Product Reviews

Brother HL-3070CW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.836 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
7
45 of 61(74%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3070CW
Review 1 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Most Reliable printer ever is a Brothers HL-3070CW
Date:August 25, 2013
By jay611
from Tamarac,FLorida
I find that it is very professional looking form of printing and that it is easy to use and also get started even if it is your time purchase of a printer it has easy instruction of how to use it and get most out of your personal printing at home or if it was to be use for work places that has offices in their work place at where they are employed at .
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good value and Great Color
Date:August 7, 2013
By Bigdog
from Fort Worth. TX
This is my second Brother Laser color printer. It was priced right and has excellent color print outs. The speed of the printing is fast. Over all it is an excellent value.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 3 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product
Date:April 29, 2013
By Locutus
from Welch, MN
Great Product, I am really happy with my choice. I would recommend this printer
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Choice
Date:December 24, 2012
By Jonattorneyatlaw
from Sacramento, CA
The Brother HL3070CW is one of the most incredible pieces of technology I have ever purchased or even had in my home. The wireless is simple and allows me to print from the living room, bedroom, or anywhere else. The print quality is superb. This printer makes everything I do look great and it's incredibly easy to use.
If you are replacing the tonor, make sure not to purchase drums--this is just the piece that holds the tonor cartridge. I made this mistake, but it's nothing bad on the printer!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT Printer!!!
Date:January 24, 2012
By Portuguee
from Riverside, CA
Great printer...wireless networking works great! I have 1 Windows PC, two Linux laptops and two Macs...ALL printing wirelessly! Speed is crazy fast with superb color.
It is a wee bit louder than an inkjet but only when printing. Once a print job is done...it goes back to being quiet.
Note: Wireless printing does not mean direct pc to printer printing, you must have a network setup for the printer to connect to.
Also, OSX Lion will downlaod and install the drivers automatically, no cd required, true plug and play!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works the way I feel it should
Date:October 16, 2011
By dolphlyn
from Philadelphia Pa
After owning several other brands This one works the way I feel a wireless should My last one by samsung would constantly loose my settings. recently moved this to a new room and it worked right off the bat Running windows 7 and have a cisco plus router So I am very pleased.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:October 16, 2011
By Phil13
from McDonough, GA
Bought this to replace ink jets that were constantly drying up and clogging. With this the whole household can print to one printer and its a laser so worry about the ink drying up. Seamless easy setup all my computers found printer and that was it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great color laser!
Date:October 8, 2011
By garfy2008
from Hawaii
This is only my second color laser, but it's the best! The speed and quality of the color prints are superb and second to none in this price range! The color printouts are almost as fast as the B&W printouts (a FAR CRY better than my old Magicolor 2300 which was SLOOOOOW). Setup was no problem and all my computers recognize it seconds after turning it on.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-3070C
Date:October 7, 2011
By John3070CW
from Northern California
Purchased this product ~ 4 weeks ago. Installation was simple (both Mac and PC). Connecting to my local area network was simple as well (used wired connection, so only involved plugging in the cable).
Prints fast, and the colors look great on documents. I have looked for photo paper for laser, but so far have not found anything that come close to inkjet. For me this is not a problem, since most of my photos are digital, and if I do need a print costco, CVE, etc... are just around the corner. I do think the toner is expensive, but I am not a high volume user, so for me the speed and simplicity are worth the cost.
I also own a Brother MFC-7840W, and I am very happy with that device as well.
Good reliable products.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good and Basic
Date:September 28, 2011
By chrispytater
from Memphis, TN
Small footprint and compact design make this a great addition to our office. We only needed some light duty color printing every now and then so this filled the need nicely. Print quality is very good and network set-up is easy.
