Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother DCP-8155DN

High-Speed Laser Multi-Function Copier with Advanced Duplex and Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 14(93%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DCP-8155DN
Review 1 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Makes Life Less Stressful
Date:February 24, 2014
By EmmaLou
from Petersburg, Virginia
I am a Real Estate Title Examiner and Notary Closer.
I had an older Brother All in One that was well used and in need of retirement. It did not have the ability to print both Letter and Legal Paper simultaneously .
My New DCP8155-DN is Wonderful. I purchased the Optional 500 Page Paper Tray and LOVE IT!
I not only can scan volumes of documents quickly and perfectly; I can also print both Letter and Legal Closing Documents lightning fast with one click.
This Printer is well worth the purchase. I now save time, am more productive and have far less stress using this Wonderful Product!
Thank you Brother!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it!
Date:January 13, 2014
By BrightCorner
from Iowa
I bought this printer to replace my old printer that finally died. I had purchased a Brother MFC printer in September to also replace another old copier. I absolutely love both Brother printer/copier/scanners. The first Brother that I purchased in September has fax but I certainly did not need another fax. So with this one I bought the optional paper tray. It fits right onto the bottom of the machine. My old printer had dual paper trays plus the bypass tray but the lower tray on the old one never worked correctly so was always an irritant to me. This Brother prints and copies wonderfully. The scanner is a dream come true. My one and only complaint is that when it prints, it is loud. The printer is right next to me so that is why the noise is a bit annoying. The good greatly outweighs the bad and I am extremely happy with this Brother. I will happily buy another Brother when these 2 wear out.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Get Copier
Date:September 3, 2013
By Waterbug
from Maggie Valley, NC
This is the second printer that our company has purchased. We love it....
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Another 18 months another Brother
Date:August 14, 2013
By Cenz
from Pittsburgh, PA
First off, I've tried other printer/multi purpose machines but Brother keeps pulling me back. The printers work and they work well. However, installation on individual machines on our network is annoying. I've reached the maximum 100k copies on three machines and have thrown them out vs recycling because I had no alternative. It would be nice if Brother was more proactive in their recycling or made it possible to replace the fuser/laser at 100k so we could get more mileage out of the printers. Otherwise big fan.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 5 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Multi-Functions Get Even Better
Date:April 22, 2013
By ManyBrothers
from New York, NY
We bought this machine to replace an MFC-8890DW. That multi-function machine gave us many years, and over 100,000 pages, of problem-free service. We have found similar reliability with several other Brother inkjets and lasers we have owned.
Brother tends not to tinker around too much with what works, and so this one, in form and function, is similar to the one it replaced.
It still uses Brother's excellent, fast, easy-to-use computer scanning interface (now called CC4, instead of CC3, but otherwise mostly unchanged). The drivers are easy to install, and pairing a networked computer to the networked printer happens automatically.
It has built-in print duplexing AND scan duplexing. Brother has made a nice improvement to the scan duplexing: It only feeds once now, somehow simultaneously scanning both sides.
And the print speed of this machine, rated 40ppm, is basically the fastest you can get anywhere near this price.
Also, page-for-page, Brother toners tend to be cheaper than the competition, especially if you shop around.
