Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
37 of 41(90%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3170CDW
Review 1 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:April 21, 2014
By gimmama
from union city, tennessee
I have only had the brother printer for a short time but I am very pleased with it thus far.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
DA BEST I EVA HAD
Date:March 14, 2014
By UDABEST
from West Palm Beach, FL
This is the fastest, most reliable, and easiest wi-fi printer I have ever owned. Can't say more for a printer so I will leave it at that.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 3 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-3170CDW
Date:March 14, 2014
By MalcolmZ
from Fayetteville, AR
This printer performs excellently, a bargain for what we paid. Installation was very simple and it worked immediately.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
hl3170cdw
Date:March 13, 2014
By eddsr1
from Woodbury, NJ
This printer works really well, it has all of the features a home or small office should need. The printing is very sharp, the paper trayis large enough, the duplex printing works nicely and the speed is great.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 5 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good printer/terrible with Win 8
Date:March 10, 2014
By GreyBeard
from Ohio
I have several Brother printers and they all have problems working with windows 8. Brother blames the computer manufacturer and windows and in return they all blame Brother. I am tired of going back and forth trying to get everything working on my windows 8 computer. All of my Brother printers work great on my win 7 computers but unfortunately my main computer that I use the most if win 8. Brother needs to find a fix for this problem so they can service their customers.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Product
Date:March 10, 2014
By junkperson
from Near Dallas Texas
This printers is working decently. It was easy to set up and had it working in a few minutes. only comment might look at a multi function machine that would also copy, vs only a printers. This is working well and would consider purchasing again if I only need a printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Super Great Printer for the price
Date:February 24, 2014
By CAKLO58
from Rancho Cucamonga CA
Printer functions like said, has all functions I want in a laser color printer, wireless connection and the auto 2 sided printing, fast prints, great color, quiet, great price. Very pleased with the overall performance of this printer. This is my second brother laser printer, they took over my hp laserjet and my samsung clp 315 laser color printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
fast, quiet
Date:February 24, 2014
By Daisey
from MidWest
Enjoy the wi fi printing without cords. Fast, does double sidings and looks nice! Having some problems finding a stand to fit it's size.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 9 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Little Duplexer, Ever!
Date:February 16, 2014
By dc828
from Two Rivers, WI
I was a purchaser of Hewlett-Packard for many years, but the cost of their toner cartridges are horrendous! When I purchased my first Brother HL-3170CDW, I was hooked! This printer is small and mighty! I recently purchased two more for others in my office. The price is right, the color is right and it prints on both sides without having to put the paper back in! LOVE this printer!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 10 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
less worry & trouble
Date:February 12, 2014
By kdvs
I don't print color very often but when I do I don't like surprises in print quality.
I really like the fact that I don't have to worry about ink drying out in the print head like with inkjet printer. And then having to wait while the cleaning utility runs before being able to print.
I also like the higher amount of pages per refill, over the ink cartridges.
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 11 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
It's the one for ME
Date:February 5, 2014
By ComptonHistorian
from Norwalk, Ca
I have a HL 2270 DWI use for most of my printing but I have a HL 3170 CDW for all my color printing and Photos It replaced my HL 4070 CDW that I passed on to my son for his work
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Color Printer
Date:February 2, 2014
By KoratKid
from Falls Church, Virginia
Unboxed the printer with absolute minimum amount of packing material - just took it out and set it on the desk. Two minutes to pull off the tape and shipping straps on the color toner cartridges. SIMPLE! Setup went perfectly smoothly and took only a couple of minutes. Sample page and my first trial page, a photo, came out in seconds. Also printed a page the second day when the printer was in 'deep sleep' and it came out in seconds. This printer is fast! The color is clean, clear and precise and did not smear. It looks just great!
This is my fourth Brother laser printer after 2 B&W laser printers (one 2140 still in use by my son) and a laser print/copy/scan/fax which is also on my home network.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 13 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Worked like a charm
Date:February 2, 2014
By Mainer
from Maine
I recently bought the HL-3170CDW digital printer. A long time ago, I bought another big name company's laser printer. It worked very well but it was expensive. Then I started out with Brother laser printers. They have always been less expensive than printers from other manufacturers but have worked as well or better. This time I bought the LED printer model. This was after researching LED versus Laser reviews. I found out that LED printers print as well as laser printers but are less reliant on moving mechanical parts (like the mirror in laser printers which both reflects and directs the laser beam in the process of getting pixels printed). I believe that electronic parts are more reliable than mechanical parts and that LED printers are going to be used more and more in the future. So I bought one from a manufacturer (Brother) that I have come to trust. It set up very easily. I have a home network that is both wireless and wired. I didn't have a spot close to an ethernet CAT5 cable, where I could place the printer. So I was hoping that the wireless option would work well. It did. I took a laptop to the location where the printer was located and connected to the printer via USB (like the instructions said). Luckily I had a printer-type USB cable handy (you can temporarily borrow one from another machine since you only need it for the install). I installed software from the DVD onto the laptop and the software told me when to plug in the USB cable. I chose the wireless network option and it finished the installation. After that, I went around to every computer on the network and used the DVD to install the printer software on each computer on the network, whether it was wired or wireless. Each time, the computer found the printer and was able to print to it. I haven't tried the printing from phones or other options. I'm happy to be able to print in color without messing around with ink bottle that dry up and get clogged when they are 3/4 full. I like this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 14 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:January 13, 2014
By Spade
from Grand Rapids, Mi.
This is a superb color laser printer. Printed material is clean and crisp. It responds quickly with good speed. The machine is easily maintained and changing ink cartridges is a cinch. Added to this, the price was very reasonable for such good quality.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 15 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Two Brother printers
Date:December 28, 2013
By WaterlooBoy
from Waterloo Iowa
My first Brother printer was a 2270DW. It works flawlessly. It worked so good I decided to get the 3170CDW. These printers are very well made. I am so glad to be rid of ink printers. It's nice to print something and not worry about how it's going to come out this time. I just filled mine with toner and I will be good for a long time Toner lasts forever for me. Bye Bye ink.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:December 5, 2013
By Donprinter1
Works okay for the use it is intended. Wanted a color laser printer to be shared. Meets our expectation.
Review 17 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
excellent printer
Date:November 30, 2013
By CityBarber
from NC
I compared multiple laser printers and cartridge replacement prices and this by far was the best for the price. Plus it already had a 5 star review. Love the printer and speed.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 18 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Purchase
Date:October 7, 2013
By permianp
from Odessa, TX
For less than the cost of buying a new drum for my old laserjet printer, I bought this unit.
It was easy to setup, and so far it's working great.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 19 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I Could Not Find A Better Color Laser Printer
Date:September 19, 2013
By Luckyles
from las vegas nevada
After careful research this printer was the best value and after using it for 6 months it has performed flawlessly. The support for it has been marvelous. Buy It!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 20 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Crisp printing
Date:September 11, 2013
By JJSmithereens
from California
I have had the HL-3170CDW for a week and I am very impressed. Very good printing, crisp and clean. I have enjoyed many Brother products because of their ease of use and reliability. I am sure this printer will follow suit.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 2 3 next>>