Product Reviews

Brother DSmobile® 820W

Wireless Mobile Color Page Scanner
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 8(75%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DSmobile® 820W
Review 1 for DSmobile® 820W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Scanner
Date:January 18, 2016
By
from Naples, FL
I had another brand Receipt Scanner and replaced with the Brother 820W. I could not be happier.
Great piece of equipment and woks like a charm. Very good battery life, WiFi very handy. The NEAT receipt scanner RECEIPT software works a tad better at OCSing receipts.
Overall could not be happier with the 820W
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 2 for DSmobile® 820W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
So Glad I Bought It!!
Date:October 27, 2015
By
from Grandville, MI
I am a little technically challenged so it took me a bit to get it set up. But now I use it almost every day and I love it!! It's so easy and SO much faster then scanning on my printer!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DSmobile® 820W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Much better than I expected
Date:October 24, 2015
By
from Saint Paul MN
I purchased this item for copying old photos for genealogical purposes. Because of its portability and long lasting lithium battery I can take the unit to relatives who don't want to give you their photos with the wonder of ever getting them back. The detail in the copied photos is much better than I had expected.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DSmobile® 820W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice job my Brother.
Date:April 18, 2015
By
from Jersey City, NJ
The Brother DSmobile 820W I just bought from BestBuy is amazing and well worth the money I spent. I cleared out my wallet of all the business cards and scanned them into my computer. I also was able to scan important papers and things of that nature to better tract them. Simply amazing!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DSmobile® 820W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
so far so good
Date:February 15, 2014
By
from Oregon
I have only been able to use this scanner three times but it worked fine to make PDF files. It is somewhat of a learning curve to get the documents to come out right and I had to repeat some due to wrong settings. I have it set up with my wireless Brother all in one but have not tried it yet.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DSmobile® 820W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Portable Scanner
Date:February 15, 2014
By
from Phillipsburg, NJ
I needed a portable scanner to scan thousands of documents and expenditure receipts in preparation for a divorce. It scans all sizes or paper (great for register receipts or long legal documents) quickly.
I found two drawbacks to the scanner: the first, and this is purely a personal choice, is when turning the scanner on, it defaults to a color JPG format and I use almost exclusively BW PDF format. I wish there were a way to change the default setting.
The second is the wireless setting. To access the scanner wirelessly, you must disconnect from your WIFI and connect directly to the scanner. It would be better if the scanner could be accessed via my home WIFI simply as another wireless device.
However, even with those two complaints, it is a great little scanner and has served its purpose and is still going strong.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DSmobile® 820W
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Hard to operate
Date:September 25, 2015
By
from Buffalo NY
Very easy to scan the paper through only took forever to try and bring it up to the screen. Had tried 60 times. Ended up with 60 scanned papers in my computer. Did not like it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DSmobile® 820W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not the best product
Date:February 21, 2015
By
from Western New York
I installed the cd that came with my product and when I clicked on the icon it didn't recognize my scanner couldn't find a certain driver (twain). For the price it was fairly reasonable though I'm disappointed it didn't stand up as being dependable as I expected. Also, I had to download the paper port 12 as well from the site. I'm returning it and not a very happy camper at the moment.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
1 of 4 found this review helpful.