Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-5450DN

High-Speed Laser Printer with Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
50 of 53(94%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-5450DN
Review 1 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Good Laser Printer
Date:March 2, 2014
By Zardoz
from Bellevue, WA
My HL-5450DN printer works very well for my home projects (duplex printing, etc.). It prints very vast, and copies are great!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Pleased
Date:February 14, 2014
By Lmc73
from Iowa
I have had this printer for about a month now and I am very pleased with its performance. Printing is fast and the front paper tray is convenient for loading specialty paper.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 3 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great successor to HL-1440
Date:February 7, 2014
By Hornbeam
I bought the HL-5450DN to replace my Brother HL-1440 laser, which I'd used for 10 years. The old one had been a great printer -- reliable, inexpensive to operate -- until the quality of print began to fail and the cost of replacing the drum again didn't make economic sense. So I bought a new version, the HL-5450DN. It set up quickly without a hitch. The new one has automatic duplex -- a nice bonus. I have been using it for several weeks and I'm very happy. It goes to sleep when I'm not using it, like the HL-1440. I'm very satisfied, recommend it highly.
Review 4 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I'm sold on Brother,
Date:January 24, 2014
By Dutch
from Pittsburgh, PA
As a private owner I don't need the high speed or the color but I chose this HL- 5450DN Laser Printer because the ink won't smear right after it is printed, I've heard that the toner won't dry up with time and the half tones are decent. If you have connection problems like I did there is a number to call and they will bend over backwards to help you out and it only takes a few minutes.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 5 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very nice printer
Date:December 14, 2013
By MichaelR
from North Carolina
fast, Wi-Fi, prints from ipad, laptop, desktop, both sides of paper.
very happy with this printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I wanted and needed.
Date:November 6, 2013
By wb2ndv
from West Palm Beach, FL
This printer works as advertised and I couldn't be happier. This is a great printer to assist my Brother HL-4150CDN. I use them both for load sharing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Little Printrr
Date:October 15, 2013
By RetiredGI
from Honea Path, SC
Amazing print speed. I've worked with laser printers since the HP Laserjet (4ppm) and this printer with duplexing is good for small workgroups but I use.it for home use as I detest printers without a real feed tray. Good text and using the Postscript driver results in even smoother characters for tiny fonts. I had aHL-1240 and Hl-227DW but this printers is much more refined. I just hope it is as reliable but I expect it to be a work horse.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Freat Printer for My Application
Date:August 4, 2013
By OldJim
from Huntsville, AL
I publish a newsletter once a month. This printer is fast, and does an excellent job on all of the text and general graphics. Pictures are just so-so, but acceptable for this application. The newsletter is duplexed to save paper. This slows down the printer somewhat, but it still puts out a 3 sheet newsletter faster than I can load it into a folding machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine
Date:July 26, 2013
By deepthinker
I am a writer and absolutely love the double sided and four page booklet printing. Also, I like the way the front feed grabs a single piece of paper so it doesn't fall.
Some people complained about the unit blowing fuses, so I did not plug it into a power strip, but straight into a 15A wall outlet. Not one single problem!
Only minor thing I see is that the USB port on mine does not "grab" a cable as tightly as I would like.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 10 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Typical Brother
Date:July 12, 2013
By LongIslandSteve
from Long Island, N.Y.
I have used Brother machines for many years, changing them when either the drum is gone, or a new, faster machine comes on the market. My small business requires a fast and reliable duplexing machine. This one is it. Setup is a snap and the machine has been a workhorse from the first time I used it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 11 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great hope it last as long as the model before it
Date:April 6, 2013
By msrsl1000
from Ventura, CA.
Bought this even thought it was more money than other brand names. Two reasons the prior model lasted over 6 years and customer service is wonderful.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 12 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:March 27, 2013
By Drnoff
Wonderful machine. Better than my 6yr. Old brother printer.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
works great...good price
Date:March 21, 2013
By Anonymous
from central Illinois, USA
I have wanted a duplex printer for a long time. when this came along I couldn't resist.
Zero installation or setup problems
Fast sharp output.
status monitor tells me remotely when it's out of paper.
Brother utility lets me print from my Anroid phone and tablet.
This is my third Brother printer. The first two still work great.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Review Brother HL-5450 DN printer
Date:March 15, 2013
By walligator
from Norfolk, VA
The Brother HL-5450DN is a very excellent printer. The print quality is amazing. The printer prints really fast. The Brothe brand has always been at my work place and is a good product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Buy Printer
Date:February 11, 2013
By LaserRon
from Gilbert,AZ
We had an older Brother Laser that finally gave out and when researching a replacement, found the 5450DN and purchased it... The printing speed is great and the fact that it does 2-sided printing without the need to take out and replace the printed sheets is an added PLUS. I think this is the best buy for the money you will find.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 16 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Laser Printer
Date:January 7, 2013
By HankCIO
from Southwest USA
Most of my printing is B&W and I prefer high speed: quick first page and a healthy page rate (pages per minute) after the first page. Among the laser printers, this is by far the best.
Very quick delivery of the first page in less that 9 seconds. When it runs a long job it delivers 40 pages per minute. Excellent paper handling. Lots of features.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:January 3, 2013
By DavenPhyl
from San Luis Obispo, Ca.
We wanted a good, basic laser printer to replace a second ink jet in our home office. We were tired of the expense, maintenance, and slow performance. The HL-5450DN was rated well on line and available at Costco. It is a bargain! Very low price, modest profile, small foot print, fast start up, and lighting fast duplex printing. Didn't need the wireless version for iOS devices as the Printopia app takes care of that. Very happy with this keeper.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
very good purchase
Date:January 2, 2013
By 3CollegeStudents
fast and cheap prints. very reliable so far. with each print costing less then two cents I can't go wrong.
Review 19 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exactly what I needed
Date:January 2, 2013
By efs324
from Channahon, IL
I bought this printer to get the airprint feature. It replaces an older Brother laser printer. It installed easy and worked from my PC but not airprint. The problem was not the new Brother but my router that needed a firmware update. After the router update the HL-5450DN airprint worked perfectly. I also like the duplex printing that was not on my older printer. It is also much faster than the older printer.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 20 for HL-5450DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent printer
Date:December 26, 2012
By Noraprinter
from Muskegon, MI
Very user friendly and dependable. Would recommend this printer for a small office.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 2 3 next>>