Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-5470DW

High-Speed Laser Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (122 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
7
108 of 122(89%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-5470DW
Review 1 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Ever
Date:April 21, 2015
By Imageryman
from Tulsa, OK
I have had many laser printers - mostly from HP.
And I have paid big bucks for these.
This Brother printer exceeds my expectations.
A lot of models do duplex printing, but not as compact as this one. Plus, I needed one which I could duplex 8½x 14 (legal size) and this one does.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best personal printer so far
Date:April 15, 2015
By Kickboxer
from upper cumberland plateau in Tennessee
I use it in conjunction a neat document scanner to digitise my personal files and records and to print copies as needed. The automatic duplex capability is what sold me on the product. But on use, it is more than adequate for printing meeting agenda and reports for distribution to church and political organization to which I belong.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:April 10, 2015
By jhenseler
from Wisconsin
Great printer! Love the automatic duplex printing. Saves lots of paper. Printing quality is outstanding.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 4 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Bang for the Buck
Date:April 10, 2015
By OklahomaNonProfit
from Oklahoma
Impressed by the quality of the print, the speed, and the number of copies per toner cartridge. Meets or exceeds all our needs.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 5 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A keeper
Date:April 6, 2015
By budgall
from East Bay, CA
Very happy with this printer, it replaced another
Brother which died after 10 years of use. I only use and recommend Brother Printers
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 6 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Pleasantly surprised
Date:March 23, 2015
By Bryce
from California
I am very satisfied with the HL-5470 duplex laser printer. It was easy to install and start. It's fast and the duplex feature is a true paper saver. The envelope printing ability is first rate. Print quality is excellent.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 7 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
wow
Date:January 12, 2015
By deepwoods
from Bountiful, Utah
This baby prints clear and FAST!!! Buy the big cartridge and you will be set for MANY months of carefree printing!!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
It keeps getting better
Date:December 22, 2014
By Safetyman
from Erie, PA
I have a small home office tax business. I've been in business for over 30 years. My first laser printer was a Brother laser printer back around 1990 since then I've purchased at least 8 laser printers, all brother printers because of their speed, quality, and reliability and the price is better than most other companies. I recently purchased the HL-5470DW because of it's speed and features, I just love how fast it is and how quickly it starts up from sleep mode, within 5 sec. it's printing. I've even purchased another HL-5470DW for the other work station.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 9 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:December 4, 2014
By rickco
from Loveland, CO
I have been using my Brother HL-5470DW printer for several months now with no issues whatsoever. I love the features and excellent print quality. Good investment.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 10 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great small printer
Date:July 31, 2014
By DBAtech
from OH
I bought this to replace an older Brother laser printer, and it has been better than I expected over the six months I've used it. It is easy to set up on the wireless network, prints fast, has duplex capability, and has many configuration options to customize it for your home or office. If it turns out to be as reliable in the long run as my previous Brother laser printer, it will be a great value.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Printer
Date:June 30, 2014
By BigGuy
from PA
We tried several Oki Data printers. I got tired of trying to keep the streaks off the paper. It also took them a long time from start up to print. But this printer is INCREDIBLE! Not only is it twice as fast, It is clean and clear. We love it! And, it does not seem to use the toner of the HP laserjets. We use it for printing customer invoices.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic Printer
Date:June 24, 2014
By expertshot
This Printer is the Best. Very Fast! Wireless. I have owned my brother printers and this monochrome laser is the best. I had difficulty getting it wireless. Once I got the right support staff at Brother the printer never worked so good.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 13 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fast, dependable, & economical
Date:June 20, 2014
By Bebe
from Knox, IN
The Brother HL-5470DW is fast, dependable, and economical. I wish it also had a port to print from a jump drive. The quality is excellent. I do a lot of music printing; this printer makes it affordable. The wireless feature is so convenient.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:June 11, 2014
By JFR49
from Philadelphia, PA
Totally pleased with this printer. Using Windows 8.1 and there was no problem installing the drivers. Very easy to set up on my wireless network. Print quality is outstanding.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 15 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product
Date:June 9, 2014
By BruceS
from New York
I like the printer and recommend it as very reliable printer.
The only downside is the management of toner cartridges. Hard to find the number of copies printed. In addition it just stops when it gets low on toner. No warning. I was able to cover the hole on the side with tape to get a few hundred additional copies out to finish a project and order a replacement.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-5470DW Printer
Date:June 5, 2014
By soro1329
from St. Paul. MN
I highly recommend this printer. Easy setup and works great!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 17 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent, Reliable Printer
Date:June 5, 2014
By PeteHDS
from North East PA
This printer is reliable and inexpensive. You must be careful when changing toner or you can create a mess, but it is not hard to do. I do a lot of duplex printing for my classes, and this printer does the job for me.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 18 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Choice for Home/Office Wireless setup
Date:May 31, 2014
By rjmpski
Hardwired to the business section , and wirelessly connnected to a home desktop and a home laptop.
I spent more time worrying about if I'd be able to set this thing up. I WAS DONE with all 3 in about 15 minutes. Everything works flawlessly, first time & every time. I'm a happy camper, and so is my wife.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 19 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:May 12, 2014
By DougC
from Oakland County, MI
This is my second HL-5470DW. My first one ran perfect, was fast, wireless and printed both sides. One day it just quit. I haven't had the opportunity to find the problem. However, brother is standing behind their printer. The second printer is actually better than the first. Who would think.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 20 for HL-5470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good size - works well
Date:March 30, 2014
By Greatprinter
from Erie, PA
We have had this printer for a few months now and it has worked as expected. I have not experienced the circuit problems that others cited. It connects easily to an iphone and iPad.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>