Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother DCP-7065DN

Compact Laser Multi-Function Copier with Duplex Printing and Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4.343 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (140 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
41
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
5
121 of 140(86%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DCP-7065DN
Review 1 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Cannot find a better printer for the price
Date:October 13, 2011
By Dave3533
from Bozeman, MT
I was looking for a combo printer / scanner and ended up looking at the Brother DCP-7065DN at a local office supply store. After setting my budget, and deciding I did not want an inkjet printer, I looked over the features and price of the monochrome laser printers in stock.
I determined that the Brother had everything I wanted for a price within my budget. I also checked the reviews of this unit online and determined they were very favorable.
I especially like the duplex printing and feed tray scanning capabilities. I am a student, so my influx of papers and notes is overwhelming. Now I can scan all of my handouts, print lab reports, and generally keep my paperwork under control.
The only thing I wish the DCP-7065DN could do is duplex scanning. I did find that I can use a program called "PDF Split and Merge" to merge the front and back scans of notes, which accomplishes the same thing; it just adds another step.
The toner kits are very reasonable online as well.
Overall I'm very satisfied.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:October 13, 2011
By TheEngineer
from Trenton, Florida
This printer is my first Brother printer. It was a good price and I needed a printer, so I bought it. I am very happy with it. The duplex feature is neat. The print speed (not in duplex) is surprisingly fast. The print quality is good. The toner that came with it was spent fairly fast. It kept complaining about being low on toner for the last hundred or so pages I printed.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exceeds all expectations
Date:October 19, 2012
By squids
from Pepperell, MA
Excellent value for the dollar, great linux support, fast and high-quality printing, network ready (ethernet); built-in print server.
This Brother monochrome laser printer is compact and feature-filled. It is incredibly easy to use, produces beautiful, crisp, clear copies, and handles paper perfectly. Time to first print is very fast (few seconds, even from "deep sleep" mode)! The built-in ethernet print server is excellent; worked perfectly the first time each of my Linux machines (Mint, Mandriva, MEPIS, Ubuntu) were connected to it. Linux drivers from Brother are a breeze to find on their web site and install and are available for all features in the printer and for both 32-bit and 64-bit architectures and for both RPM and DEB systems. (Outstanding Linux support! Go Brother!!!) Printer has lots of very useful configuration options available directly from the small back-lit LCD on the control panel, which is very easy to use. Goes into stand-by mode within a minute or so after printing, then into sleep, then deep-sleep modes within 3 minutes of printing to save power; NICE FEATURE! The scanner scans in full color, is very fast, and works flawlessly over my LAN. Highly recommend this product to others.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product
Date:May 29, 2013
By CeeZee
from South Carolina
Bought it on sale. Love it. Easy set-up and so far 100% reliable.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
New User
Date:July 13, 2012
By Anonymous
from Anaheim, CA
Only used this printer for a week. Printed image and text for black and white and color (shades of gray) are good. Haven't use scan feature. Software permits easy networking of printer.
Cons: Uses a lot of electricity when printing. Makes a noticeable drain on electric circuit. Device is noisy when printing. Paper tray need redesign to make back (or front) panel fold down so as to make loading or adjusting paper into tray MUCH more convenient.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Solid printer
Date:June 13, 2012
By schnitzelbank
Bought the DCP-7065N two months ago. Replaced very old Brother MFC-8500 laser that just wore out. Also had two more ink jet Brother MFC-5440CN (one of which refused to recognize ink cartridges and self-diagnosed as needing service - thus not worth fixing). Agree with all favorable points mentioned by other reviewers. Improvements over the the MFC-8500 are the scanner glass for scanning bound pages, color scanning (although only b/w printing) and automatic duplex printing. Machine price good. Toner and Drum costs yet to be determined. The original partial toner printed/copied only 787 pages. If this was a special underfilled starter unit, rather than the standard yield TN-420 toner, it underperformed the advertised amount. Have since installed a TN-450 high yield cartridge and have ~700 pages printed and still going. The page counter feature is very good and helps measure cartridge performance. Does not have a percent of cartridge life remaining metric. A little noisy when printing and especially when duplex printing (has noisy mechanism that drags the one-side-printed page back into the printer to print the second side). Fan runs for a while after printing. Noticeable, but not prohibitively loud - printer is right near my ear. After a while printer is silent. On/off switch on the side is convenient improvement allowing easy turn off for power conservation over night. Only gripe is with scan driver. Brother provides a version of Paperport scanning software. Full Paperport 12 was already installed on my computer before the DCP so did not over-install the potentially conflicting Brother/paperport-lite version. Consequently, when Brother scans via Paperport 12 either from flat sheet glass or auto doc feeder, it does not stop. Have to manually push the "stop" button on the DCP front controls. Then get an error message on screen that must be acknowledged. The scans are fine - just extra effort required. Did call Brother support - which is the strongest point for Brother over others. Easy to get a live, understandable support agent as always have for all the Brother printers owned previously. In this case, the disappointing answer was that Brother only supports the version of Paperport bundled with the DCP and would not troubleshoot the apparent driver problem with the full Paperport 12. Not happy about this as I scan frequently and it is a constant annoyance. However, not a deal killer. Just a shame that good products can't be made to work together. Disagree with other reviewer's statement that envelope printing is tricky. Not so. Only issue is that printed envelope does not push fully out of the printer making one have to reach in the narrow print output opening to coax the envelope far enough to grasp it. There IS a toner save feature. Does take a little trial and error and patience with the instruction manual to learn the features. But the advertised features are there and they work. (No fax). Very importantly, the print quality is excellent.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine for the Money
Date:April 12, 2014
By CSCS
from Kansas City, MO
This machine does everything and is a great buy for the price. I would recommend this and all Brother printers. This is my 3rd one and I just keep passing them down at the office.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good product for the features and price
Date:September 17, 2012
By BalancedConsumer
from North Carolina
I've owned the product for almost 3 months now and am pretty pleased with it. If you're looking for a reasonably priced multi-function printer, this is one to seriously consider. I especially like the feature that allows multiple pages to be scanned/copied. I wish it had a 2-sided copy function. The print quality is very good and clear. I did have a problem with it recently, however, Brother support was very good and ended up sending me a new machine. Good customer service means a lot to me, and helps with my overall rating. I think the problem with my printer was a little unusual, so I am trusting that the new one I received will continue on through the one-year warranty period.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Great Printer but noisy
Date:March 21, 2012
By esumsea
from Miami, FL
This printer is great but it has some flaws.
