Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.145 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
37
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
10
102 of 124(82%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3170CDW
Review 1 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MANAGER
Date:June 30, 2015
By PAMS
from MILFORD, DE
THIS IS A FANTASTIC PRINTER. I AM SO PLEASED TO HAVE PURCHASED. FEATURES ARE EXACTLY WHAT THEY SAID
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:June 28, 2015
By CommunityBuilder
from Fayetteville, NY
Easy to set up... working without any flaws. Just what I expected from my newest Brother Printer. I now have three, two of them are my main printers and one is a back up (which I have had for better than 9 years and it still works perfectly).
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 3 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer by far
Date:June 22, 2015
By HappyGirl7
from Pasadena, CA
Prints uniformly high quality copies at a good speed; tech support from Brother is excellent as well.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent printer.
Date:June 18, 2015
By Willy
I had to purchase a replacement network printer when my present printer died. I purchased this HL-3170CDW not knowing what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. Very easy to interface to Linux. The performance is outstanding with very good color rendition and fast printing. By the time I walk to the printer it is already completed. The price is very reasonable for a printer of this quality.
Highly recommended!!
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Finally a affordable quality Color Printer
Date:June 13, 2015
By Dan2457
from Portland, or
The 3170 is Business grade printer and at good price and produces quality prints in color and B/W, a nice thing is that it comes with a enough startup toner, that your not buying toner the day after you buy the printer, I'm a technician for a competing company and for the price it can't be beat
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy set up and reliable
Date:June 11, 2015
By KenN
from Rochester, NY
Purchased this printer to have color capability at home. The ability to duplex was a requirement. The wireless capability is a plus and I figured it would be convenient but was a little hesitant at adding this to my home wi-if network as I expected a cumbersome setup. Nothing could be further from the truth. The setup was amazingly simp,e and I now print from both my wired PC as well as my iPad to the HL-3170CDW. This is a great value.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Review HL-3170CDW
Date:June 10, 2015
By ajflynn
I am very pleased with my Brothers HL-3170CDW Printer. It was an excellent purchase and it has met all my copying needs.
Review 8 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Laser Printer
Date:June 8, 2015
By Shaun
from Honolulu, Hawaii
This printer is amazing! Duplex printing, and in color, is simply tremendous. I've printed my digital texts and full color brochures without difficulty. It's simply great! Thank you, Brother!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 9 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A worthy purchase
Date:June 8, 2015
By SysAdmin
from Michigan
I use Brother products at my office daily, we have machines that are upwards of 10 years old still going strong, so I figured looking at a color laser for home was a good idea. Our ink-jet (name brand) gets used very little and the cost of replacement cartridges plus my time to constantly try to keep it working was far greater than the cost of this machine which I can leave sit for months and not worry about drying up. It does not have the photo-print quality of the name brand ink jet but that was not the reason to purchase, I purchased for reliability and it delivers.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 10 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Perfect for my Needs
Date:June 7, 2015
By Yvette
from Albuquerque, NM
I am a university student, and this printer is exactly what I need it to be. The internal duplexing reduces my paper use, and I love that I can print color. It warms up and prints fast enough for me, even though my printing is sporadic. So far, it has been flawless. The color is not art quality, but good given that that's not what this printer is for. (I have high standards!)
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 11 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:May 27, 2015
By MiltonR
from Concord, California
Best buy on the market for its quality. It's fast and satisfies all my basic color printing needs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Cool Color Laser Printer
Date:May 25, 2015
By bell444
from Syracuse, NY
This printer has done everything asked of it with smoothness and ease. The color on photos pop and the B&W is sharp and clear.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Impressive printer
Date:May 12, 2015
By yardjockey
from Pennsylvania
I graduated from a color dot matrix printer (Epson MX variant) to a color inkjet printer (HP 900 series) many years ago. I was impressed with the HP two-sided printing capability. But this Brother printer is a dream come true! I use this machine for correspondence, mainly. So it does not get hard use. The toner carts are still those that came with the machine. I like the quality of print. The speed in which this printer processes a two-sided document is awesome! The paper curls a bit, but, meh, I can live with that. Thanks for producing a great affordable and useful product!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excelent printer
Date:May 5, 2015
By rdk1
from WV
A very good printer works great to print on both sides of paper.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
What I need
Date:May 4, 2015
By june
from Thomasville, GA
The printer is fast and easy to use. The colors are true.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother Color Laser Printer
Date:April 27, 2015
By Genie
from Florida
I purchased this printer to replace my Brother HL-4040 CDN and have enjoyed using it. It is easy to install especially as a WIFI printer. It is fast and quiet. My only complaint as a home printer is the need to select 'use reprint' each time for each document. I understand the need for security, but wish there was a default selection for this option.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
NO MORE MESSY INK
Date:April 21, 2015
By DaveQ
from Phoenix, AZ
Very nice not having to "realign" the heads, worry about ink drying out or searching for the cheapest ink.
This printer starts at a moments notice, even when in a deep sleep, and prints high quality images.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother Lase Printer
Date:April 18, 2015
By rdg1
from Wilmington, DE
This is a color laser printer that provides exceptional quality printing. I can find on criticism of the printer; however it does get irritating you buy a product and it comes with only a minimal amount of toner or ink. Aside from that, the printer was a great value an, so far, has worked with no problems.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exceeded expectations for color laser
Date:March 25, 2015
By DMS4DOI
from Ann Arbor, MI
Th HL-3170CDW has exceeded our expectations for color laser printing, including photographic material. It is also economical to use instead of a B/W printer for all of our work. It has raised us to a higher level while not costing more than a small business can afford. When we did have a problem, after a year of use, Brother support was swift and gracious. I continue to recommend Brother for printers to all of my contacts
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good product
Date:March 24, 2015
By garryl
from Iowa
First home laser printer. Like the low power standby mode. Good quality product. So much better than an ink jet. No more smears of ink. Really like the front & back printing capability, saves paper and file space. Color is accurate. Good response time to printing request to the time the pages are in the output tray. Big paper capacity. Excellent phone support, fast, knowledgeable, patient and friendly. The best I have ever experienced. My first Brother product and will definitely consider Brother next time I need anything they make.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>