Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (221 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
52
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
24
179 of 221(81%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3170CDW
Review 1 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
High Quality. Low Price.
Date:February 7, 2016
By
from Waldorf, MD
As a community concert band, we need to be able to revise our flyers and handouts on a moment's notice. Our schedule changes, our music changes, and we need to print short runs of our promotional material to reflect those changes. Local printers were happy to print 100 color copies for us for $100, single-sided. We would blow through our advertising budget in no time! We've been using the Brother HL-3170CDW for a couple of months, and we couldn't be happier. Excellent quality. Automatic duplex printing. We can print what we need, when we need it, at a price that isn't going to break the bank. This was an excellent investment for us..!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love my new peinter
Date:February 5, 2016
By
from Columbus, Ohio
I've owned this printer going on 3 months. I purchased it through Office Depot. This printer replaced a Epson all in Ink Jet printer. My Epson was nice but my ink kept drying out because I did not use to often. I decided to replace it with a Laser jet, then I seen this printer online. The foot print is not to bad though it is on the heavy(compared to inkjet) so you want to put it on something solid. It prints great docs though auto duplex printing is a slow. The printer starts right up does it thing then goes back to sleep where it use only 1 watt of electricity. If you want high gloss pictures then this is not for you but if you want casual printing with color then this is a great product and I recommend it to anyone. Happy in Ohio
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 3 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:February 5, 2016
By
It was exactly what I wanted. the price was good too
Review 4 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
It's Great
Date:February 5, 2016
By
It's Great. I am really glad my tech guy told me about it.
Review 5 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great value for a basic printer
Date:February 2, 2016
By
from Chicago, IL
Color quality is very good. Supply (amount) of ink that comes with the printer is more than I expected. I have been using it for 2 months and have almost 85% of my black remaining. It doesn't scan or make copies, but if you just want an inexpensive printer that is reliable it's great. It has not jammed or malfunctioned once.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I was looking for
Date:February 1, 2016
By
from Avon park, FL
I have an older mono brother laser printer that just keeps on trucking so when I wanted a colour one I looked no further than Brother. I have to admit the printer far exceeds my expectations. Wireless convenience for my laptop and wired for my desktop. Colour is great and everything is sharp. I don't care about speed so the time to print is fine with me (home use) and so far same dependable service as my older laser printer.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Purchase
Date:January 30, 2016
By
from PA
I have not had any problems with this product yet. It would be nice to have a copy or scan option on it . Much better than buying liquid ink for a printer every month.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
It's all about the company
Date:January 29, 2016
By
from Petoskey, MI
Our Brother is a real work horse. It is used constantly in our office for double sided and color printing and the quality is incredible....but, it's all about the suppor with Brother - we had something go wrong on the printer and we had the replacement part installed by the company on their dime - they really stand behind their product and that's what makes Brother a Winner for me!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Printer
Date:January 27, 2016
By
from Crosby, TX
I got fed up with the HP I had - it wouldn't connect to the network and required 3 1/2 hours on the phone with HP (I'm not exaggerating) before getting the printer to work. I had to do this 3 times in 6 months.
I saw the HL-3170CDW on sale at Best Buy and had good luck with Brother on prior printers so I bought it. WOW, am I glad I did! This printer is awesome, color & duplex printing with blazing speed plus it was a breeze to connect to my network and PC's. Printing from smartphones is a snap too.
You won't go wrong with the HL-3170CDW..... GOOD JOB BROTHER!!!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 10 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great choice
Date:January 24, 2016
By
from NH
Nothing but +'s. I bought this to use everyday and save on the ink in my 8 cartridge photo printer
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Simply awesome
Date:January 22, 2016
By
from Marquette, Michigan
For picture prints we still go to the bix box store, but for color pages, simple documents, etc this printer works great. Start up very fast, the quality of text printed is awesome and I'm looking forward to see how long we can use the torner
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice printer
Date:January 17, 2016
By
from Wisconsin
Fairly easy to set up on the network and figure out - I have a Mac with an older operating system so the instructions were not exactly what I saw on my screen. Good fast gray-scale. Took some trials to figure out how to get the best color. Don't give up, the settings are well hidden but there. (My Mac and my laptop have different OS's and the menus are different.) I was able to get better color than my husband could from his PC - maybe he hasn't found the right settings. - FYI - must plug into wall, not battery backup!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Purchase
Date:January 16, 2016
By
from Albany, New York
I have used this printer for over 2 months. It was an easy setup. The quality of the print is wonderful. It works well with our IPADS and laptop. I just upgraded our Router and I was easily able to reestablish the wifi connection. Extremely happy with the purchase. Would recommend the printer highly.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great value printer
Date:January 9, 2016
By
from Sioux Falls, SD
We ditched our home inkjet printers because laser printers are much more affordable now. No bulk ink refills or if printer sits idle for extended periods, no dry smears or clogged heads. Print speed is very fast and quiet. Haven't tried photos yet, but still should be more economical. Much more cost competitive than other brand printers. Better price on replacement toner cartridges where the true cost of printing is. Good job!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 15 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what we wanted
Date:January 7, 2016
By
from Hudson, Florida
Perfect desktop color laser printer, fast and efficient. We've bought Brother black-and-white laser printers in the past and always been satisfied with performance, cost and supplies. This was our first purchase of color, and the device was every bit as fine as the b&w's. For office tasks (though not for photograph quality), this is far preferable to any of the ink jet devices.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best wireless printer
Date:January 6, 2016
By
I LOVE my new Brother color printer! My husband got it for me as an early Christmas present and it's the best-working printer we've ever had--never a problem printing--it's always ready to do the job!
GREAT product! I highly recommend it.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase Ever
Date:December 27, 2015
By
from Wesley Chapel, FL
Exceeded my expectation. Price was well within my range.
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 18 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic Printer
Date:December 26, 2015
By
from Rhode Island
Great printer. Previously had an inkjet, but only use it casually so ink kept drying out. With this unit it can sit idle for days and print a perfect copy every time. Connection to home network was flawless. Am looking forward to years of trouble free use.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:December 24, 2015
By
from Smyrna Delaware
I love this color laser printer. It prints with excellent clarity , easy to set up and great for office and home use because of its size. I have owned other big name printers and Brother is the best.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 20 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great value
Date:December 21, 2015
By
from La Quinta, CA
The printer exceeded my expectations. The finished quality of the printed documents is very good. The only hiccup I have experienced is loading heavier stock paper in the document feeder. It sometimes will take several attempts before the paper is accepted.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>