Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-2270DW

Compact Laser Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (615 reviews)
5 stars
424
4 stars
121
3 stars
25
2 stars
21
1 star
24
551 of 615(90%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-2270DW
Review 1 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer/Great Value
Date:August 27, 2012
By LuckyPierre
from Milwaukee, WI.
This printer was reasonably priced, easy to install and use, and has proven very reliable. I have had such painful experiences with other manufacturer's printers I wish I had found this one MUCH sooner. I absolutely would recommend this printer to anyone for light or medium duty use, as I have found nothing to be dissatisfied with.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Laser Printer
Date:August 27, 2012
By Retired
from Panama City, Florida
This was easy to set up, have all 4 laptops and the desktop all using this printer wirelessly (3 different operating systems). No issues at all. Notifies me of Firmware updates, no need to check if there are updates. Just about takes care of itself.
Perfect for the home, with school age or in my case college age students, double sided printing is a bonus. Great product at a great price.
This printer has already paid for itself, and is still going strong.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This printer is the best buy
Date:July 4, 2012
By Espo
from Cape Cod
I wish I had bought one years ago. It is fast and economical. No paper jams yet. We bought 3 months ago. Print daily for work office. I can hand out daily specials to customers without worrying about cost. It has paid for itself. I rarely use my ink jet now.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
My HL-2270DW is AWESOME!!!
Date:December 12, 2010
By Anonymous
from south Louisiana
Fast, EASY setup onto my wireless network via a USB-A to USB-B cable then moved it to my printers location, turned it on and it has wirelessly operated perfectly ever since! It prints BEAUTIFUL, CLEAR, perfect black and white pages super fast! I use it in my home and office so it gets a fair bit of use. Perfect every time, never a paper jam, never any problems at all. I turn it on in the morning and off every evening and just let it sleep between jobs. It's quick out of sleep mode (just a few seconds) then it's lightning fast printing. We love this thing and HIGHLY recommend it. We are so impressed we are looking to Brother to replace our other printers.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
64 of 66 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:April 22, 2014
By guidojack
from Austin, TX
Bought to replace a decade+ old laser printer, and it was less than a replacement toner cartridge for the relic. Works really well, prints quickly, and is quite compact. Only downside was the short life of the toner cartridge that came with the printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I was looking for
Date:April 15, 2014
By Michaelangelo
from Arcadia, florida
Works great and very simple to use. I would recommend it to anyone for personal use. Can print to it from my phone, iPad and laptop.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good printer
Date:April 14, 2014
By tm68041
from wahoo, nebraska
No problems simple to use. Prints clear and the speed is not bad.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good printer
Date:April 12, 2014
By Moss
from Plano, TX
Very good printer. Works very well on wifi. I was able to unpack and install it myself easily. The paper trays is also good and holds enough papers.
Very happy with the purchase.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 9 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love my brother
Date:April 8, 2014
By peterg
from baltimore Md.
The only complaint i have is the starter toner cartridge i only got 110 pages before i got toner low
messages the reviews i read before said the norm is 1200 so you can imagine my disappointment when tax time i had to go buy a refill so soon i went laser because i was fed up with ink jet
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT printer!
Date:March 11, 2014
By review
from Henderson, NV
This is a wonderful little printer. Price was good. Print quality is excellent, WiFi works well.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding value
Date:March 9, 2014
By jbbwv
from New Martinsville, WV
The HL-2270DW is a work horse. Easy to maintain and toner is cheaper than ink. Love this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love it.
Date:February 20, 2014
By PourQuoiPas
from RI
We remodeled our office and went to a clean desktop including the new MAC all in one computer. There was no place for a printer in this new sterile environment so I installed this in a cabinet draw and it functions faultlessly in a wireless environment.
Refilling paper is the only difficult operation but this printer holds enough for months the way we use the printer.
Install was a snap and all went well.
PQP
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 13 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Compact Unit
Date:February 19, 2014
By Amazonian
from NY
Takes minimal foot print and print speed is very fast, including duplex printing. Wish the paper tray was larger. Only problem was wireless connection to the Mac, however, Brother's excellent telephone support got me up and running in less than 10 minutes. PC wireless connection was simple, no tech support needed here. Replacement toner cartridge is reasonably priced. Recommend for home, home office and dorms.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 14 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good, with a caveat: InDesign Oddity
Date:February 18, 2014
By Momo
from Berkeley, CA
Got this unit to replace 2 HP printers and I will never, ever go back. I really like this machine! The imaging is good and the duplexing (double siding) works reliably (unlike the HPs), though is not perfectly centered (maybe 1/32 off).
