Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-2230

Compact, Personal Laser Printer
Average Customer Rating:
4.487 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
36 of 39(92%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-2230
Review 1 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
works great
Date:June 27, 2014
By Detroit
from Jeffersonville, IN.
It prints fast and has great quality. The ink cost much less and last longer than my old Epson.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:June 20, 2014
By Jenn
from New York, NY
I love it. It is a great printer! Fast and copies are clear. Well worth it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 3 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Superb Product
Date:April 5, 2014
By GaryB
from Orlando, FL
The Brother HL-2230 Laser printer is an excellent choice for home personal use.
It has performed flawlessly in generating all output documents for me.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good value for the money...
Date:March 12, 2014
By Anonymous
from Kettering, OH
haven't owned this printer long but am very satisfied with the look of the copies made. Very quick and efficient, wish I'd gone with a laser printer sooner even though I don't use it daily. Hope the toner holds up as advertised. I'd recommend it to anybody unless you need a color printer. Black and white serves my needs well.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 5 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
LOVE MINE
Date:November 17, 2013
By Pamm
from BIRMINGHAM ALABAMA
THIS IS THE BEST LASER PRINTER, I LOVE IT! NO PROBLEMS WITH IT, AFTER TWO YEARS HAD NOT HAD TO REPLACE THE INK SO YOU GET YOUR MONEY'S WORTH! AND I PRINT ALOT I AM A EBAY SELLER. I WOULD LOVE TO FIND ONE THAT PRINTS IN COLOR TOO BUT THIS IS PERFECT
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Buy & Amazon Easy
Date:November 1, 2013
By mjones617
from Hutto, TX
Easy set-up & great buy from Amazon. We'll see how much the toner will cost once it runs out! Actually bought it because a friend had it and I was impressed with price and quality of prints.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 7 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
cheap with great quality
Date:October 15, 2013
By kallie
from Wisconsin
I found this Brother printer and it is turning out to be quite the little gem. Prints neat, clean, and quickly. I have other Brother printers for different jobs, and have never had any problems with them.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 8 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Ever Purchased
Date:July 10, 2013
By Lively
from Medford,NY
This compact size printer is a powerhouse. It is fast, energy efficient, cost efficient in terms of pages/toner use. It prints both text and diagrams/pictures of excellent clarity. It is a bit loud when it prints, but that is a small price to pay for a great print job every time. The HL-2230 is a great value for the price. I strongly recommend this printer to anyone who is looking for a black/white printer that will yield professional results!!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Trouble free
Date:March 19, 2013
By ASocial
from Orange County , CA
I have never had a problem with this printer. Does a great job of basic printing as well as printing single envelopes and labels. The toner cartridges are a bit costly but there are third party sources available.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 10 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great purchase
Date:February 12, 2013
By sittinginTexas64
from Lubbock, TX
This is a good little printer. Easy for me to handle from a sitting position.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great little printer
Date:December 29, 2012
By Martha
from Houston, TX
I bought a mono laser printer to proof drafts of the novel I've been working on in my not so copious free time, and to have a general printer at home. I was tired of the expense of an ink jet. I bought this one (from Amazon - I have Amazon Prime, and it's so easy) because of the excellent reviews and the small size. It came promptly, and was simple to set up. It is compact and highly functional. I was surprised at how quiet and quick it is. It's a lot faster and quieter than the printer I have at work - I'm a lawyer and use it regularly. Highly recommended.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great small printer
Date:December 24, 2012
By superstucpa
from New York, NY
easy to hook up and easy to use. I would recommend this printer to everyone who only needs a B & W printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 13 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great little printer
Date:December 24, 2012
By NavasotaPete
from Navasota, TX
I have had this printer for about a week as my office personal printer. It has been fast, quiet, and without error so far. I swapped out my inkjet printer for it, to save on printing cost. We have it's "bigger brothers" up front in the office, including the HL-2270DW. All have functioned beautifully. One MFC has been in continuous use since 2006, still going strong. Because of this, we are gradually replacing dying printers of other brands with Brother.
I expect this little fellow to be no different than all his other siblings in the office.
Brother printers have given us high quality output, have been durable, and easy to use both in the office and at home.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 14 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:November 29, 2012
By rainyinportland
from Portland, OR
Great value for this super laser. Small, compact, starts very quickly, excellent output. We wanted a black and white only, was tired of buying color cartridges when we only print in black. Such a bonus it starts so quickly. Love it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 15 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:November 26, 2012
By Trex
from Phoenix, Arizona
Economical, fast printer, does its job. When I once had a jamming problem, I was given expert. thorough help from the manufacturer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 16 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase I Ever Made
Date:November 25, 2012
By dianimation
from VA
I confess...I am a couponer. I was looking for a quality toner printer for the best value with high-volume output. I was tired of dealing with expensive laser jet ink cartridges that delivered poor quality prints (imagine standing behind me in the check-out line with coupons that refuse to scan). This printer was extremely well priced on the front end. I trust the Brother brand. I still have the typewriter my mother bought me for graduation (lets just say over 20 years ago) and it still works beautifully. I just changed the toner cartridge for the first time after printing hundreds of coupons and the last print was as good as the first. The compact size is also perfect for my workstation. No cons to report. Not kidding. You will not be sorry for buying this printer.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Stuff
Date:November 25, 2012
By Docskyhook
from Coldwater, Mi
I like the value of this product. I save on printing and I saved on initial purchase price. That's a great combination for my wallet. Prints nicely and refill cartridges don't cost an arm and a leg. Printer install was easy, real easy, and when I when I want to print something real fast, the printer is online and ready to go just like I need it to be (Smooth interface). Con: It warns low toner in cartridge a little early. I think, because I just skip the warning and keep on printing. Have not gone bone dry yet.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 18 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent
Date:November 25, 2012
By napper67
from Tampa, FL
Printer performs as described. Fast, quiet, efficient printing. This is our 2nd Brother printer. Our last one finally died after many years and we are very happy with this purchase. Will definitly purchase other Brother products in the future.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
No Printer Cable
Date:October 10, 2012
By Billreviewer
I love my old brother MFC Laser Printer. I've had it for 10 years and it's still running strong. So when I needed a second laser printer I bought the HL2230. Since when is a USB printer cable not included? I found this out the hard way when I got home. Yes I'll give you credit. When I studied the box after the fact, I found a some verbage on top of the box eluding to it. Next time please put it on the side of the box like everyone else does. I'll spend more time in gas getting to the store than I will in paying for the $6 cable. Other than that, I love the printer and the fact that the toner cartridge is afordable.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-2230
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Efficient, reliable, and inexpensive
Date:September 14, 2012
By Pianotom
from Austin, Texas
I purchased the wireless version of this printer a year or so ago, so I was expecting a good, basic, black-and-white printer that cranked out copies fast and operated trouble-free, and that's what I got with this one. I use it for priting multiple copies, say 20 or 30 at a time, and it shoots them out in short order. The paper bin holds a large quantity of paper--I like that, too. Also, the indicator lights keep me informed as to what's going on and what's needed. This is a very relible machine that gets the job donefast.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>