Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
49 of 57(86%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3170CDW
Review 1 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Worth the money
Date:July 5, 2014
By PeteL
from CT
I have been waiting for a reasonable color laser printer and now have found one. This machine prints in great color and the double sided is a bonus. The only thing negative I have to say is that I have a chomebook and thought the wireless connection would allowed it to print, but it won't I still have to print using the cloud.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Our new Laser Color printer
Date:June 30, 2014
By M87inc
from Medinah, IL
We have in the past used ink jet printers for our students graduation certificates. The HL-3170CDW we purchased, delivers a 50% or more, sharper image for our students. We also have seen much less laser powder use compared to our old HP printer. We have owned the Brother printer for about 3 months and so far we are pleased with the quality of our printing our Photoshop images, and the cost of our printing per page.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Welcome upgrade
Date:June 28, 2014
By fStop
from Pennington, NJ
After using a competitive color laser printer fpr 7 years, I needed to upgrade. Much to my surprise, not only was the size and the price about half of what my old unit was, but the features had been improved. Who doesn't want to get more for less? And the quality is wonderful--good job!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 4 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:June 27, 2014
By DirtDoctor
from KY
I have only used it a dew days but everything I have printed is very good.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 5 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I needed
Date:June 24, 2014
By Skyline
from Spokane, WA
I have looked at several color Laser printers and this one is the best of the lot. Great interface, easy to set up, and just works. Simply put the deep sleep feature is great, the simplicity of printing and cloud printing just worked with this product.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 6 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Really love it
Date:May 28, 2014
By carversm
from Prescott, AZ
Not the fastest printer but then I did not need speed and it duplexes and the colors are good and I REALLY like it
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good copier
Date:May 25, 2014
By officefrau
from fort washington pa
Everything is good about this copier. I especially like the duplex. Only drawback is the on/off button. Really need to push it and do not know if it worked.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Purchase
Date:May 15, 2014
By Samy
from Southaven, MS
The church had a desk top multi purpose printer. It was old and not dependable. I was familiar with Brother products and decided to try the color laserprinter. It has been a good purchase and the documents printed are very professional looking and the color is perfect. I would highly recommend it to anyone needing a good printer. The printer is also used to print checks. I feel more secure printing checks on the brother than a inkjet printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 9 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice Printer
Date:April 25, 2014
By bgravit
from Turner, ME
Bought this to replace my old Brother Laser Printer which was around 10 years old and beginning to show its age. It still worked fine, but was black and white only.
Setup was a little difficult to understand for wireless printing, but I can attribute that more to my not understanding exactly what I was doing rather than the equipment or literature. Got my girlfriend's laptop connected up for wireless printing and she just loves it. :)
Very happy with the quality of print and even though it is not supposedly a photo quality printer It does a great job for me. I have used it to print pictures of various things...like the mounting hole inside a front spindle assembly for the ABS sensor on a 94 Camry and was very impressed with the fine detail the printer showed. If I want a higher quality picture I will take a SD card into a store and print one.
I like the printers ability to print on both sides of the paper as well. Saves paper and time. I just have to remember to select the option when the print window appears.
Unlike a inkjet printer I do not have to worry about the ink drying up on me, so it is always ready to go.
Very happy with this purchase.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:April 21, 2014
By gimmama
from union city, tennessee
I have only had the brother printer for a short time but I am very pleased with it thus far.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 11 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
DA BEST I EVA HAD
Date:March 14, 2014
By UDABEST
from West Palm Beach, FL
This is the fastest, most reliable, and easiest wi-fi printer I have ever owned. Can't say more for a printer so I will leave it at that.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 12 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-3170CDW
Date:March 14, 2014
By MalcolmZ
from Fayetteville, AR
This printer performs excellently, a bargain for what we paid. Installation was very simple and it worked immediately.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
hl3170cdw
Date:March 13, 2014
By eddsr1
from Woodbury, NJ
This printer works really well, it has all of the features a home or small office should need. The printing is very sharp, the paper trayis large enough, the duplex printing works nicely and the speed is great.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 14 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good printer/terrible with Win 8
Date:March 10, 2014
By GreyBeard
from Ohio
I have several Brother printers and they all have problems working with windows 8. Brother blames the computer manufacturer and windows and in return they all blame Brother. I am tired of going back and forth trying to get everything working on my windows 8 computer. All of my Brother printers work great on my win 7 computers but unfortunately my main computer that I use the most if win 8. Brother needs to find a fix for this problem so they can service their customers.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Product
Date:March 10, 2014
By junkperson
from Near Dallas Texas
This printers is working decently. It was easy to set up and had it working in a few minutes. only comment might look at a multi function machine that would also copy, vs only a printers. This is working well and would consider purchasing again if I only need a printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 16 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Super Great Printer for the price
Date:February 24, 2014
By CAKLO58
from Rancho Cucamonga CA
Printer functions like said, has all functions I want in a laser color printer, wireless connection and the auto 2 sided printing, fast prints, great color, quiet, great price. Very pleased with the overall performance of this printer. This is my second brother laser printer, they took over my hp laserjet and my samsung clp 315 laser color printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
fast, quiet
Date:February 24, 2014
By Daisey
from MidWest
Enjoy the wi fi printing without cords. Fast, does double sidings and looks nice! Having some problems finding a stand to fit it's size.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 18 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Little Duplexer, Ever!
Date:February 16, 2014
By dc828
from Two Rivers, WI
I was a purchaser of Hewlett-Packard for many years, but the cost of their toner cartridges are horrendous! When I purchased my first Brother HL-3170CDW, I was hooked! This printer is small and mighty! I recently purchased two more for others in my office. The price is right, the color is right and it prints on both sides without having to put the paper back in! LOVE this printer!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 19 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
less worry & trouble
Date:February 12, 2014
By kdvs
I don't print color very often but when I do I don't like surprises in print quality.
I really like the fact that I don't have to worry about ink drying out in the print head like with inkjet printer. And then having to wait while the cleaning utility runs before being able to print.
I also like the higher amount of pages per refill, over the ink cartridges.
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 20 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
It's the one for ME
Date:February 5, 2014
By ComptonHistorian
from Norwalk, Ca
I have a HL 2270 DWI use for most of my printing but I have a HL 3170 CDW for all my color printing and Photos It replaced my HL 4070 CDW that I passed on to my son for his work
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 2 3 next>>