Product Reviews

Brother DSmobile® 620

Mobile Color Page Scanner
Average Customer Rating:
3.188 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
9 of 16(56%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DSmobile® 620
Review 1 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
best scanner ever
Date:February 17, 2014
By kms123
from Auburn, Indiana
I have a tax business. I am trying to go as paperless as possible. This scanner has saved
so much time and supplies. Don't know why
I haven't done this sooner.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 2 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I needed !
Date:February 16, 2014
By TLee58
from Texas
This portable, convenient scanner is perfect for saving important documents and archiving.
One of the best purchases I have made in a very long time. Brother lives up to their great reputation again... I am very satisfied!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Worth every penny.
Date:February 15, 2014
By smsagent
from Phoenix AZ
Once installed, this little scanner works great.
Working from a clients home or even in the car is so easy.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 4 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good for the money
Date:February 15, 2014
By fidel
Doing everything it says,I'm not what you call computer savy but it was easy to figure out,love it no complaints.
Review 5 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Pleased
Date:February 22, 2014
By TopCount1
from California
I was concerned about buying a portable scanner, but this little scanner has done everything that I need it to do. Perfect for small projects. Comes with multiple scanning software; a little confusing. Overall a good scanner.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Brother Scanner
Date:February 16, 2014
By Anonymous
from Woodmere, NY
This is a great portable scanner. It works great and is easy to use.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Favorably Impressed
Date:February 15, 2014
By RHM1
from LaGrange, GA
Setup: Very easy
Speed: Quick
Capture: Very clear
Price: Great (purchased mine on-sale)
Wish it would permit printing directly -- If wishes were horses,...
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good product, but software needs work
Date:March 28, 2014
By mv535
from Orlando, FL
The scanner is a good product, however, the software that comes with the scanner needs work. Unfortunately, the software is too cumbersome and needs to much editing thus, defeating the purpose of simplification. Manufacturer gives you little direction on how to run and download software.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
It's ok
Date:February 15, 2014
By sheryl329
from Punta gorda. florida
The only thing I don't like about the scanner is you have to know exactly where you want the scan to go before you scan and if you want the a are scan to go multiple places you have to scan to each place or copy and paste. The reason why I bought this scanner was because it scans 32 inches. However that isn't automatic and you to again have to know what you want to do before you scan. It should be auto up to 32 inches and decide after.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Not confident yet
Date:February 15, 2014
By CherylP
from Jacksonville, FL
I hope to understand it better as I use it. I had hoped to scan recipes to my computer so I could store, send, use them without going through stacks of paper. As yet I haven't figured out how to get them in "Word" vrs JPEG format. JPEG is fine for pictures, but not for reading. I like small size, easy to store.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Hardware good, software worthless
Date:February 15, 2014
By GZbr549
Scanner is quick and creates quality jpg and PDF files. Twain driver really dated and receipt software is worthless. Feel foolish for ponying up 10 bucks for that. Live and learn
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Scanner good/software bad
Date:February 15, 2014
By NCchaz
from Raleigh,NC
The scanner works flawlessly. Good clarity and color. I bought BR Receipts program from Brother. It scans receipts but does not datafill the correct amounts in the database. Sometimes it doesn't fill in anything. Worked with Brother Techs. They could not after many wasted sessions make it work any better. I asked for the money back. It is not much but is the principal. They have not done so yet after months. I will never purchase brother products again.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Great, and not so great!
Date:December 22, 2013
By tritonhead
from Olympic Peninsula, Washington State
Scanner is quiet; runs just fine, lightweight, good looking. The slider improvement to the document insertion port (over the DS Mobile 610) is a good idea.
It has a few bugs in it, which I'm sure Brothers will work out. I don't know if it is a software issue, or a combination hardware/software issue.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Misleading Advertising
Date:February 18, 2014
By BJMarch58
I bought this product because of the BR-Receipts software as advertised on the box. Upon getting the scanner setup, I realized that the software wasn't included in the software bundle, but I instead had to download it. Not a huge deal. It was a bigger deal when I found the software and saw that even though I had just purchased a scanner, I had to pay for this receipt software. So I paid for it.
And boy, did I pay. BR-Receipts is the worst, and most frustrating piece of software I have used. Shortly after realizing this (within the same day) I contacted Brother for a refund of the software. I told them I didn't want to go through any troubleshooting steps, and that the problems in the software are beyond restarting my computer. The software is just plain buggy and doesn't work. Brother has ignored my request for a refund for this terrible product.
With that said, don't buy this with using BR-Receipts in mind, because you'll be sorry.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
SOFTWARE NOT FRIENDLY TO SETUP
Date:February 15, 2014
By fltj
from New York, NY
DSmobile620 dose not come with CD software for saving the scan pages, not even mention about easy to use. Download software is extra charge and time consuming. For the price of this scanner, not come with storage software is very disappointed. It is difficult to setup. You better off to buy a Brother's four in one -copier/printer/fax/scan machine which the scanner is much faster and can scan multiple pages by feeder, plus it gives you other functions.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DSmobile® 620
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Very disappointed
Date:February 15, 2014
By Kody
from Indiana
Not using it at all. I was expecting something totally different. The salesman made it show so simple. it's not simple at all and I don't like the way it files. Not organized right for me and I couldn't get it to total for me...the bad thing is my husband threw away the box before I started using it and then I couldn't find my receipt so I'm stuck with the stupid thing. What a waste of money.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.