To highlight the good:
-It prints well
-It prints fast
-It is duplex
The Bad:
-After a month the fan became extremely noisy, not just when printing but for 15 minutes after it turns on and 15 minutes after it prints. This is very annoying
-The printer tells you the toner is empty when it still has hundreds of pages to go. Everytime you print it gives you an annoying pop up saying the toner is low, even though it is not.
-You cannot default the printer to print economy
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
REVIEW DCP 7065DN
Date:May 12, 2014
By EDXAV
from MASS
I HAVE HAD THIS PRINTER FOR APPROXIMATELY FOUR MONTHS.
THE SYSTEM SET-UP WAS EASY.
EVERYTHING HAS WORKED SMOOTHLY SINCE FIRST USE AND I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS.
USEAGE--BUSINESS--HEAVY PRINTING AND SCANNING
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:April 2, 2014
By happygirl
from Colville, WA
We really love this printer. It is absolutely the best printer we have ever had.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This is the hub of my Home Office
Date:August 18, 2013
By MacMaven
from Indianapolis, IN
This machine is a fantastic deal and is the center of my home office. I can scan, copy and print so Kinko's has lost my business and I am saving huge amounts of time. My fax machine is in the closet because now I e-mail everything as PDFs. The copy and print is first rate. The scans are excellent and the included software from Omnipage does most everything you need.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great MFP
Date:August 8, 2013
By Dorsey
from Tucson, AZ
This is a fantastic all-in-one printer. Does everything quickly and was very easy to set up as a network printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Choice
Date:August 2, 2013
By Sandy99
from Miami , Florida
I needed a fast copier and I bought the laser multi-function copier. I am very happy , It is the best printer I have ever had . Very fast !!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer/scanner
Date:August 1, 2013
By PrintDaddy
from Hobart IN
I love the feeds on this machine. I can load almost a ream of paper and forget about it. We frequently copy on both sides of the page for our files. That's a snap with this machine. It's also great for multiple page emails.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Multi-function machine.......
Date:December 24, 2012
By taz0921
from Miami, Florida
Had it for 3 months so far...print quality is great for all types of media. easy to set up and use. Feels solidly made, and quiet.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it to death...
Date:December 24, 2012
By fierojoe28925
from Mission Viejo, CA
This is my 3rd Brother printer. I keep upgrading to get more features. This one has it all. Document loader, scanner, laser quality with cartridges that last forever. And the price was cheaper than I paid for on my last ink jet printer.
No more ink on my hands from filling those inkjet cartridges...
Brother service is wonderful too. Any problems just call and they will help you every step of the way.
Great printer...I print all my color shots at Costco now for 13 cents. Much better way of printing at home.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent purchase with one small quirk
Date:December 24, 2012
By OzarksDave
from Springfield, MO
This printer does everything that I ask. It prints and scans quickly, easily, and reliably. I have had no difficulties, including the setup. The one quirk is the way it prints envelopes from the front of the machine through to the back of the machine. If you only print envelopes occasionally, then this is an excellent printer/scanner. If you print envelopes frequently or cannot easily get to the rear of the machine, then you may want another printer/scanner. It has been everything that I need. We have bought three of these for different offices.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent printer for home/small office use
Date:December 24, 2012
By DonC
from Texas City, TX
The Brother DCP-7065DN is an excellent printer for home or small office use. The printer can be purchased at a fair price, and provides good print quality. It is a bit noisy on start-up, but quietens down once warmed up. The printer is excellent for scanning pictures and documents into the computer, or making copies. The only draw back is that it only prints in black and white, no color.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DCP-7065DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
all functions work well
Date:December 24, 2012
By Snickers
from AZ
Everything works well as advertised. Replacement ink is available at a good price. Have not had any problems with the unit. Only complaint would be that printer is right next to my seat and runs a little loud for 5-10 minutes before it goes to sleep mode.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>