Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother DCP-8110DN

Fast Laser Multi-Function Copier with Duplex Printing and Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DCP-8110DN
Review 1 for DCP-8110DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fast Economical Printer
Date:August 18, 2014
By Nemi65
from Iowa
We just purchased a new iMac & our old Epson Stylus 1270 wasn't cutting it anymore. So we went on the hunt for a nice Laser Black & White printer. In order to be able to print from my wife's iPad we ended up with the Brother DCP-8110DN. Most of the setup was easy enough, but we thought the Air print setup could have been more straight forward for the Mac users. We eventually got it setup, but had to call Customer Service for assistance. They were great & easy to understand. So all was well. The Air print works Great & I was amazed how quickly the printer prints large numbers go pages. Also the fact that we don't have to waste ink to get clear print, in fact the only we did in this regard was to shake the cartridge assembly. No having to worry when we don't use it for awhile that the ink will dry up or when we replace the cartridge the hassle & waste of ink by aligning lines & picking which liked best. Just change the cartridge & go. Very clear precise print & since we don't need color printing that much, this printer is right for us. When & if we do need a color printer we will look at Brother first.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for DCP-8110DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
It is great
Date:January 10, 2013
By SantaGary
from Duluth GA
This machine is lighting fast, saves paper by printing on both sides and is user friendly.
I still have a lot to learn about it but I will keep working on it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DCP-8110DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Centerpiece of my home office
Date:December 29, 2012
By EveningSky
from Syracuse, NY
As with another previous Brother multifunction purchase, a wonderful product. Printing is excellent. I have a Mac and PC interfaced over an ethernet network, and both work with this device, without problem. SW is a bit clunkly, would appreciate an upgrade of the SW, would appreciate more control over the units function by computer, but together with the internal unit software/unit info screen, the total SW is understandable and allows me to do what I need to do with this machine. This machine truly makes my home office. Highly recommended.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DCP-8110DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:November 25, 2012
By Tortoise
from Tucson, AZ
We've been using a Brother MFP machine for several years and are even more pleased with our DCP. Crisp, clean printing; sensible controls; logical door arrangement; and printing envelopes is MUCH easier and faster than on the older machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DCP-8110DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
trouble free high-quality printer
Date:January 10, 2013
By jfpjet
from Raleigh-Durham, NC
Installation was trouble-free and the print quality is excellent. Duplex printing works very well without any creasing of the paper. The printer is used from several macs and pcs. Overall I'm very pleased.
A few points about my experience:
(1) A full software install on a pc takes a loooong time but the reward is high print quality and access to all printer and scanner options. A windows 7 printer install (instead of using the supplied software) can not find a driver for the printer.
(2) On macs the printer is installed by macos but options are limited and the print quality is not as good in some applications.
(3) More consumable parts in this printer than in my previous unit and the cost is higher. Also the 2000 page toner that came with the unit warned of low toner after printing 950 pages.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DCP-8110DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Time Saver
Date:November 25, 2012
By Teacher105
I am a teacher and wanted a dependable copier/printer in my classroom. I have only had the 8110 for three months, but it has fit the bill very well. It copies relatively quickly and works well with my computer. It is tall, but doesn't take up a large amount of desk or table space. There are two things I would change. The first is that when I run multiple papers to copy through the automatic feed, they sometimes fly out of the printer and on to the floor. The other is that duplex copying is not a simple push of a button. It is a minor issue, but annoying when I am trying to make a quick copy for a student or teacher.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DCP-8110DN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good purchase
Date:January 1, 2013
By wyliej
from Winnsboro, TX
The printer worked well and the software was easy to install. I will need more time to determine its network stability. Other printers have not been stable and has caused untold hours of reinstallation.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for DCP-8110DN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Customer Service keeps dropping the ball!
Date:November 21, 2013
By PoorCustomerService
from Texas
I assume that Brother makes a good all in one copier, printer, scanner. However, with any product, there are always going to be some defective units. That is apparently what I got. From the start, the printer would leave toner spots on my print jobs, and the starter toner cartridge quickly ran out of toner. Customer service eventually agreed to send a new toner and drum, but only sent a new toner. Ball dropped. That did not fix the problem. Repeated cleaning of the drum did not help. After several more calls, they finally agreed to send me a new copier/printer, new toner and new drum. The printer alone, without toner and drum was shipped. Ball dropped again. Finally got someone to send what they promised and it is on its way, but I had to return the defective unit within 3 days of receipt of the replacement unit. So, basically stuck with a copier/printer with NO TONER and NO DRUM until they can send me what they promised overnight. Let's see if we get that today. All I want is a product that will work well, and this machine does have a good reputation for being a good multipurpose machine. I know that mine was just defective, but it took from May until end of November to finally get the replacement machine, and still haven't gotten the toner and drum. They say the folks that I was dealing with were all pretty new and that is why they probably dropped the ball. So, if that is the case, customer service has some training issues that they need to work on. I am sure that I will ultimately be satisfied.... hopefully later on today.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.