Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-2280DW

Versatile Laser Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.264 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (167 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
53
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
6
146 of 167(87%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-2280DW
Review 1 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good product
Date:April 15, 2014
By packstore
from Troy, Michigan
Have used this machine for about a month now and am very pleased with the quality and performance of the printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it!
Date:March 10, 2014
By shey1961
from california
I am very pleased with my purchase. It does everything I need it to do and more. Easy set up and easy to use. Great customer service and I like that the company sends me updates on product sales. Thanks!!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works like a champ
Date:February 2, 2014
By dpump
from Greensboro, NC
My wife and I have owned 4 Brother printers over the past few years. She only upgraded hers to go wireless. I gave my older one to her mother and purchased the HL-2280DW on Black Friday so I could scan and print. I don't use my printer a lot, my wife uses her for her work. We have never had any problems with any of our Brother printers and just recommended the 2280 to a friend who needs a printer for her work.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 4 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:January 30, 2014
By suri
from south kingstown, RI
This printer was very easy to set up for wireless use. It prints quietly, quickly and clearly. I would definitely purchase this printer again and highly recommend it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 5 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy Setup
Date:January 16, 2014
By seadawg
from Myrtle Beach,NC
I am a novice at using laser printers. The instructions both written and on the set up disc were straight forward easy to comprehend. For personal use it is very fast, clear and professional looking lettering. Blends in with my wireless touch screen desk top. Plus low cost to operate. Excellent Buy!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-2280DW Best Printer Yet!
Date:November 17, 2013
By JollyProfessor
from Long Island NY
After owning a Brother HL-2270DW for over a year without a single problem our ten year old Canon Laser bit the dust. We decided to buy a Brother HL-2280DW to replace the Canon. The printer installed quickly without any problems at all and has worked flawlessly since. The toner cartridges available on the internet work great and on a per page basis this printer can't be beat!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
More than I was looking for
Date:November 6, 2013
By Brisnana
from Work from home
I needed to replace an older Samsung printer that was smearing. I was actually looking for a color wireles laser when I came across this one on sale. This printer has more usable features than I expected for the sale price. True it is not a color laser, but upon evaluating my previous usage I realized that for the few times that I do need color it was cheaper to take it to a copy center. The ability to make copies plus the duplex feature have been a welcome benefit. For me, brother will be the way to to in the future.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Solid Printer
Date:October 16, 2013
By nc000777
from Phoenix , AZ
Cartridges are not lasting as long as I think they should. I have the savings on.
Still have not got scan set up.
Management program for printer "Control" will not work.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 9 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-228ODW
Date:October 8, 2013
By beeble
from Chester, Id
This is a great printer. It is easy to use. It is fast.
I have not used the wireless as I don't really need it.
So I don't know how that is.
Works great as a straight copier and copying off my computer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 10 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Value
Date:October 8, 2013
By GaryPSU
from Marlton, NJ
Works well. Excellent printing. Wireless convenience.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 11 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Satisfied
Date:September 20, 2013
By InIA
from Iowa
Absolutely pleased with this printer. Scan and print quality is great. Cannot scan multiple-page documents but there are free programs that can merge your PDF's if you are in a pinch. Print quality is great and wireless setup was fast and easy. Software takes tome time to install. I recommend uninstalling the third-party PaperPort software after setup is complete unless you like being bombed with ads.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-2280DW
Date:August 25, 2013
By Ashollennu
from McKinney, TX
I like it a lot. Duplex printing saves on paper usage and saves trees. Very quiet. Fast starting. Scans in color even though it only prints black & white. Cost is very affordable compared to the competition.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 13 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:August 23, 2013
By Derfie
I traded this printer in 'cause I wanted a color printer. When I saw color scanner on the box before buying it, I assumed color print as well.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great
Date:August 17, 2013
By elderltc
from West Virginia
easy to set up. fast geat print quality.economical
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 15 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:August 13, 2013
By cmo85249
from Chandler, AZ
I was replacing a broken color printer. Since I hardly ever print anything in color and I was tired of replacing inkjet cartridges so I thought I'd try an inexpensive laser. This Brother printer is a great replacement, so great in fact that I bought another one for our NY home. They are fast-printing, scanning, and copying...
Hopefully they will last a long while and not require toner often.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Review 16 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Complete Satisfaction
Date:August 6, 2013
By Grannie
from Massapequa, NY
This is my second Brother. The first one lasted for years and years. I only gave it up because it was no longer compatible with my new PC. A friend is now using it with his PC which is a little older than my new one. I hope this new one will service me as long.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent so far
Date:July 22, 2013
By Blackie
from Savannah, GA
I purchased my Brother 2280 four months ago, I am very happy with it! It was very easy to setup for wireless networking with my three PCs. I bought this laser to replace a color HP laser that was costing a fortune in replacement of toner. I am very happy to return to monochrome for my default printer and cost of Brother replacement toner is reasonable. I've own numerous HP laser, so far the Brother leave them in dust for operation cost and ease of use! I still use an HP Photo jet for color printing, which I intend to replace with a Brother color/photo Inkject in future, that how much I like this laser and what I think of their products.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 18 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Workhorse Printer
Date:July 21, 2013
By DeeNLA
from Los Angeles, CA
I bought this printer to replace an Ink Jet that was killing me with ink costs. Mostly needed black and white so got this Laser printer. It is great! My daughter used it for all of her class work at college (multiple term papers) and the ink lasts a long time. We have a back up ink jet for any color needs but doesn't get a lot of use now. Great purchase!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:June 14, 2013
By Jotter
from Toledo, Ohio
Quality performance and functionality for a good price
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 20 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer ever
Date:March 27, 2013
By T3xasgal
from Colorado Springs, CO
Easy to setup, easy to use. be sure to "read" the setup guide... i tried to do it myself and messed it up. But it's a great product.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>