Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-4070CDW

Color Laser Printer with Wireless Networking & Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.045 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
17 of 22(77%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-4070CDW
Review 1 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy Setup
Date:July 19, 2010
By sally
from Florida
This is the first laser and first Brothers printer I've owned. Why did I wait so long! It was easy to set up, prints sharp clear fonts and hasn't let me down yet. My previous printer, the HP 8600 Officejet Pro is full of software glitches and their online support does not support Mac users. I would definitely recommend this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:May 2, 2010
By dano1377
from Fort Collins, CO
I have been using this machine for a couple of years now and it has been very reliable for me. The cost of toner is much less than the ink jet printer I had before. I also use the duplex feature often to save on paper.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love my printer
Date:May 1, 2010
By auntdoe
from Shepherdsville, KY
Love this printer, the wireless feature very easy to set up and the directions were easy to follow. Color quality is good, printer meets all of my needs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Terrific Printer
Date:May 1, 2010
By BubbleJoe
from Carlsbad, CA
My wife sends out Christmas calendars with her watercolors featured to our friends every year. I had used a good Epson ink-jet for years, but I always wanted to try a laser, primarily for avoiding constant buying of ink cartridges. I bought the 4070 CDW and could not be happier. The colors are vibrant and the machine prints faster than I expected. I've yet to have any clogs. I had a little trouble setting the wireless feature for my wife's laptop but I called the tech people. I didn't wait more than a minute on hold and they walked me through the setup in about five minutes. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love my printer!
Date:May 1, 2010
By marcy
from Normal, IL
This is exactly what I wanted! I can print 2-sided in color (& B&W, of course). I can reprint documents right from the printer (the quantity I select).
I can print on cardstock without the toner smudging (my last more expensive and less-featured HP laser was horrible for printing on cardstock, + it aso didn't have the 2 features mentioned above). Color printing is not photo quality but it is just fine for my needs (flyers, newsletters, etc.) The start up time for the first document while it is in sleep mode is a bit slow but I'm already used to that. There are many more features that I haven't even used (like the USB port).
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic wireless color printer
Date:May 1, 2010
By Anonymous
from Fairfield, CT
I bought this printer about 6 months ago and it has not dissapointed me. The wireless printer allows me to print even from the most remote areas of my house. When printing the two sided (dulpex) printing saves me paper and makes my presentations professional. The printer is fast and has outstanding color. I would recommend this to everyone and intend on purchasing one for my at work office.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic Color Printer
Date:May 1, 2010
By Oldman
from Atlanta, GA
This is a fantastic color printer. Pictures come out great. Very easy to change the toner cartages. The cost of the color cartages is a little costly, might be better to just buy a new printer. I recommed this printer and would buy it again. The duplex printing is easy and saves paper.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:May 1, 2010
By CarolCCC
from Central New Jersey
I purchased this printer to replace another color laser printer and there is NO comparison. This printer was a breeze to set up wirelessly, and it works like a charm on my network, printing all my documents (with and without graphics) perfectly. I would recommend it to anyone!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love my new Brother HL 4070CDW
Date:May 1, 2010
By Trekerbob
from Philadelphia,PA
I bought my Brother HL 4070CDW printer in March. it had problem with its motherboard on arrival. Brother immediately addressed the problem and sent a repairman to my home. the printer works wonderfully on my wireless home network and has great print quality. I am very happy with the purchase. This printer replaced my Brother 4000CN that has given us six years of great service and is now our backup printer. I would recommend Brother products to anyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 10 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:February 12, 2010
By TDHALL
from Dallas TexaS
I read all of the reviews and looked at all of the competition, and decided on the HL-4070CDW. The deciding factor was the cost of the supplies. Look at the price of toner before deciding which printer to buy, otherwise you may get a unpleasant surprise. You can set the printer to conserve toner and the output doesn't seem to suffer for doing so. The output is excellent and the printer is quick except when duplexing. I am happy with my selection
Many of the reviews complained about the paper not being flat after printing-not a problem for me, the output of my printer is almost perfectly flat after the paper cools from printing. Some complained about noise-it isn't silent, but it isn't objectionable. I upgraded the memory, but I can't tell a difference with the type of printing I am doing. I wouldn't do it again.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Second Brother laser printer for me
Date:September 11, 2010
By MrScott
This is the 2nd Brother laser printer for me. The first was just a b&w laser printer. After owning that till it died from use, I had to invest in the color version. One of the selling points for me was the automatic duplex printing. I can see having a printer without it.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice Color Laser Printer for the Price
Date:May 24, 2010
By warobert
from Queens, NY
This is a nice color laser printer that will not break the bank. The colors are nice when you tweak the settings a little. The wireless was a added plus since I put the printer in my basement while my B&W laser printer was upstairs. The replacement cartridge was a definite buy or not decision for me. The only CON, this printer is faily long. You will need some space for it
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
choice ?
