my 3040CN (since I do not need color anymore). So far so good - need to see how long the cartridge REALLY lasts though!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 13 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer, Bargain Price
Date:February 3, 2013
By InsuranceAgentTony
from Los Angeles, CA
Extremely fast, with full assortment of features. Much less expensive than competing brands.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 14 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Pays for itself, simple setup
Date:January 29, 2013
By Momus40
from Woodland, CA
I felt I was spending too much time and money replacing ink jet cartridges. I knew a small laser printer would provide a more cost effective solution for the bulk of our printing but I wanted Air Print to print from our mobile devices.
When I saw this printer on sale at Office Depot and checked out its features I snapped it up and took it home. To simplify wireless setup I used a USB cable to connect the printer and followed the prompts on the install program. Piece-o-cake! Installation took 30 minutes including unpacking
I have 2 iMacs connected over wi-fi, and 2 iPads using AirPrint. The first page takes a few seconds if the unit hasn't warmed up and then it flies. Really fast printing, great images, smooth duplex printing.
A black ink cartridge costs over $25.00 and yields around 500 pages. For 3000 pages that's more than $150 just for black ink!! Since the Inbox cartridge is rated for 3000 pages this printer will pay for itself in less than a year just in ink savings.
We love this printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5470DW
Date:January 7, 2013
By Sandman
from Tennessee
Easy set up. Duplex works well.
Fast, sharp printing.
Short delay to start a print job if printer in sleep mode.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 16 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Still works well after about first 4000 pages
Date:January 7, 2013
By TomReview
from Lansing, Michigan
Still works well after about first 4000 pages of printing. Good printing speed! Light weight!
Haven't figured out how to do wireless connection yet! The online services plan registration was a little bit tidious but worked! I recommend this printer based on the printed work as of today, with 4000 pages of printing.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Annoying Review Reminder
Date:January 5, 2013
By Anonymous9
The printer works great for only using it for 3 days of light use. The real test will be after 10000 - 20000 or so pages in the next few months. The price of a replacement cartridges and the continued quality of printing over time is the real test. Of course new products should work well. The immediate elliciiation of reviews by manufacturers does not provide meaningful information.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
fast and easy to use
Date:January 3, 2013
By gapitts
from Salem, Oregon
I needed a fast black printer that I could hook up through the router for Linux and windows7, but I also needed to hook up a PC that was not Internet connected. This worked through a USB cable. So I have 5 Linux OS and windows7 connected through the router and a windows XP system attached through a USB cable. I did find a old Linux OS that would not use the router, but updating to a newer version fixed that.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very pleased
Date:January 1, 2013
By HomeOfficeLawyer
from Jackson, Mississippi
I bought the printer to replace a previous Brother printer. This one works better, faster and gives as high or better quality as the previous one. I'm pleased and highly recommend. I'm also pleased that it comes equipped wih AirPlay so that I can print from my iPad or iPhone. Brother hit a home run with this one.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 20 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Laser Printer
Date:December 30, 2012
By Speedy
from Gardner (Kansas City area), KS
I love the duplexing, and it is easy to do. Haven't tried the networking. I also have a HL 5240 for years and loved it, but I could never do the duplex feature of copies on both sides of the paper.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 2 3 4 5 next>>