Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-2240D

Compact, Personal Laser Printer with Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.359 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
3
71 of 78(91%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-2240D
Review 1 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
As Always, a Great Printer!
Date:November 6, 2012
By Bandito
from Chicago, IL
We just added an HL-2240D to our fleet of printers and, as always with Brother, it's a great little printer.
Of all of the various brands of printers that I've worked with over the years, I can honestly say that the Brother printers are the best. They perform well, are reliable, and have the best driver support for a wide array of OSes.
I highly recommend them!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Happy With Printer
Date:March 23, 2014
By Smokey
from Portland. OR
This HL-2240D is a GREAT Printer. My use is limited to small jobs as I am retired.
It's quick and very easy to change back and forth from Duplex option!
I did question buying another Brother Printer as I had trouble with my HL-2040. Ever time I had to replace toner it would not run. After several contacts with technicians I give up.
Hoping I have better luck changing toner on my HL-2240D when iI need too.
This print would be recommended, at this time by me.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:February 14, 2014
By packstore
from Troy, Michigan
Great product. Easy to use and set up and work. great. unit
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 4 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Selection
Date:February 4, 2014
By Roadrunner
from Las Vegas, Nevada
The HL 2240D is a great printer, reliable and functional. This is the second one we have purchased in the past year. The cost and size was key to that decision.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Quality Printer
Date:October 5, 2013
By slydoll
from Pasadena, CA
This is a great printer and reasonably priced. I have had no problems with this printer. I enjoy the duplex feature of the printer since it saves paper. The cost of cartridges is also a money saver.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:September 4, 2013
By wwpjdp
from Charlotte, NC
Excellent home laser printer. Fast and quality print
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Bought one, then another
Date:September 4, 2013
By DLM1
from San Diego, CA
Excellent quality laser printer that - unlike HP and others - works each and every time. As I'd never buy another competitive brand, I bought one Brother 2240, needed a printer in a vacation spot - and bought a second one. There's something comforting knowing that the printer will work each and every time - without fail.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:September 4, 2013
By Southbound
from Florida
Great printer works just like it said it would. Had question and Customer Service was excellent. This printer and Customer Service encouraged me to buy another Brother Ink Jet Printer the MFC-J870DW, which has work great.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 9 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Inexpensive workhorse
Date:July 28, 2013
By Busy1
We have several--all working well and easy to use. Highly recommend the model.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding Value
Date:July 20, 2013
By Pepper
from Albuquerque, NM
This is my fourth Brother printer in 18 years. All have worked flawlessly right out of the box. This one is the fastest, and the two-sided printing feature saves much time and paper.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 11 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer!
Date:April 23, 2013
By GCGEEK
from Grove City, PA
A really great duplex printer at an unbelievably low price! I bought it on sale at Newegg.com
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
BEST AND LOWEST OPERATING COST EVER
Date:January 2, 2013
By MARR
from SAINT PAUL MN
i DON'T USE MY CANNON MX310 ANYMORE EXCEPT FOR SCANNING. PRINTING IN COLOR TOO EXPENSIVE WITH CANON.
THE HL2240D IS BEST PRINTING INVESTMENT I HAVE MADE
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:December 21, 2012
By mudd
from albany, ny
great printer. glad i purchased this item. was a great value for this great machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 14 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent decision
Date:December 5, 2012
By Picky
from Rockport, Texas
This is such a good printer - great speed, quiet, and the print quality is very good. This is the polar opposite from our previous printer experience and we couldn't be happier with the Brother. It was also quick and easy to set up and get running. Thank you, Brother:)))
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:December 3, 2012
By trucktrainerjohn
from Portland,OR
I purchased this printer to replace an inkjet and am thoroughly satisfied with its performance. It was a lower end price unit, but it has been very faithful in its duties. The initial toner cartridge ran out quicker than anticipated, but the extended cartridge is performing better than expected. A great bargain - if I needed another printer, I would buy this again.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great so far!
Date:December 3, 2012
By Sandew
from Austin, Texas
think I found my printer! tired of replacing cartridges I don't even use for color! This laser should work for my few coupons or boarding passes I need during the year.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 17 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Printer
Date:December 3, 2012
By BernieH
from Estes Park, CO
Set up right away. Love the duplexing on big jobs. Very happy so far
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 18 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Choice
Date:December 3, 2012
By TwiceRetired
from Atlanta, GA
I bought this to replace a laser printer from another mft that was failing. The price and performance could not be better. Easy setup. I have other products from Brother and have always found them to be top performers. This printer makes a fine addition to a personal or home-office setup. The duplex feature is a very nice addition.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 19 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
No letdown
Date:December 3, 2012
By JayJayGee
from California
This is my third Brother monochrome printer and, like the other two, it worked right out of the box. Yes, all three are working with no problems and, by the way, number 1 is now about seven years old. If you want a good printer that won't break the bank, this is the way to go.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 20 for HL-2240D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
annoying toner message
Date:December 3, 2012
By Pete12345
from Dallas
When there is about 20% of toner remaining the low toner warning begins. The implication is that you need to replace cartridge really soon.
A helpful company would include in the warning the actions required to not be continuously annoyed.
Otherwise, so far, a great product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 2 3 4 next>>