The only major drawback of this machine has been difficulty in finding the standard high-capacity toner, the TN-750. (Our previous machine used the TN-650, which was easy to find in-stock everywhere.). I'm hoping that this is just a temporary supply chain issue, because it has unexpectedly raised cost per page for this model, due to a lack of competition in toner pricing.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent copier in every way
Date:April 15, 2013
By orchid
from new york, NY
Really terrific multi function copier. A friend selected it for me according to my needs. It is
just perfect for me.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Office owner
Date:November 25, 2012
By Alvin
from Arizona
Very happy with this copy/printer. Ended up doing more than I had initially planned on especially on the duplex options. Easy set up and only took a short time to learn how to use the machine. Things I did not know became easy to me as I learned how it really work and what it offered.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 8 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Missing Something
Date:October 11, 2012
By TNWHSE
from Tennessee
This purchase was a great one, for speed, scanning, copying, and printing. However, I also needed my All-In-One (Multi-Function) machine to have a fax and it did not. That was VERY disappointing. What office is complete without a FAX, and stand-alone faxes are difficult to find these days if you want laser quality at a good price since all your other needs are met with the 8155DN.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Pleased
Date:September 15, 2012
By danielxzxzxzx
from MA
Working fine for 2 months at home. Software install was a breeze on Win 7 Pro. Dead quiet in deep sleep; I think the only thing that is on is the LCD; no fan at all. Regular sleep doesn't seem too loud, but it's in the other room so it's hard to judge that. Prints and copies look great. Can barely tell at 12 points, but it may be just slightly less crisp than the uber expensive printers at the corporate office. You need a magnifying glass to see that though. I only print 5-10 pages a week. It's way more printer than I really need, but I wanted the high resolution this printer has to print music, which has lots of tiny marks and curves. Music looks great. Everything works. From deep sleep, 3 pages are printed by the time I walk to the other room. The desktop software has no stupid pop-ups and slow progress windows. It just prints super fast. The first time I printed I didn't think anything even happened so I tried printing a couple more times. When I went to the printer, they were all sitting there! Now I know, if you hit the print button, it printed. I'll never buy an inkjet again. I had three and they all stopped working in one year. I expect the ink to last for years. It will probably loose its ability to retain a charge before I deplete it, so I plan to stick with the smaller size cartridges. Time and humidity will eventually kill any laser ink, but I have central air so I think it should last for years. Images like Google Maps are not as defined as on an inkjet, but still perfectly legible. If you need to print pro quality photos, you may need something else, but that's not what lasers are for. But even photos would be acceptable for internal use. I've had no jams or anything; it just works. I'm using HP laserjet 24 lb. paper.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice machine
Date:January 8, 2013
By PMLCPA
from Troy, MI
Speed is great, hookup fairly easy. Had issues with getting scanner to operate duplex system but support helped me out. Working well now.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice machine
Date:October 31, 2012
By carlsbad1
from Carlsbad, CA
Things I liked: fast startup and first print. fast print speeds. The single pass duplex scan is a really nice feature, saves time and less chance of paper jams/wrinkling.
Reason it didn't get the 5th star, it wasn't able to read some of the usb flash drives I inserted into it.
I didn't have time to figure out what the problem was and just worked around it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Bumpy start
Date:April 1, 2014
By StrategicConsulting
from Buffalo, NY
I have bought many Brother products and have had great luck.....until this purchase. The first unit was delivered and it had the sticky blue tape problem where all of the adhesive stuck to the printer. That was nothing compared to the fact that I could not open the front door to get to the drum/toner unit. Brother tech support finally understood and said that I should RMA the unit and get a new one. The replacement showed up and the tape problem was gone but I still could not open the front door. By now, Brother know of the problem and it seems that there was an error made in manufacturing where a bracket was installed backward and did not allow the front door to open. The 3rd unit showed up and finally we got a unit without the tape problem and the door opens. The unit works very well, is fast and is like the typical Brother multifunction. The good news is Brother figured it out and fixed the problem. They even gave us a free toner cartridge as compensation.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 13 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
misleading specs
Date:November 28, 2012
By AlexP
The DCP-8155DN product page says that it supports "scan to e-mail", which was one of the main reasons I decided to buy it. To my surprise, "scan to email" is *not* an option on the device: it's an option in the Brother software package (requiring a USB connection and Windows/MacOS). Since I'm using the device as a network printer in an all-Linux environment, the "scan to email" feature will not be available.
I do commend Brother for their Linux driver support, and everything else seems to work fine. I was just disappointed by that one missing feature. And, I can't think of a good reason for a host PC to be required... the device *is* capable of scanning to a thumbdrive, and is also able to send status reports via email, so it seems like it has all of the components onboard to scan to an email address instead of a thumbdrive. Maybe a firmware update could add this feature?
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DCP-8155DN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Great Features Poor Reliability
Date:January 15, 2013
By nlochicago
from Chicago, Illinois
I am on my fifth replacement unit. The features on this copier are excellent. It is the fastest and best scanner that I have ever owned. However, every unit has broken after less than 2 weeks. Two had trouble with the paper being shown as "out" when it was full. One had a scanner feeder suddenly go "black" and no longer scan. Another didn't have it's printer cartridge and drum. I have purchased six brother units and this is the first one that I have had to a warranty return on (now in its fifth replacement). I am very disappointed with this model.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 5 found this review helpful.