Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-5450DN

High-Speed Laser Printer with Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.567 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
57 of 60(95%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-5450DN
Review 1 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Happy customer
Date:August 1, 2014
By sparky55
from Madison, WI
I own a small business and use this printer at my point of sale. This unit has great response and print times. Most documents printed are in the 300 dpi mode and the quality of the print is good
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Laser Printer
Date:July 14, 2014
By DocHH
from Bellevue, WA
I bought this printer to replace an earlier Brother model where the print engine was reaching the end of like. Brother printers integrate well into my network, and the new one is faster and has front and back page printing. The printer worked perfectly out-of-the-box and serves my needs well. The size fits my space and printing is quiet. Good job.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 3 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
super printer
Date:July 6, 2014
By Alexlatil
This new machine replaced a Brother that performed dutifully in a small business for nine (9) years. The HL-5450DN works fine with our Macs and is faster than the previous printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 4 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Second One
Date:June 25, 2014
By Packerman
from Central Wisconsin
I work in an accounting office and use the printer hard, the first 5450DN lasted about 4 years, I hope to get that much out of this one.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 5 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer!
Date:June 23, 2014
By TrishS
I am very pleased with this purchase. I also love the fact that this printer uses the same toner cartridge as my other Brother printer I am using alongside of this one.
Review 6 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase money can buy
Date:April 22, 2014
By MawMaw
This printer makes doing my job quick and easyand would highly recommend this printer to anyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Does a great job.
Date:April 21, 2014
By Vonl
from Grand Island, Nebraska
The speed is great for this little work horse and the network access makes it great as a shared resource. The easy access front door lets us print those rush job Checks and a few other specialty forms. The toner lasts a reasonable time and this is the second one we've put into accounting. The duplexing saves on paper. Wish it had a scanner built in to the space saving size.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Good Laser Printer
Date:March 2, 2014
By Zardoz
from Bellevue, WA
My HL-5450DN printer works very well for my home projects (duplex printing, etc.). It prints very vast, and copies are great!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 9 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Pleased
Date:February 14, 2014
By Lmc73
from Iowa
I have had this printer for about a month now and I am very pleased with its performance. Printing is fast and the front paper tray is convenient for loading specialty paper.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 10 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great successor to HL-1440
Date:February 7, 2014
By Hornbeam
I bought the HL-5450DN to replace my Brother HL-1440 laser, which I'd used for 10 years. The old one had been a great printer -- reliable, inexpensive to operate -- until the quality of print began to fail and the cost of replacing the drum again didn't make economic sense. So I bought a new version, the HL-5450DN. It set up quickly without a hitch. The new one has automatic duplex -- a nice bonus. I have been using it for several weeks and I'm very happy. It goes to sleep when I'm not using it, like the HL-1440. I'm very satisfied, recommend it highly.
Review 11 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I'm sold on Brother,
Date:January 24, 2014
By Dutch
from Pittsburgh, PA
As a private owner I don't need the high speed or the color but I chose this HL- 5450DN Laser Printer because the ink won't smear right after it is printed, I've heard that the toner won't dry up with time and the half tones are decent. If you have connection problems like I did there is a number to call and they will bend over backwards to help you out and it only takes a few minutes.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very nice printer
Date:December 14, 2013
By MichaelR
from North Carolina
fast, Wi-Fi, prints from ipad, laptop, desktop, both sides of paper.
very happy with this printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I wanted and needed.
Date:November 6, 2013
By wb2ndv
from West Palm Beach, FL
This printer works as advertised and I couldn't be happier. This is a great printer to assist my Brother HL-4150CDN. I use them both for load sharing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Little Printrr
Date:October 15, 2013
By RetiredGI
from Honea Path, SC
Amazing print speed. I've worked with laser printers since the HP Laserjet (4ppm) and this printer with duplexing is good for small workgroups but I use.it for home use as I detest printers without a real feed tray. Good text and using the Postscript driver results in even smoother characters for tiny fonts. I had aHL-1240 and Hl-227DW but this printers is much more refined. I just hope it is as reliable but I expect it to be a work horse.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Freat Printer for My Application
Date:August 4, 2013
By OldJim
from Huntsville, AL
I publish a newsletter once a month. This printer is fast, and does an excellent job on all of the text and general graphics. Pictures are just so-so, but acceptable for this application. The newsletter is duplexed to save paper. This slows down the printer somewhat, but it still puts out a 3 sheet newsletter faster than I can load it into a folding machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine
Date:July 26, 2013
By deepthinker
I am a writer and absolutely love the double sided and four page booklet printing. Also, I like the way the front feed grabs a single piece of paper so it doesn't fall.
Some people complained about the unit blowing fuses, so I did not plug it into a power strip, but straight into a 15A wall outlet. Not one single problem!
Only minor thing I see is that the USB port on mine does not "grab" a cable as tightly as I would like.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 17 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Typical Brother
Date:July 12, 2013
By LongIslandSteve
from Long Island, N.Y.
I have used Brother machines for many years, changing them when either the drum is gone, or a new, faster machine comes on the market. My small business requires a fast and reliable duplexing machine. This one is it. Setup is a snap and the machine has been a workhorse from the first time I used it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 18 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great hope it last as long as the model before it
Date:April 6, 2013
By msrsl1000
from Ventura, CA.
Bought this even thought it was more money than other brand names. Two reasons the prior model lasted over 6 years and customer service is wonderful.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 19 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:March 27, 2013
By Drnoff
Wonderful machine. Better than my 6yr. Old brother printer.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
works great...good price
Date:March 21, 2013
By Anonymous
from central Illinois, USA
I have wanted a duplex printer for a long time. when this came along I couldn't resist.
Zero installation or setup problems
Fast sharp output.
status monitor tells me remotely when it's out of paper.
Brother utility lets me print from my Anroid phone and tablet.
This is my third Brother printer. The first two still work great.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>