We have four total Brother office machines with no complaints and would not hesitate to buy another.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 11 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:August 16, 2011
By Dlynch
from Georgia
Great printer,very easy to set up wireless networking. Set up with a mac, windows vista and windows 7.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Color Printer
Date:August 14, 2011
By BobbyG
from Orlando, FL
This printer offers quick quality color printing at an affordable price. The replacement toner is reasonably priced and does over 2,000 pages. A super printer!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
works great
Date:August 6, 2011
By seafood
from Navarre, Florida
For a home or small business computer this is a great color printer. I have printed calling cards, stationary on rag paper, a 800 copy merged mail letter, print numerous e-mails and photos received by email, excel files using colored highlights. It is compact and doesn't take a lot of table space.. Toner is easy to change, I haven't had a paper jam. I have had a B&W Brother printer for three years and it still works fine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fine Color Laser Printer
Date:July 16, 2011
By napabob
from Napa, CA
Brother does some things better than HP such as much easier to connect wired or wireless to a router. Using this printer for two months connected to four computers and have never had a problem with wake up followed by instant print. Even does multiple computer requests with ease.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-3070CW
Date:November 15, 2010
By JimP
from Windham, ME
Excellent purchase. Easy to set up (including wireless connections for two iMacs), outstanding printing and at a good price.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Finally! Why didn't I do this sooner?
Date:November 8, 2010
By JAC4
from Maryland
Purchased a week ago, this 3070-CW performs beautifully and it is replacing a series of competitor-brand inkjet printers, which were exasperating me with less-than-crisp printing, flimsy plastic parts, and frequent incidents of pulling in multiple sheets of paper at a time, such as blank checks, for a print job. No more.
The printer was excellently packed, it sets up cleanly in 20 minutes and the supplied CD clearly and effortlessly walks one through the straight-forward set-up process. Having no network here, I opted for the USB interface cable connection type in lieu of the wired network type. Easier and quicker maybe, but intuitive and flawless nevertheless.
Printed text is clean and crisp, which is all I wanted in life, colors are vibrant and beyond my expectations, and the first-time-to-print speed amply exceeds the specs. (Who knew? My sheets shoot out in three seconds.) While not exactly noisy at all, the unit becomes even quieter, like you wouldn't even know it is there, once a fan in the rear right shuts down. Then, it just sits there silently. So whether in a home-office or office setting, no one could claim that it is noisy or distracting.
I am still on the starter toner cartridges, using them sparingly and holding my breath to see how long they hold out, and am somewhat apprehensive about the cost of any replacement toner cartridges on the market today, but note that, without a doubt, Brother's are notably less expensive than, say, those of a major competitor. A deciding factor for me.
I researched color laser printers for a month and ultimately settled on the Brother 3070-CW or 4150-CDN for my professional, one-man-shop needs. I've just completed a second client's report packet, with extensive financials and color materials, and am now, for once, proud to place my product on the table for anyone to see.
I heartily recommend this unit to anyone needing general home and business color printing needs. It's a workhorse and I'm thrilled with it so far.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy Setup and works great for the price
Date:October 23, 2010
By NFNJR
I used the network cable setup and had no problems with Windows 7 32 bit. Printer starts up fast and prints well.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good experience
Date:October 14, 2010
By Douglas
from Rhode Island
After years of ink jets and the startling costs of frequent replacement cartridges, I switched to the Brother digital colour printer. It's too soon to know how long the current cartridges will last, but so far I am pleased with the speed and quality of the printing. It's bigger and heavier than the usual ink jet printers, but so far so good.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good, economincal color laser
Date:October 13, 2010
By thefab4u2
from Saint John, IN
Overall, this color laser is pretty decent for the price. Toner cartridges don't cost an arm and a leg to purchase. Print time is really decent, copies come out clear and clean. Printer goes back to "sleep" rather quickly, which for me is great! When it sleeps, it is using very minimal electricity. Set up was pretty straight forward - as long as you follow the directions and don't do things before they tell you to. I had no problem installing this printer on my Windows Vista operating system -- everything went very smooth. Only negative comment I can make is that when it prints out the document, the pages do tend to curl up a bit - I have just learned to turn them face down after they are done printing.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-3070CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Happy with purchase!
Date:October 13, 2010
By Deliuta
I love this printer. I wanted to buy a laser printer to save money by not wasting it on inkjet cartridges.
The set up was decent. I use the initial and preferable set up with the cable, which was a small hassle to find one laying around, ALTHOUGH that set up is NOT required. I've connected all of the family's laptops: Mac and PC and home computer to it. Works very fast. I'm very happy with the print out quality! I usually set it on normal pixel resolution and Toner Save Mode because I print out many images for studying. But, if I want a high resolution, I'm happy with that too.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>