Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-2270DW

Compact Laser Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (640 reviews)
5 stars
437
4 stars
127
3 stars
26
2 stars
23
1 star
27
570 of 640(89%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-2270DW
Review 21 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good printer
Date:April 12, 2014
By Moss
from Plano, TX
Very good printer. Works very well on wifi. I was able to unpack and install it myself easily. The paper trays is also good and holds enough papers.
Very happy with the purchase.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 22 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love my brother
Date:April 8, 2014
By peterg
from baltimore Md.
The only complaint i have is the starter toner cartridge i only got 110 pages before i got toner low
messages the reviews i read before said the norm is 1200 so you can imagine my disappointment when tax time i had to go buy a refill so soon i went laser because i was fed up with ink jet
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 23 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT printer!
Date:March 11, 2014
By review
from Henderson, NV
This is a wonderful little printer. Price was good. Print quality is excellent, WiFi works well.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 24 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding value
Date:March 9, 2014
By jbbwv
from New Martinsville, WV
The HL-2270DW is a work horse. Easy to maintain and toner is cheaper than ink. Love this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 25 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love it.
Date:February 20, 2014
By PourQuoiPas
from RI
We remodeled our office and went to a clean desktop including the new MAC all in one computer. There was no place for a printer in this new sterile environment so I installed this in a cabinet draw and it functions faultlessly in a wireless environment.
Refilling paper is the only difficult operation but this printer holds enough for months the way we use the printer.
Install was a snap and all went well.
PQP
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 26 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Compact Unit
Date:February 19, 2014
By Amazonian
from NY
Takes minimal foot print and print speed is very fast, including duplex printing. Wish the paper tray was larger. Only problem was wireless connection to the Mac, however, Brother's excellent telephone support got me up and running in less than 10 minutes. PC wireless connection was simple, no tech support needed here. Replacement toner cartridge is reasonably priced. Recommend for home, home office and dorms.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 27 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good, with a caveat: InDesign Oddity
Date:February 18, 2014
By Momo
from Berkeley, CA
Got this unit to replace 2 HP printers and I will never, ever go back. I really like this machine! The imaging is good and the duplexing (double siding) works reliably (unlike the HPs), though is not perfectly centered (maybe 1/32 off).
While this is a plastic printer, it is well-manufactured and I have never experienced a jam. Works well with envelopes too. After years with finicky printers, I literally smile at this one.
As you may know, printers handle vectors and bitmaps differently. I got this printer partially for printing books and booklets. I know, atypical use. When I print from standard word processors (Apple's Pages–the Microsoft Word of the Mac universe, Bean, Text Edit, etc.) the text is printed as vectors: perfectly crisp. But for some reason the default compile for InDesign documents is as a bitmap: the text is not crisp but particled.
It is possible to change a setting in the print dialog menus to indicate a document that is mostly text rather than graphics, but I still have not found the text output from InDesign (which is industry standard for books and magazines) to be as sharp as the text from lowly word processors.
Seems to be the same issue with PDFs, but I cannot state that universally.
I am not sure if this is Adobe's issue or Brother's issue, but it has me considering whether or not to relayout a whole series of books in Pages just to be able to use this printer. I like this printer that much! Quality is great, and for half the cost of prints at the copy shop.
I have not yet exhausted the demo toner, so cannot speak to longevity.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 28 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:February 9, 2014
By Riku
from Ferndale, MI
Great printer. Like double sided printer with no need to reinsert paper to print second side, unlike older Brother HL-1440.
Toner saver mode adequate for most printing, especially text.
Why not provide instructions to extend cartridge life of cartridge that comes with-found on internet.? Plan to get high volume cartridge soon.
Have not set up wireless yet. Plan to use ethernet connection on one PC, and wireless on other. Not sure yet whether both can have files waiting to be printed at same time. I know you can't do on same PC.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 29 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best replacement for another Brothers product
Date:January 28, 2014
By Anonymous
from Bostwick, FL
This printer replaced a non-working brothers printer
HL-2140 which no longer functions and is dead weight. I use the HL-2270DW in the wireless mode since the printer is stationed 10 feet away from my computer. It functions as advertised and was a good replacement printer for my other Brother. Since I have to print full pages and I use the duplex option to save paper. This printer is the best so far of the Brothers Printer I have tried.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 30 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:January 17, 2014
By MyFirstBrother
from Gold River, CA
1st time Brother customer! I purchased this printer because it was rated well, printed fast, the cost of ink/toner is much more reasonable than inkjets, and it is small and lightweight. I couldn't be happier. In a hurry, I quickly set it up initially as a local printer connected by usb cable. When I had more time, I set it up wirelessly. Not a single problem. Instructions were clearly written. Thank you. Hopefully it will continue to perform carefree.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Review 31 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer!!!