Date:May 9, 2010
By hvac
from Dayton Ohio
the printer is great fits all my needs, except for the pricing of the toners for 5000 yields. would like BROTHERS to offer coupons or discounts when ordering from them direct.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 14 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Do not buy discount cartridges
Date:May 3, 2010
By Dave
from Dallas, TX
I regret buying discount cartridges in order to avoid the high price of the cartridges ordered directly from Brother. Now my color printing has blotches on the left side of the paper. The cartridge store vacuumed excess toner which had accumulated in the printer, and then made a comment which made me realize they were ignorant of the way the laser printers work. They wanted to know what happened to the 'extra' toner on the belt, because of course it could not be used for every image.
Do not let this happen to you.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good printer
Date:May 1, 2010
By jcor
It's a pretty good and reliable printer. What I don't like is that once a cartridge is low on ink it stops working completely until you replace that cartridge. Other printers you can continue to use even if one cartridge is low.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
My Brother
Date:May 1, 2010
By ChildofYah
from NC USA
I have purchased two of this model. I find it very easy to use and the quality of output is excellent. I print large quantities of tracts and studies supplying requests from around the world and find the print stands up the rigors of the handling. Images are sharp and crisp and color is good.
I have tried several compatible toner cartridges and have not found one that is acceptable. My recommendation is only use OEM cartridges.
I would like to see improvement in the life of various internal components, including toner cartridges. It is tedious to open the end of the cartridges and reset the springed cog to extend the print life of the cartridge. I have found that I get sometimes hundreds more copies from a cartridge by resetting this cog. I would like to see a more efficient delivery of the toner in the process. As with all printers, it seems that the machine is low cost and the expendables are high cost. When printing quanities near the usage guidelines, most of the components inside the machine will be replaced frequently.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 17 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Excellent
Date:April 29, 2010
By howie66not
from Seattle,WA
I have had my printer for about a year. I print thousands of pages a year for my business. THis printer has been flawless for me. Sometimes slow to wake up but otherwise an excellent printer.
Not good for photos, but great for clip art and low resolution docs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
great printer hard to get use to
Date:March 3, 2010
By witnesssecurity
from tulsa ok
when i first bought this printer i it was going to print flyers so i tryed to print a regular flyer and i could on regular paper when i tried to print on thicker paper or on envlopes it took me a while to figure it out but once i had it ti has been the best printer ever
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 19 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Stick with black only unless you really need color
Date:September 19, 2010
By gene522
from Chester, New Jersey
The printer works well and prints color nicely (though a tad slowly), but unless you really need laser color, stick with black only printers. The cost of replacing color cartridges (which do not last all that long) is more than half the cost of the printer, making this a very uneconomical printer for those who do primarily black only printing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-4070CDW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
MACHINE PERFORMED GREAT - TECH SUPPORT IS TERRIBLE
Date:May 2, 2010
By MurphDaSurf
from Summerville, SC
I thought the price was fantastic. I thought the images and performance was fantastic. The support is terrible. But there is more to a product than price and performance. What backs up price and performance? This unit was recently purchased and is still under full factory warranty. I had a power outage and even though the machine was connected to a surge protector (surge wasn't the problem, someone hit a power pole and knocked to power clean out for just under two hours), something is wrong with the machine and tech support calls when I'm not home, despite telling them no to call until after 6:00 p.m. EST. This is out church's only printer and we're down down. Now the weekend has come and gone and we're still down. Tech support needs to take the needs of their customers a bit more seriously!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 2 next>>