Product Reviews

Brother IntelliFax-1860C

Color Inkjet Fax with Phone and Copier
Average Customer Rating:
2.25 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
2 of 8(25%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for IntelliFax-1860C
Review 1 for IntelliFax-1860C
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase of FAX Machine
Date:March 12, 2011
By Bothedawg
from Maryland
Not only is this the best FAX but it is more than I expected. The price is fantastic - and I didn't expect to have all the features this machine has. This is my 3rd FAX machine (from other companies) and this one is by far the best. Also, the website provides all information needed - it almost second guesses what you might be looking for.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for IntelliFax-1860C
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:March 12, 2011
By rgschini
Seems to be everything it's meant to be, beter than expected.
Review 3 for IntelliFax-1860C
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
works great but ink is costly
Date:March 12, 2011
By dancingheart
from Hawaii
This fax machine prints out great. It's easy to use.
I don't like that I can hardly see the info screen and that there isn't an option to see whether the fax was sent properly or not on that screen, immediately after transmission. I have to print out a report.
The ink is costly and since I don't use the machine very often needs to be replaced whether I use it or not. I can't just replace one cartridge so if one goes they all have to go.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IntelliFax-1860C
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Piece Of Junk
Date:March 16, 2011
By mcatmc
from New Berlin WI
This is a piece of junk!!! There are several fax numbers that we can not send faxes to at any speed or resolution. We bought this for a business to replace an HP Fax. The HP was on the same phone line, no problems. We've had the phone company check the line and there's nothing wrong with it. I put the old HP back on and it works. Brothers response is to send this in for repair. This is a business, we can't live without a fax. Taking it in isn't an option. Going out and buying another HP is. This one is going in the garbage!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IntelliFax-1860C
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Sorry purchase
Date:March 15, 2011
By cycleman
from Ga.
Has many feature, but when the ink runs out so quick and the ink cartridges don't want work correctly, I fell like I got taken. The only thing i can use if for now is to fax out where it does take any ink to do. I replace all the ink cartridges with new ones from brothers and still didn't make a difference. From what I heard after a while the ink dries up in a short amount of time, which makes the cartridges useless.. Stay away for the price
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IntelliFax-1860C
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Fax-Printer
Date:March 12, 2011
By Biker
from Illinois
Worst purchase ever.
This is the worst printer I have had in the last 12 years. A color ink cartridge indicated it was out of ink even though I have only used it very little
To make matters worse, the ink cartridges are too costly!
I would never buy a Brother product again, or recommend one to my friends!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for IntelliFax-1860C
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY
Date:April 14, 2010
By SCUBASTEVE
from FL
BOUGHT THIS MACHINE ABOUT 9 MONTHS AGO. COLOR INK CARTRIDGES DRY UP IF YOU DON'T USE THEM, THEN YOU CAN'T USE MACHINE WHEN IT SENSES THAT THEY ARE EMPTY. JUST SPENT $70 TO REPLACE ALL 4 CARTRIDGES, AND NOW IT WON'T PRINT OUT BLACK. OF COURSE I CAN'T RETURN THE OPENED INK CARTRIDGES SO I'M OUT THE $$$.
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for IntelliFax-1860C
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
I would not buy an IntelliFax 1860c again
Date:February 18, 2010
By Franklin
from Los Angeles, CA
Two years ago, my company (on my recommendation) purchased for me the Brother IntelliFax 1860c. My original fax unit ceased working, and the IntelliFax 1860c was inexpensive and readily available. Here are some of the problems I experience: The paper tray stays jammed, and I have to use the "slipping in the credit card" technique to unjam. The unit "senses" there is no paper, when the tray has paper. The color inks also seemed to get sucked dry even though I get a short black and white ine page fax every two or 3 months. I do not know where the ink goes. I do not use the device as a copy machine.
The inks are sufficiently expensive that the company does not want to purchase them as much as they run dry. I have purchased the inks on my own, so that the unit remains operational. Even a black and white fax will not print if a color is dry. Where does the ink go? I am sure it does not go to my sporadic faxes.
Would I buy this unit again, or recommend to any of my 300,000 co workers? Never. I would be hated and reviled for all the money and time it takes to keep this fax unit operational.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Large Business (1000+ Employees)
Brother products owned: 3