Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother DCP-8085DN

Laser Multi-Function Copier with Full Duplex Capability and Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 17(88%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DCP-8085DN
Review 1 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great copier
Date:December 24, 2012
By ZeeMan
from Pittsburgh, PA
I make a lot of use out of the copier function with very good results. Worth the money; economical to use; quality copies.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 2 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent machine
Date:December 5, 2012
By phdarlinglaw
from Tehachapi, California
Used in law office for general printing, in addition to extensive scanning of 1- and 2-sided documents. Scanning in color and black-white.
Scanning, copying and printing quality is excellent.
Fast and efficient.
Wired network connection works flawlessly.
Only negative is that I don't like how long the scan lamp stays on until it shuts down. This should be much shorter than 18 hours, or at least user definable.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 3 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good product
Date:December 3, 2012
By stephend
I've had it for several months now. Performs well, very satisfied. duplex scanning, copying, and printing also seems very good.
Review 4 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:December 3, 2012
By mxfan
from El cajon, CA
The printer has worked flawlessly. Haven't even had a paper jam. Was easy to set up. Support is perfect, needed some help connecting to my server Installed extra memory. The access for the extra memory easy and it took under a minute to install.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 5 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good choice!!!!
Date:November 25, 2012
By Rohit
from Virginia Beach, Virginia
I am very happy with the performance of this machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Has been perfect
Date:November 25, 2012
By Priestley
from Asheville, NC
I have had terrible luck with printers and other office equipment, despite careful research before my purchases, but this copier/printer/scanner has been wonderful -- not one problem since the beginning. It is super fast, the quality is great, and the feeder works very well. I recommend this product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
What an amazing machine for the money!!
Date:September 7, 2011
By DanH
from Littleton, MA
Got to be the best printer I've ever bought. Works like a charm - not a single issue with it. Use it in my classroom to get the students to upload their worked answers to physics problems to a PDF to then submit to WebAssign.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 8 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works as advertised - Best B&W MF
Date:July 25, 2011
By 3DMD
from D.C.
I am a solo medical practitioner and over the past 20 years have gone through quite a few copiers, scanners and printers. Have to maintain records for at least seven years, so laser is a must (over inkjet). With this, I can stand at the printer, insert 2-sided documents, scan them to any of the several computers on my network, and walk away. You can customize the way the scans are received by each computer individually. Haven't tried to OCR as I use Adobe Acrobat. I love the full duplex, and haven't had any jams or mis-feeds. As a copier it has all the functions you'd expect and it's pretty quick. Easy to set up and customize. The scan and email function actually works with Outlook. Only thing it's not color, but it scans in color and I have another printer for that.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 9 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Pleased!
Date:March 5, 2011
By RLTCO
from Monroe Township, New Jersey
We purchased this machine for a small office environment. I had never purchased a multi-purpose piece of equipment before and was apprehensive about the probability that I would be satisfied.
Much to my surprised I love it! It is very convenient, while extremely efficient to have a multi-functioning unit at my workstation which avoids having to leave my desk and computer to seek out other units in the office to accomplish a single task.
Brothers’ customer service and tech support has been excellent and have solved any issues real or imagined that we have had. They have also assisted in the use of their product.
I highly recommend the Brother DCP-8085DN unit and the Brother brand.
Robert L. Tammaro
A satisfied user
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Almost a perfect machine
Date:December 3, 2012
By JohninBoca
from Boca Raton, FL
This is the 2nd one I have purchased (albeit newer model) and I would buy another based upon my experience. The speed and quality for copying and scanning funcitons are excellent overall as well as overall cost of maintenance and supply replacement. There is but one thng that has been a probelm on both machines - the roller on top feeder pulls the papers in unevenly and therefore theyscanned pages (or copied pages) are somwhat askew to a degree....not much but an annoyance to a pefectionist who cares about such things.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
No complaints!
Date:December 3, 2012
By CFMA
from Iowa
A good product. Very nice printing and scanning. The photo copies don't get as dark as I'd like when I set it to darken, but otherwise I really like the machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:November 27, 2012
By EBEPurchaser
from Central Pennsylvania
Really enjoy this machine. Originally purchased to use as copier. Eventually networked it to our computers. Great for Duplex printing. Duplex copying failed within warranty and need to be without machine for 2-5 days to get it fixed which is a problem.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:November 26, 2012
By ericjjupiter
from Jupiter, FL
Duplex scanning works very well. If the originals are in good condition or small documents are well taped down onto 8½" x 11" sheets of paper, then duplex scanning can be performed unattended using the document feeder. NOT happy that the Windows 8 compatible Brother original driver for this model printer and scanning software package (Brother Control Center or PaperPort) will not be available until early February per the Brother website. Scanning using the Windows 8 fax and scan settings is cumbersome and very limited.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 14 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good printer - beware of 2 issues
Date:August 31, 2011
By TxPastor
from Texas
I bought the DCP-8085DN and the 2nd paper tray LT5300. Great printer, but two issues.
1) The printer did not have the necessary connector for the 2nd tray, just an empty socket. It was obvious what the problem was. After an hour and explaining problem to two people, looking up the serial # confirmed that this printer did not have the connector and I would have to take the printer 30 miles to a repair center. I asked who was going to pay for my hour on the phone and travel and day spent while printer is repaired. The tech said, "We don't do that." It was Brother's oversight that required me to do this in order to get the printer working as advertised. Once I got it fixed, it prints and copies great.
2) I got this printer mainly for the Direct Print feature and duplex. I primarily Direct Print 60 copies of a double sided document. Surprise, it takes almost 30 minutes to print these 60 copies! Direct Print reloads and processes the document for every copy. I even added 256MB of memory, no help. Very poor programming.
Other than these two issues it works great. If it were not for these two issues I would give it 5 stars.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
OK for the $
Date:March 8, 2011
By Anonymous
from Winter Springs, FL
Fairly Efficient. Fast scan and easy setup and menu options. The biggest problem is that the scanner doesn't scan in quality images unless set to a very high resolution. In which case, it does take a long time to scan in several pages. Otherwise, it's everything we wanted!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Complex Interface
Date:December 3, 2012
By KenK
from Montana
The printer setup was difficult and time consuming. It required telephone contact with technical staff but eventually was completed.
Similarly, use of its many features is not simple. Switching between single sided and double sided printing can be done in the software or on printer keyboard but this can lead to unexpected behavior when one setting overrides another.
The printer is fast and produces sharp documents.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 17 for DCP-8085DN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
having a problem
Date:December 3, 2012
By Engineering
from Pembroke, MA
was happy with machine until black line starting appearing on copies and cannot get rid of it.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3