Product Reviews

Brother DSmobile® 720D

Mobile Duplex Color Page Scanner
Average Customer Rating:
3.522 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
16 of 23(70%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DSmobile® 720D
Review 1 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great compact scanner
Date:August 18, 2015
By
I've used this scanner for a few weeks now and love it. It was easy to use with my computer and scans beautifully! It's great for traveling because of it's size.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
scanner is an absolute winner
Date:July 11, 2015
By
from Mechanicsburg PA
love this scanner. it's easy and doesn't require hardly any space to store. The picture output quality is great. Absolutely LOVE IT.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 3 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
WORKHORSE
Date:June 26, 2015
By
from Northern Virginia
I just finished a major project of digitizing my paper files. I used the 720D for 98% of it. So much easier and faster than my flat bed scanner. The Paperport software was ideal for the project. If this thing ever breaks, I will get a new one.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works as Advertised!
Date:June 1, 2015
By
from Dallas Texas
Texas courts requiring efiling of legal docs so had to get first stand alone scanner. This one on sale at Microcenter was supposed to be temporary expedient. Sits on top of desktop box with only USB connection, works perfectly with included software making searchable PDF docs, a key issue. A handier stack sheet feed model by Brother/Fugitsu would cost three for four times as much, meanwhile this guy fits in laptop bag to take to other locations. Quality is good with hocky puck reliability. Just download software from Brother site for use with other machines.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
&20 Scanner
Date:September 29, 2014
By
from North Carolina
I have been using the scanner with no hitches. It works great. I had a problem with the plug and Brothers graciously sent me a replacement scanner under warranty. It has saved me faxing documents that needed signatures and saved me time and money.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Features @ a Great Price!
Date:July 6, 2014
By
from Tewksbury, MA
Originally I thought this was a stand-alone scanner, as I needed something that would play nice with Linux. Imagine my surprise when Brother advertised Linux compatibility right on the box!
A simple .deb/rpm download, and I was up and running!
I have not tried the windows software, but I can say the SANE [Scanner Access Now Easy] support for Linux is great. With a little batch scripting, I have myself an excellent automatic sheet-fed scanner, no more clicking on the scan button for every page!
A note to brother: Had it not been for the Linux compatibility, I would have returned this item. Please continue to provide excellent drivers for us Linux folks!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Wonderful
Date:May 21, 2014
By
from Tulsa, OK
Once I had gotten everything figured out its so easy and fun to use.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 8 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love my scanner
Date:May 5, 2014
By
from California
Purchased this item based on my experience with Brother products. This is a great product. The price, ability to carry the scanner everywhere and great work produced by this scanner make it one of the best investments i have made.
would recommend it to anyone that needs to be more productive and efficient.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
WOW! Just WOW!
Date:March 21, 2014
By
from Wellesley, MA
Easy to install. I use it for scanning checks for my bank. What a time saver as it scans both sides of the check at once. Great product!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Another fine addition to my brother equipment
Date:February 15, 2014
By
This double sided scanner (full duplex) will scan to 32 inches in length on single duplex which is an added advantage in business etc.
The price was right for these features and this scanner joins my MFC-9125CN and PT2430PC.
Ulike some other similar scanners the pages do not skew while being scanned. Only disadvantage the scanner comes wth a clear carrier which is only 13 inches long and is too short for an uneven page scab of the full 32 inches.
One reason I buy from companies as this is because they supply drivers for new operating systems and therefore your equipment does not become obsolete.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Product
Date:August 11, 2015
By
from Califonria
Scanner was easily installed and easy to use! I am not advanced in the technology area so did have hard time finding out where my scanned documents were actually saved to!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Needed one thing
Date:March 14, 2015
By
from sarasota Florida
Had no problem setting up but I would have liked to have a hard copy MANUAL I find it much easier to follow the instructions when Ihave a book in hand instead of scrolling through a PDF format.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 13 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
720D Scanner
Date:February 6, 2015
By
The scanner is very good. I like the duplex function. The software could be a little better and less cumbersome though. i refer mainly to BR-Receipts. The lack of support for the software is a real negative as Brother and I have heard that you won't allow uploads of BR-Receipts in Canada. Its a shame because the hardware is very good. BR-Receipts could be a lot more flexible in the database dept. Better recognition of the various fields would be a good place to start and adding extra fields (columns) for ref#'s etc. so users can customize it to their needs would be a huge plus!
After all, whats the advantage to scanning receipts if you have to enter all the data and correct every one anyways.
Overall, gave it 4 stars as it does scan very well in both duplex and one sided modes. Paperport is so far the most useful piece of the software bundle as it is flexible and easy to use.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Very Good
Date:February 2, 2015
By
from Cozumel, México
I'm very pleased with this product specially because it works with MAC OS Also the software that comes with it it's very nice.
Congratulations!!!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Confusing!
Date:February 23, 2015
By
from Tennessee
The scanner was relatively easy to install. The BR receipts program however was very confusing to me. It appears that there has to be a lot of manual input to organize scanned receipts. I was under that the program recognizes various receipts and organizes them automatically.
My receipt input for the most part was not in the offered companies,in cases where I did input companies they were not included in the offered companies.
I do not need a budget program,but simply a capture and organize function so that the receipts can be easily matched to a monthly statement. Do you offer such or is there a function in your programs that does this?
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
bother scanner
Date:May 27, 2014
By
easy to set up as plain scanner, but would love to have video training to use biz card and receipt management software so that I can use all of its features efficiently
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Receipt Scanner
Date:June 12, 2014
By
from Warren, MI
I must be missing something. The scanner is not seeing anything. I have to input almost all the information.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Hate the Install
Date:May 13, 2014
By
from Atlanta, GA
It might be an easy install if you have a DVD drive but if you don't it is not. You have to go through a long confusing process. I can't seem to get the scanner to work right.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Broke shortly after purchas
Date:August 21, 2015
By
Broke shortly after purchas I did not keep my reciept so I could not use the warrenty
Review 20 for DSmobile® 720D
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
HORRIBLE WORST PURCHASE
Date:April 29, 2015
By
I have a Mac Air, Cant get the software to download. Can get the scanner to work. Very disappointed.
Do not buy.
1 2 next>>