Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-2270DW

Compact Laser Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (660 reviews)
5 stars
450
4 stars
132
3 stars
27
2 stars
23
1 star
28
589 of 660(89%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-2270DW
Review 21 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:July 3, 2014
By Telstar
from Columbia, MO
I've been using ink jet printers for years in my office, but I've gotten tired of the prices of the ink despite some manufacturers' efforts to "reduce" ink costs. I saw this printer and bought it. I'm really glad I did. It's slick and works without hassles. It's cheaper than any ink jet I've ever used. It prints quickly with good quality, and I very much like the wireless option--so handy. I like this printer enough that I bought a second one--one in my home office, and one in our study. I don't miss the color since this is a gray-scale printer. Good printer all the way around.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 22 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT PRINTER!
Date:June 20, 2014
By Stocks
from Arlington, TX
We print a lot of two sided copies for work and this printer works great. We set it up to auto print on both sides of the paper after it was added to the network.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 23 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great laser printer!
Date:June 19, 2014
By seewiz
from Denver, Colorado
I bought this printer because I have used up the two earlier models in the same series.
They always work, quickly with great prints.
I bought a scanner/printer/fax (mfc-j430w) for color things but the B/W printer gets the most use.
I tried another brand because it was on killer sale but it didn't last thru the "training" ink.
I did have some issues on this printer when I first got it but tech support walked me thru it quickly.
If you ever need tech support, these people are the best!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 24 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Tough decision pays off.
Date:June 5, 2014
By jagua
from New York, NY
I struggled for months to rid myself of an HP LaserJet I'd been using for the past 20+ years. As it slowly started to fade in the past year, I knew that nothing HP was offering, in my present affordable price range, that could compare the past 20+ years of excellence. Considering that I paid about $700 all those years ago. Needless to say, I got my money's worth. And then, something incredible happened; the Brothers HL-2270DW popped on my screen courtesy of a Retrevo.com Newsletter. For less than an eighth of the LaserJet price. I bought it. And while we may live together happily ever after, if I get 3 years, I'll be very happy. Cheers, RJ
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 25 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer!
Date:June 3, 2014
By Cubby
from Waukegan, IL.
I have had this printer for two months now and I am completely satisfied with this product.
It is fast at printing, the duplex feature is great, and overall performance of all its features is beyond expectations.
This is an excellent product at a very reasonable price.
I highly recommend it for home or office!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:May 19, 2014
By ArtJC
from Melbourne, FL
A great printer for every day /small business, but also for everyday at-home projects. Very flexible. Prints quick and clear products. We love it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 27 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
An Excellent Printer
Date:May 16, 2014
By Ohoopee
from South Georgia
We already had an HL-2270DW, so there was no doubt that when a additional printer was needed, this was the model that we would purchase. It is fast and produces top-quality results. Toner cartridges are easy to change. Unfortunately, the paper tray is flimsy and it is hard to change it to accommodate different size paper. Despite that, I still believe it is an excellent choice for a small office.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 28 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This Purchase Brings me a smile
Date:May 14, 2014
By pockets
from New York
So far, I have been very happy with my purchase; I haven't had it all the long but I really don't foresee any problems, as this product was recommended by a Dealer who has had this same Printer for some time. I also feel that Brother's stand by their products for they want their customers well satisfied.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 29 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
wish it were in color
Date:May 5, 2014
By JellyBelly
from lubbock TX
because I knew the trick when the light comes on about the toner I was able to get the toner light to go out. If I hadn't read the review with that information I would have not been happy. This is the best printer I have ever had. I got a new router and had to imput the new information about the wi fi connection. That was difficult. If I had only known at the time that all I had to do was change the name of the new internet connection to the old one I would have been happier and home free
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 30 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
my best printer so far
Date:April 24, 2014
By 4srolson
from Barron WI
Great printer & easy to use,always works great no problems at all love it
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 31 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:April 22, 2014
By guidojack
from Austin, TX
Bought to replace a decade+ old laser printer, and it was less than a replacement toner cartridge for the relic. Works really well, prints quickly, and is quite compact. Only downside was the short life of the toner cartridge that came with the printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 32 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I was looking for
Date:April 15, 2014
By Michaelangelo
from Arcadia, florida
Works great and very simple to use. I would recommend it to anyone for personal use. Can print to it from my phone, iPad and laptop.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 33 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good printer
Date:April 14, 2014
By tm68041
from wahoo, nebraska
No problems simple to use. Prints clear and the speed is not bad.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 34 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good printer
Date:April 12, 2014
By Moss
from Plano, TX
Very good printer. Works very well on wifi. I was able to unpack and install it myself easily. The paper trays is also good and holds enough papers.
Very happy with the purchase.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 35 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love my brother
Date:April 8, 2014
By peterg
from baltimore Md.
The only complaint i have is the starter toner cartridge i only got 110 pages before i got toner low
messages the reviews i read before said the norm is 1200 so you can imagine my disappointment when tax time i had to go buy a refill so soon i went laser because i was fed up with ink jet
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 36 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT printer!
Date:March 11, 2014
By review
from Henderson, NV
This is a wonderful little printer. Price was good. Print quality is excellent, WiFi works well.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 37 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding value
Date:March 9, 2014
By jbbwv
from New Martinsville, WV
The HL-2270DW is a work horse. Easy to maintain and toner is cheaper than ink. Love this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 38 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love it.
Date:February 20, 2014
By PourQuoiPas
from RI
We remodeled our office and went to a clean desktop including the new MAC all in one computer. There was no place for a printer in this new sterile environment so I installed this in a cabinet draw and it functions faultlessly in a wireless environment.
Refilling paper is the only difficult operation but this printer holds enough for months the way we use the printer.
Install was a snap and all went well.
PQP
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 39 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Compact Unit
Date:February 19, 2014
By Amazonian
from NY
Takes minimal foot print and print speed is very fast, including duplex printing. Wish the paper tray was larger. Only problem was wireless connection to the Mac, however, Brother's excellent telephone support got me up and running in less than 10 minutes. PC wireless connection was simple, no tech support needed here. Replacement toner cartridge is reasonably priced. Recommend for home, home office and dorms.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 40 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good, with a caveat: InDesign Oddity
Date:February 18, 2014
By Momo
from Berkeley, CA
Got this unit to replace 2 HP printers and I will never, ever go back. I really like this machine! The imaging is good and the duplexing (double siding) works reliably (unlike the HPs), though is not perfectly centered (maybe 1/32 off).
While this is a plastic printer, it is well-manufactured and I have never experienced a jam. Works well with envelopes too. After years with finicky printers, I literally smile at this one.
As you may know, printers handle vectors and bitmaps differently. I got this printer partially for printing books and booklets. I know, atypical use. When I print from standard word processors (Apple's Pages–the Microsoft Word of the Mac universe, Bean, Text Edit, etc.) the text is printed as vectors: perfectly crisp. But for some reason the default compile for InDesign documents is as a bitmap: the text is not crisp but particled.
It is possible to change a setting in the print dialog menus to indicate a document that is mostly text rather than graphics, but I still have not found the text output from InDesign (which is industry standard for books and magazines) to be as sharp as the text from lowly word processors.
Seems to be the same issue with PDFs, but I cannot state that universally.
I am not sure if this is Adobe's issue or Brother's issue, but it has me considering whether or not to relayout a whole series of books in Pages just to be able to use this printer. I like this printer that much! Quality is great, and for half the cost of prints at the copy shop.
I have not yet exhausted the demo toner, so cannot speak to longevity.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>