Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
9
83 of 99(84%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3170CDW
Review 1 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Impressive printer
Date:May 12, 2015
By yardjockey
from Pennsylvania
I graduated from a color dot matrix printer (Epson MX variant) to a color inkjet printer (HP 900 series) many years ago. I was impressed with the HP two-sided printing capability. But this Brother printer is a dream come true! I use this machine for correspondence, mainly. So it does not get hard use. The toner carts are still those that came with the machine. I like the quality of print. The speed in which this printer processes a two-sided document is awesome! The paper curls a bit, but, meh, I can live with that. Thanks for producing a great affordable and useful product!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excelent printer
Date:May 5, 2015
By rdk1
from WV
A very good printer works great to print on both sides of paper.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
What I need
Date:May 4, 2015
By june
from Thomasville, GA
The printer is fast and easy to use. The colors are true.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother Color Laser Printer
Date:April 27, 2015
By Genie
from Florida
I purchased this printer to replace my Brother HL-4040 CDN and have enjoyed using it. It is easy to install especially as a WIFI printer. It is fast and quiet. My only complaint as a home printer is the need to select 'use reprint' each time for each document. I understand the need for security, but wish there was a default selection for this option.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
NO MORE MESSY INK
Date:April 21, 2015
By DaveQ
from Phoenix, AZ
Very nice not having to "realign" the heads, worry about ink drying out or searching for the cheapest ink.
This printer starts at a moments notice, even when in a deep sleep, and prints high quality images.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother Lase Printer
Date:April 18, 2015
By rdg1
from Wilmington, DE
This is a color laser printer that provides exceptional quality printing. I can find on criticism of the printer; however it does get irritating you buy a product and it comes with only a minimal amount of toner or ink. Aside from that, the printer was a great value an, so far, has worked with no problems.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exceeded expectations for color laser
Date:March 25, 2015
By DMS4DOI
from Ann Arbor, MI
Th HL-3170CDW has exceeded our expectations for color laser printing, including photographic material. It is also economical to use instead of a B/W printer for all of our work. It has raised us to a higher level while not costing more than a small business can afford. When we did have a problem, after a year of use, Brother support was swift and gracious. I continue to recommend Brother for printers to all of my contacts
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good product
Date:March 24, 2015
By garryl
from Iowa
First home laser printer. Like the low power standby mode. Good quality product. So much better than an ink jet. No more smears of ink. Really like the front & back printing capability, saves paper and file space. Color is accurate. Good response time to printing request to the time the pages are in the output tray. Big paper capacity. Excellent phone support, fast, knowledgeable, patient and friendly. The best I have ever experienced. My first Brother product and will definitely consider Brother next time I need anything they make.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 9 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Affordable Color Printer
Date:March 23, 2015
By miyagitm
from Moreno Valley, CA
I have previously owned a Brother Mono Laser Printer but decided to upgrade to color. My previous printer a 2270DW has been an excellent printer and my family will probably enjoy it for many more years to come. The 3170CDW has exceeded my expectation and I am still experimenting with the various modes.
The printing is clear and concise and I am very happy with it's operation.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother HL-3170CDW
Date:March 23, 2015
By Oket12
from Tampa, FL
I think this is a great value, I know there are some who say the color isn't as sharp as others but for every day home use, it's a winner! I've found Brother Laser printers to be extremely reliable and highly recommend them.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 11 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Decision I've Made This Year
Date:March 22, 2015
By JHD16
from Philadelphia,PA
I had been relying on an old model HP Laserjet black and white printer for so long now, that the opportunity to upgrade to the Brother seemed impossible. Until recently. I love the new Brother in my office. And with wireless, I can safely print from anywhere in our building.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great!
Date:February 17, 2015
By DKTK
from Pittsburgh, PA
Works perfect. Used to be an HP guy. I think you get more for your money with Brother.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:December 10, 2014
By Donnf
from Georgia
The HL-3170CDW is an excellent printer, performance wise. If it has any negatives it is the cost of the toner cartridges. They are a little pricy, but they do make excellent printed documents.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Forget those color inkjet (aka ink-suckers)
Date:October 19, 2014
By MeMeMom
from Franklin, TN
I am so glad I went with this product. I got tired of the less-than-professional looking color prints on multiple inkjet printers I have tried. This one exactly fills the bill---and no more worrying about dried up cartridges. Color is vibrant, crisp, and the printer has a small footprint making is perfect for my home office. Speed is more than adequate. Setup was a breeze. Yes, you may pay more initially for replacement ink when needed, but it lasts SO MUCH LONGER and nothing is wasted. I also own a Brother 8890DW, which has been a workhorse for many years without a single problem. This is why I went with Brother again and have not been disappointed. Very, very happy with my purchase.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 15 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Band for the Buck
Date:August 13, 2014
By VideoPro
from Baltimore, MD
I bought this Brother color laser printer after finally being fed up with my older inkjet printer taking too long, using too much ink and dealing with paper jams. I did some research and found that for the price, this printer fit my needs, and more. I use it mostly for printing DVD case labels, which I do a lot of. It is fast and prints great color labels. I am not using it to print my photos (I am keeping my inkjet for that) but for everything else, it is great. Only complaint is that since I use A4 paper for the labels, the plastic paper stopper on top really does not give enough room for this longer paper. I leave it down and let the labels fall onto the table. Also, the 4 ink cartridges it came with did not not last as long as I thought they would and the replacement ink is not cheap but it is easy to replace. You just have to use common sense and do not print a lot of deep, dark colors for your labels if you want to save on ink. It has a great menu system which is easy to navigate. For instance, I recently was able to figure out how much ink is available for each of the 4 toner cartridges via the menu system, without having to print 3 pages of the Print Settings any more. It seems to be built solid and I expect it to give me many years of great service.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great for the Price
Date:August 12, 2014
By Ivor
from Bay City, MI
For a color laser printer you can not beat the price and the quality of printed material when using a decent paper for the job involved. I use this on a home network between 2 desktops, a laptop and one tablet.. No problem.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works Great
Date:July 27, 2014
By JLee
I bought this machine & it has worked great. I have not had any problems or complaints about this printer.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 18 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Purchase, Great Price, Just love it.
Date:July 26, 2014
By FEWray
from Sunrise, Florida
I was looking for a color printer to replace my other B&W Brothers' Laser printer. Had to give it up to my daughter heading for college. I fell in love with Brother Printers, so had to get another one, Great Products. I then saw this model at a great price and did not hesitate to purchase. This has a larger foot print, but still smaller than lots of the other color printer out there and has every thing you will need for a home office. Initial setup of the wireless printing can be tricky, but brother has information on their WEB site that will help you with that, not in the manual.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Worth the money
Date:July 5, 2014
By PeteL
from CT
I have been waiting for a reasonable color laser printer and now have found one. This machine prints in great color and the double sided is a bonus. The only thing negative I have to say is that I have a chomebook and thought the wireless connection would allowed it to print, but it won't I still have to print using the cloud.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Our new Laser Color printer
Date:June 30, 2014
By M87inc
from Medinah, IL
We have in the past used ink jet printers for our students graduation certificates. The HL-3170CDW we purchased, delivers a 50% or more, sharper image for our students. We also have seen much less laser powder use compared to our old HP printer. We have owned the Brother printer for about 3 months and so far we are pleased with the quality of our printing our Photoshop images, and the cost of our printing per page.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>