Product Reviews

Brother DCP-8150DN

High-Speed Laser Multi-Function Copier with Duplex Printing and Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
7 of 12(58%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DCP-8150DN
Review 1 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother DCP-8150DN
Date:October 23, 2013
By KPensacola
from Pensacola, FL
Excellent product. Excellent value.
We've been replacing HP printers with this model.
Less expensive per page printed than HP.
Costs about the same as a good USB scanner, but is connected to LAN and it scans, prints, copies and emails at up to 40 ppm. This is saving us money and time. So far we've purchased 10 of these. As other printers fail, this is what we intend to replace them with.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent product
Date:October 15, 2013
By khank
from Washington, DC
The DCP-8150DN is a very good product for a small business office. I have used 3-4 Brothers products before purchasing the DCP-8150DN MFC printer. For a small bussiness I recommend the use of Brothers products.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
DCP 8150DN
Date:April 16, 2013
By drb365
from Santa Cruz CA
The printer works just as we expected it to work. It is our 5th Brother printer, and second all-in-one. Our only complaint is the lack of specfics in the installation program on our computer. We are so busy that we just need 1-2-3-4 instructions and absolutely no advertisements. Fast, down and dirty installation.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good purchase
Date:August 25, 2013
By chauncey
It is fast, makes fine copies, etc. My only negative is that it takes time to reduce the copy you want from the original. My prior copier required only the press of one button. With Brother you have to press many buttons to get the percentage you want. Two sided copies take a while to understand how to do it. Overall, however, so far it is very acceptable.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Works good
Date:January 15, 2013
By Anonymous
from Gilbert, AZ
I have only had this up and running for 4 days.
The first page out on printing is good. I am happy.
The copy function works well and why not, copying has been around for 40 years, it should be good.
Scanning was my big issue and now that I found that I have to use the "scan file" it woks good for sending files to my computer. This feature was important to me.
I have not yet set up the fax as I have one for inbound on my computer.
I tried duplexing, automatically, yesterday and it worked good.
For the price, I am happy that I chose this one. Maybe a few dollars more that I wanted to pay but I have it, it runs and I am happy.
This thing is not a miracle worker but it is good for me and I can see using this for several years.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:December 3, 2012
By christine
works well. very easy install. good copies and prints.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
dcp8150dn
Date:November 25, 2012
By bsracing
from Renton WA
reasonably priced, 40ppm, good quality have have no problems, network settup was a breeze.
I am utilizing a second tray for standard and legal paper pleasently surprised that everything just worked and the install on my wifes mac was seemless as well.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Date:February 26, 2015
By Blanchard
from Suffield, CT
A major design/function flaw: The lack of autoselect for the correct paper tray (when a second is installed) when copying mixed paper sizes (legal and letter)
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Brother DCP 8150DN problems
Date:September 25, 2013
By dentaloffice
from ATLANTA, GA
so sorry to say that we have had problems from day one. Once the entire printer was replaced with a new/not refurbished one, we experienced an entire new set of problems. They are still not rectified and customer service reads the rote answers as i follow along on their website. Weeks ago, I asked to have a senior representative call me but haven't heard anything back yet.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not the best purchase ever.
Date:June 23, 2015
By Chelu
from California
Not user friendly when it comes to using AirPrint and scan to email.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 11 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Buyer Beware! Cannot duplex scan or copy from ADF
Date:May 1, 2015
By McWilliams
from Erie, PA
Buyer beware. Brother fails to tell you that you cannot use the auto document feeder (ADF) to scan or copy in duplex with this device.
Although it comes with Control Center 4, which shows how you can scan in duplex, you actually cannot do it with this device. So, if you have a 20 page, 2 sided document, and you want to scan it, you cannot do it with the ADF. When I asked Brother how I can do it, its response was "You would have to manually flip the page to scan the other side of documents."
It appears to have the same limitation on copying from the ADF. If you insert paper and select Duplex Copy from the machine itself, the only options are 1 Sided -> 2 Sided; there is no option to copy 2 sided to 1 or 2 sided. In other words, if you have a 20 page, two sided document, you cannot copy it by putting it into the ADF, unless you copy one side, take it out, flip all 20 pages over, copy them, then stick all the pages back together.
Brother never actually says this in its promotional material for this device. What they say it can "duplex print" (which it can) and it has an ADF, and it can scan, they just don't tell you that you cannot automatically copy or scan to duplex.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DCP-8150DN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Misleading features
Date:November 16, 2013
By ray323
The duplexing feature is limited. Go with a better model. The build is flimsy.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.