Product Reviews

Brother DSmobile® 920DW

Wireless Duplex Mobile Color Page Scanner
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
10 of 14(71%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DSmobile® 920DW
Review 1 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Scanner:
Date:June 24, 2014
By EasyLiving
Great portable scanner. Easy to setup and use. Documents, business cards, etc. come out as clear as original.
Review 2 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Features
Date:May 28, 2014
By Reviewer17
from Sacramento, CA
Great scanner, portable and no wires with the wifi and the rechargeable batteries. Scanning is easy once you learn the associated programs. It can be a bit cumbersome to set up the organizing program to receive the scanned files. Scanning to the inserted SD card is really easy and quick.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
well done bro
Date:February 21, 2014
By scottso
from indianapolis, indiana
I needed a portable scanner for my job related expenses and documents. Found this unit to work perfectly via Wi-Fi with my android powered phone and tablet. it interfaced well with Polaris office. great quality scans and all around performance.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
excellent gift
Date:February 21, 2014
By bumper
from Long Beach, California
This product was a gift for my birthday. Althoough not being computer literate, I finally was able to figure this out and got it working properly. Now I am finding several uses for it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 5 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works great
Date:February 16, 2014
By zmatt
from Pensacola fl
After three days of not being able to set the system up, we used the tech support people and they we great, in an hour we were up and running. the tech support was invaluable. the written set up guide was not very good. But once running the scanner worked great. I takes up little room and uses no cords. It can be easily put away and taken out when needed. It has two side scanning and that saves time for some documents. I would recommend this scanner to anyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome
Date:February 15, 2014
By thunt
from San Diego, CA
Works as designed. Everything I have tried to scan has worked great. Some of the extra software could be better but it does work. I would buy again. In fact I will be looking for a printer and will definitely look at Brothers.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
DS920DW Great Scanner
Date:June 6, 2014
By jfepac
from Chesapeake, VA
PROS:
Scanner works as described by Brother. Scanner is fast and does a good job with even small receipts. The WIFI works very good. Duplex also is very handy when scanning documents.
CONS:
I would have given it 5 stars if you could control the scanning by the wifi wireless interface.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 8 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great little device
Date:April 7, 2014
By SFCACC
from Vancouver, BC
I purchased this device couple of weeks ago.
It works great. There is just one problem with this type, and it is its feeder. There is no paper holder and you have to feed documents one by one, and sometimes it causes jam. Overall great product, good speed, and quality.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
DSMobile is OK
Date:June 29, 2014
By Mito
from Orlandio, FL
I am not a fan of small format scanners in general, but the larger ones just are an incredible pain in terms of how much space they take up and how long they take to scan. At first, when I used it on my Mac Book, teh DSmobile 920DW seemed like a piece of junk. I just hated the way it behaved, the software tools, the lack of setup utilities, etc. I was even thinking of returning it. When I hooked it up to my PC, however, it behaved, EXACTLY as I expected it to. No fuss, no muss. It quickly and painlessly scanned all my loose pages and I am in the process of going about getting rid of years of paper clutter and getting them organized, which to my sad admission, I find fun.... It appears very no frills in general, but I am happy with how it performs when attached to a PC. Do not have much need for it outside the office. It takes up little room and sits on my desk just fine. The feeding mechanism can be described as a little finicky, but you quickly get used to it and it is no big deal unless you have some really ratty pages to scan. For a PC, for someone that has bare bones scanning requirements, I would recommend this. On the Mac, I wouldn't have my expectations set to high. It may work better on the Mac with different software.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 10 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Neat Desk it's not.
Date:February 18, 2014
By DA1359
Compact, yes. Mobile, yes. Wireless, yes. Easy of use, No. I am still figuring this thing out. So now I can't give a high standing review. As far as the wireless goes it is as long as I turn off my internet connection then connect with the DSmobile® 920DW. I find this a bit Inconvenient.
As I said I am still learning the product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 11 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
it's ok...
Date:February 15, 2014
By fitness
from longisland NY
it's hard to sent up the Bluetooth/wireless
screen display is small and confusing.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 12 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
disappointment
Date:February 15, 2014
By CAGirl
from Huntington Beach,CA
I have a Mac and was never able to set it up so that the scanned receipt went into BRreceipts. This is a very simple scanner and not suitable for an advanced business situation. Although it says it is WiFi, tech support explained that a scanned receipt cannot be transferred directly to my computer in that mode. You must use the memory card for WiFi. Even calling tech support was useless. Some very incompetent and actually hostile tech support reps. Will return for a higher end scanner.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
never got it to work.
Date:January 20, 2014
By Tony99
from NY, NY
I have a mac, was having a problem to getting it to work called several times to customer service, finally was transferred to their mac specialists. After being on fold for an hour, I decided it was not worth it and returned the whole unit.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 14 for DSmobile® 920DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
poorest manual ever
Date:January 18, 2014
By lessthanhappy
from Southeast
I have not been able to use the scanner because the drivers won't download. Oh fun oh joy. So I have to spend hours with trouble shooting instead of doing the work that earns my income. I am very lucky.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5