While this is a plastic printer, it is well-manufactured and I have never experienced a jam. Works well with envelopes too. After years with finicky printers, I literally smile at this one.
As you may know, printers handle vectors and bitmaps differently. I got this printer partially for printing books and booklets. I know, atypical use. When I print from standard word processors (Apple's Pages–the Microsoft Word of the Mac universe, Bean, Text Edit, etc.) the text is printed as vectors: perfectly crisp. But for some reason the default compile for InDesign documents is as a bitmap: the text is not crisp but particled.
It is possible to change a setting in the print dialog menus to indicate a document that is mostly text rather than graphics, but I still have not found the text output from InDesign (which is industry standard for books and magazines) to be as sharp as the text from lowly word processors.
Seems to be the same issue with PDFs, but I cannot state that universally.
I am not sure if this is Adobe's issue or Brother's issue, but it has me considering whether or not to relayout a whole series of books in Pages just to be able to use this printer. I like this printer that much! Quality is great, and for half the cost of prints at the copy shop.
I have not yet exhausted the demo toner, so cannot speak to longevity.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 15 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:February 9, 2014
By Riku
from Ferndale, MI
Great printer. Like double sided printer with no need to reinsert paper to print second side, unlike older Brother HL-1440.
Toner saver mode adequate for most printing, especially text.
Why not provide instructions to extend cartridge life of cartridge that comes with-found on internet.? Plan to get high volume cartridge soon.
Have not set up wireless yet. Plan to use ethernet connection on one PC, and wireless on other. Not sure yet whether both can have files waiting to be printed at same time. I know you can't do on same PC.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 16 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best replacement for another Brothers product
Date:January 28, 2014
By Anonymous
from Bostwick, FL
This printer replaced a non-working brothers printer
HL-2140 which no longer functions and is dead weight. I use the HL-2270DW in the wireless mode since the printer is stationed 10 feet away from my computer. It functions as advertised and was a good replacement printer for my other Brother. Since I have to print full pages and I use the duplex option to save paper. This printer is the best so far of the Brothers Printer I have tried.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 17 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:January 17, 2014
By MyFirstBrother
from Gold River, CA
1st time Brother customer! I purchased this printer because it was rated well, printed fast, the cost of ink/toner is much more reasonable than inkjets, and it is small and lightweight. I couldn't be happier. In a hurry, I quickly set it up initially as a local printer connected by usb cable. When I had more time, I set it up wirelessly. Not a single problem. Instructions were clearly written. Thank you. Hopefully it will continue to perform carefree.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Review 18 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer!!!
Date:January 16, 2014
By DrFreud
from Prescott/Phoenix, AZ
this tis the 3rd Brother laser printer I have purchased. I have one at home, one at the office and one at my other office in Phx. These are the best. all you do is add toner when necessary. I have had no problems at all with this printer. I prints very professional looking reports. the wireless feature is great. I can be in the other room on my lap top and print to it without any hitches. I does not do color but then again I only use it for reports and business work so color is not necessary. I would have no other printer and I have had many over the years. the price is better than you will find for any decent printer. I got mine through Amazon and I 100% recommend this printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
My second Brother
Date:January 15, 2014
By kgwhite
from Cuero, TX
I bought my first Brother laser printer about 5 years ago. Loved how well it printed and how I only had to purchase toner about once a year. Much better for printing documents than an inkjet printer. It was also wireless but did not duplex. Bought this one because I wanted the duplex feature. My old one is still working great. Passed it down to my daughter. Love this printer. Easy to connect wireless and duplex works great. Would highly recommend.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 20 for HL-2270DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love my HL-2270DW Compact Laser Printer
Date:January 12, 2014
By HppyCustomer
We had grown frustrated with ink jet printers because they were constantly running out of Ink and more expensive to use. Found a great Review of Brother Laser printers. Purchased my first HL-2270DW Laser Printer for my small country church about a year ago. We found it to be affordable and make such beautifully clear prints, we bought two more printers this Christmas. We bought one for ourselves at home and a third printer for a daughter.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 next>>