Date:January 16, 2014
By DrFreud
from Prescott/Phoenix, AZ
this tis the 3rd Brother laser printer I have purchased. I have one at home, one at the office and one at my other office in Phx. These are the best. all you do is add toner when necessary. I have had no problems at all with this printer. I prints very professional looking reports. the wireless feature is great. I can be in the other room on my lap top and print to it without any hitches. I does not do color but then again I only use it for reports and business work so color is not necessary. I would have no other printer and I have had many over the years. the price is better than you will find for any decent printer. I got mine through Amazon and I 100% recommend this printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 32 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
My second Brother
Date:January 15, 2014
By kgwhite
from Cuero, TX
I bought my first Brother laser printer about 5 years ago. Loved how well it printed and how I only had to purchase toner about once a year. Much better for printing documents than an inkjet printer. It was also wireless but did not duplex. Bought this one because I wanted the duplex feature. My old one is still working great. Passed it down to my daughter. Love this printer. Easy to connect wireless and duplex works great. Would highly recommend.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 33 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love my HL-2270DW Compact Laser Printer
Date:January 12, 2014
By HppyCustomer
We had grown frustrated with ink jet printers because they were constantly running out of Ink and more expensive to use. Found a great Review of Brother Laser printers. Purchased my first HL-2270DW Laser Printer for my small country church about a year ago. We found it to be affordable and make such beautifully clear prints, we bought two more printers this Christmas. We bought one for ourselves at home and a third printer for a daughter.
Review 34 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Find
Date:November 26, 2013
By Vinnie
from Tucson, Az
I pick up this printer due to it being and sale and costing almost the same amount as buying the 4 colored ink for my other printer. I need to print lot of stuff in black only and it was a better deal to buy this printer then refills. The printer has worked very well had no problems connecting it to all my computer in the house. Love the auto double sided print option.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 35 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Perfect Replacement
Date:November 25, 2013
By Bsm3
from Sussex, NJ
I purchased this printer to replace another Brother Laser printer that worked perfectly for many years until it became cost prohibitive to keep replacing the drum.
This printer is much faster and works perfectly for my small home office needs. I would buy another one in a second.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 36 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent value!!
Date:November 23, 2013
By JetBob
from OH
I had a Samsung printer that was 10 years old, and it was failing, mechanically. I also needed a toner cartridge for it. I went to Staples and saw the HL-27270DW printer was cheaper than the toner cartridge for the old Samsung :D and, as technology does, it printed faster. No brainer....well, this Brother printer is FANTASTIC! Easy to set up, never a problem in the 6 months we had it. I definitely recommend it as a printer if you don't need a lot of fancy-dancy features.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 37 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-2270DW
Date:November 23, 2013
By littlebrother1
from Utah
Printer is everything that the advertising describes, lightweight, fast, small footprint, large paper tray, easy setup and connect.
Toner life great at 300 dpi with toner save on and gives good quality. At 600 dpi quality is as good as any printer I have observed.
Built in auto duplexing is a great paper saver when printing on both sides is desired.
Printer is located one room and a hallway away from wireless router and wireless connection has never disconnected.
Paper path has never jammed.
Have used every day for 3 months.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 38 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
so much better
Date:November 15, 2013
By debb
This printer is so much better than the usual printers (ink jet or laser). It's about 10x faster. I wish it weren't quite so noisy. However, given how fast it is, I don't care.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good purchase
Date:November 8, 2013
By NightPlayer
from Gardena, CA
Needed a simple printer for home use. Did not want to have color cartridge that would dry out from non use. Printer was easy to set up and use. So far have not had any problems with the unit. Tried to contact Brothers customer service about an operating question and did not get an answer. Bottom line Printer 5 stars. Customer service -5 stars.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 40 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Working great!
Date:November 8, 2013
By walkinaz
from Glendale, Az
I've had my printer for a year. The starter cartridge lasted 889 pages. The yield was 500 I think. I have dealt with laser printers at work and when the signal says change the toner, I just removed the cartridge and shook it side to side. I also just closed out the warning that would open up on the computer and keep printing. I don't print a lot but I am over 1600 pages of printing and the OEM cartridge says it has a 1400 page yield and the print out of the status of the printer says I'm not a 50% left. I'm happy.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>