Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.128 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (133 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
39
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
12
109 of 133(82%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3170CDW
Review 1 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Does *everything* we need, well
Date:July 29, 2015
By LarryW
from San Jose, CA
Love this printer.
It does absolutely *everything* we need (except print high-quality photos, for which we keep a dedicated photo printer). Laser? check. Color? check. Duplex? check. Inexpensive? Compared to competition, yes.
I also really appreciate that the software driver includes a checkbox for "Black & White", which I use for printouts that don't require color (so don't waste color toner).
This printer replaced a Dell color laser printer, with which I was NOT happy. It didn't do duplex, didn't have a B&W option, and after owning it for 6 months or so started making a horrible clatter and stopped working. Poor quality.
We have owned 5 Brother (B&W) laser printers over the last approx 12 years, and EVERY SINGLE ONE of them is still working!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 2 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good value
Date:July 27, 2015
By Potter
from Northwest
I have used this printer as my main printer for about two months replacing an older HP multifunction printer. I am very happy with the speed, quality and economy of using this printer. I am glad I purchased it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:July 21, 2015
By chenkelm
from Virginia
I really like this printer. I love that I can print wirelessly, it is incredibly convenient to print from the laptop or phone. It prints fast and has good quality. I don't print fancy documents, so I cant say for certain that type of quality, but for all of my needs it has done really well.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good overall printer
Date:July 20, 2015
By Turkeycreekcreations
So far, so good. Purchased to replace Kodak printer that kept having jamming issues. Looking forward to not having to buy ink so often.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT Printer!
Date:July 9, 2015
By PUNCHCARDOPERATOR
from Florida
Having first become aware of this printer at my employer's workstation, I found it to be a very good solution for a cheaply made & defective H-P inkjet printer. The interesting thing was that the H-P unit was advertised as an office quality unit, NOT a home quality one. For all the printing needs, both colour & B&W, this BROTHER printer performed quite well, even on lengthy print runs. And, since a couple of PCs under my control at the office were portable laptops, the WiFi connections to these devices & the BROTHER printer worked WITHOUT a hitch. I can say that the installation of the software in all 3 PCs went smoothly, WITHOUT interruption & to completion. Based on this experience, when it was time to purchase a printer for my personal home use, I purchased the same model, and have been likewise very well pleased.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 6 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MANAGER
Date:June 30, 2015
By PAMS
from MILFORD, DE
THIS IS A FANTASTIC PRINTER. I AM SO PLEASED TO HAVE PURCHASED. FEATURES ARE EXACTLY WHAT THEY SAID
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:June 28, 2015
By CommunityBuilder
from Fayetteville, NY
Easy to set up... working without any flaws. Just what I expected from my newest Brother Printer. I now have three, two of them are my main printers and one is a back up (which I have had for better than 9 years and it still works perfectly).
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 8 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer by far
Date:June 22, 2015
By HappyGirl7
from Pasadena, CA
Prints uniformly high quality copies at a good speed; tech support from Brother is excellent as well.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent printer.
Date:June 18, 2015
By Willy
I had to purchase a replacement network printer when my present printer died. I purchased this HL-3170CDW not knowing what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. Very easy to interface to Linux. The performance is outstanding with very good color rendition and fast printing. By the time I walk to the printer it is already completed. The price is very reasonable for a printer of this quality.
Highly recommended!!
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Finally a affordable quality Color Printer
Date:June 13, 2015
By Dan2457
from Portland, or
The 3170 is Business grade printer and at good price and produces quality prints in color and B/W, a nice thing is that it comes with a enough startup toner, that your not buying toner the day after you buy the printer, I'm a technician for a competing company and for the price it can't be beat
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy set up and reliable
Date:June 11, 2015
By KenN
from Rochester, NY
Purchased this printer to have color capability at home. The ability to duplex was a requirement. The wireless capability is a plus and I figured it would be convenient but was a little hesitant at adding this to my home wi-if network as I expected a cumbersome setup. Nothing could be further from the truth. The setup was amazingly simp,e and I now print from both my wired PC as well as my iPad to the HL-3170CDW. This is a great value.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Review HL-3170CDW
Date:June 10, 2015
By ajflynn
I am very pleased with my Brothers HL-3170CDW Printer. It was an excellent purchase and it has met all my copying needs.
Review 13 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Laser Printer
Date:June 8, 2015
By Shaun
from Honolulu, Hawaii
This printer is amazing! Duplex printing, and in color, is simply tremendous. I've printed my digital texts and full color brochures without difficulty. It's simply great! Thank you, Brother!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 14 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A worthy purchase
Date:June 8, 2015
By SysAdmin
from Michigan
I use Brother products at my office daily, we have machines that are upwards of 10 years old still going strong, so I figured looking at a color laser for home was a good idea. Our ink-jet (name brand) gets used very little and the cost of replacement cartridges plus my time to constantly try to keep it working was far greater than the cost of this machine which I can leave sit for months and not worry about drying up. It does not have the photo-print quality of the name brand ink jet but that was not the reason to purchase, I purchased for reliability and it delivers.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Perfect for my Needs
Date:June 7, 2015
By Yvette
from Albuquerque, NM
I am a university student, and this printer is exactly what I need it to be. The internal duplexing reduces my paper use, and I love that I can print color. It warms up and prints fast enough for me, even though my printing is sporadic. So far, it has been flawless. The color is not art quality, but good given that that's not what this printer is for. (I have high standards!)
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:May 27, 2015
By MiltonR
from Concord, California
Best buy on the market for its quality. It's fast and satisfies all my basic color printing needs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Cool Color Laser Printer
Date:May 25, 2015
By bell444
from Syracuse, NY
This printer has done everything asked of it with smoothness and ease. The color on photos pop and the B&W is sharp and clear.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Impressive printer
Date:May 12, 2015
By yardjockey
from Pennsylvania
I graduated from a color dot matrix printer (Epson MX variant) to a color inkjet printer (HP 900 series) many years ago. I was impressed with the HP two-sided printing capability. But this Brother printer is a dream come true! I use this machine for correspondence, mainly. So it does not get hard use. The toner carts are still those that came with the machine. I like the quality of print. The speed in which this printer processes a two-sided document is awesome! The paper curls a bit, but, meh, I can live with that. Thanks for producing a great affordable and useful product!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excelent printer
Date:May 5, 2015
By rdk1
from WV
A very good printer works great to print on both sides of paper.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
What I need
Date:May 4, 2015
By june
from Thomasville, GA
The printer is fast and easy to use. The colors are true.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>