Product Reviews

Brother DCP-J140W

Compact Inkjet All-in-One for Home or Student Use
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 of 12(75%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DCP-J140W
Review 1 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer at Great Value
Date:September 4, 2013
By maxwellsmrt
from St. Louis, MO
Product works great. Quality is excellant would purchase again in future
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
one of best purchases
Date:July 27, 2013
By budd
from parks az
one of the most knowledgeable and patient and courtliest help ever.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Happy with my new Brothers DCP-J140W
Date:April 7, 2013
By inquiringmind
from SW MO
My experience with my new DCP-J140W has been all favorable. It was easy to set up and use. I didn't want wireless at this time but was able to set it up wired for now.
I have had Brother's products before and have always been pleased with them. They are easy to use and directions are easy to understand.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
nothing but great for this machine
Date:March 5, 2013
By sonnybabe
from new jersey
having just bought this machine , I had no clue how to hook it up. I called brother and was helped by 2 of the nicest reps. They were not only knowledgeable but patient and kind. the first was a lady named Jenifer and the next one was Antonio thank you brother for hiring these 2 wonderful reps. and for making all your geat products. GB
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
setup dcp-j140w
Date:July 13, 2013
By neurex
I spent an hour trying to hookup using the quick menu on the printer itself...it didn`t work but I would do that first and put in your network name[ssid] and your encryption code key[password] than I put in the disk that came with the printer and follow the instructions and voila it was working.
I believe if it doesn`t work using the manual setup from the printer than use the disk..save yourself from scratching your head.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Another Great purchase from Brother
Date:July 1, 2013
By ourtucker
from Plaistow NY
This is my 3rd Brother printer I purchased and again I'm very happy with my purchase! My MFC-495CW died last week after 4 years service and it was an easy decision to buy another Brother printer. I was a little nervous because I did downgraded from my last printer. However, its the same great print quality and easy to use, just doesn't have the fax feature and fancy display on the device. I don't think I even faxed anything with my old printer anyway. Prints wonderful pictures and the ink consumption is minimum. Great product for a reasonable price, nice job Brother with making great products that are affordable!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Brother MFC Printer
Date:January 10, 2013
By Anonymous
from santa cruz,ca
Pleased with my new printer...so much better than the Canon unit it replaced. Great scanning feature. For a low-priced unit--you got a lot of features.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Still learning how to use it.
Date:December 15, 2013
By Ardie
from Arizona
This is simpler than my last Brother multi-function and its wireless so had to get on line help to set it up to function on the wireless since had trouble printing after the initial set up.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Compact printer
Date:April 8, 2013
By Avin
from Fremont, CA
Very difficult to setup wireless key by entering on printer. If there is a easy way to enter the network key on printer then it would have been nice.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good Purchase
Date:December 24, 2012
By Elesco
from San Antonio, TX
The printer is great and performs very well. However, it uses too much ink. The ink for this printer is too expensive.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Seems cheaply built
Date:January 26, 2013
By elliehh
from Ohio
I am using it but it does seem cheaply built. There are lots of flimsy plastic pieces that I'm afraid will break. I had a very hard time getting it set up so it would print clearly. It wanted to double print. I would recommend getting a better printer that will last longer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DCP-J140W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
worst purchase ever
Date:September 11, 2012
By LynneV
from Charleston, SC
First, try calling Brother tech support and see how long you wait. Finally called the company I bought it from and said, sorry, I have to return this, I cannot set up the wireless network.They arranged a conference call, and that is how after one week and 5 hours of my life wasted, I got the thing to work. The little darling in India asked if I would like to have the directions emailed to me for future. I said no, it came with a manual, if I did not get it before I would not get it again. Here's the kick, she said, no this is a much easier step by step guide. So it is working now, rather slow very unimpressed. Save your money, look elsewhere
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
4 of 7 found this review helpful.