Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother DCP-7040

Laser Multi-Function Copier
Average Customer Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
42 of 45(93%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DCP-7040
Review 1 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
LOVE this printer!
Date:August 16, 2011
By Sophie46
from Minnesota
I need a laser printer and have had several others. This time, I looked into a scanner/copier too and was impressed at the fair price. I ordered it and love it. Functions are very good and it has some I am still learning to use.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Yet
Date:April 21, 2011
By ladyet1
from Charlotte, NC
Got it on sale; was tired of always buying inkjet refill cartridges. Performs efficiently and effortlessly, no jams in the 6 months of use. I use the 300 dpi toner saver option and am still on the original starter toner cartridge. I don't print much, just coupons and airline tickets; I just save data in folders online. It took some effort to scan some lotto tickets for our office group, but copying and printing was easy. I would recommend this if bought on sale and I would purchase from Brother again. I don't have a landline so I did not want or need Fax.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Copier Scanner Printer I have ever owned
Date:April 10, 2011
By Jenni
from Jackson, TN
I purchased this printer after having owned several HP printers that did not last very long. It has excellent quality and I love the fact that it does not have all the different color cartridges that were always going out on my HP printers. It does a great job at scanning and copying also. Thumbs up Brother. I will definitely not ever buy another kind of printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Multifuction Printer
Date:April 10, 2011
By Jeff7
from Maumee, OH
I have been using this printer for several months and am very happy with it. It is easy to setup and use and so far has been very reliable.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer!
Date:April 4, 2011
By bpowell317
from Texas
I am a teacher who frequently needs multiple copies and scans. This printer is perfect for my needs. It is easy to operate and maintain and always delivers. Add the lower than average cost of toner and it is ideal!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exceeds Expectations
Date:April 4, 2011
By Seawolf1993
from Napoleon, Ohio
Primary purpose of purchase is to scan documents in PDF format. The document feeder exceeds my expectations. My wife and I are very pleased with our purchase
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Product
Date:April 4, 2011
By cdavis
We currently have 3 of these copiers and are quite satisfied with their capabilities. Good product for a great price. We would buy another one.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love this Machine
Date:April 4, 2011
By twyatt
from Wichita Falls, TX
Replaced an Injet all in one and I love this machine. I only use the printing and scanning and both work really well. This is a machine I use at work everyday and I have no problems with it. Also love the software that came with the machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 9 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome desktop MFC
Date:April 4, 2011
By Anonymous
from Central NY
I have had a similar model for years, and bought this one to use at a second office. It scans very well, using Paperport software; OCR makes few recognition errors. Copying/printing is crisp & legible. The only drawback is that it will not handle 14" (legal size) paper easily. Otherwise it's the best of the bunch.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 10 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
DCP-7040 "Little Work Horse"
Date:April 4, 2011
By MTucker
from Boston, MA
This machine is a bang for the buck. The scanning option and software is great. The copy quality and speed meets my needs. I am very happy the auto feed feature as well.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 11 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother DCP-7040
Date:April 2, 2011
By Wireaddict
from Clio, MI
I purchased this multi-function laser printer about a month ago because it had just the features I needed & no unnecessary ones to cost more money. I've scanned several drawings & documents & printed several pages so far with no problems. I like this machine & am glad I bought it but one thing I would definitely add if I were a designer is a status LED on the control panel so I could tell at a glance if it's ready to use or if it needs maintenance.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Happy Downsizing
Date:April 2, 2011
By GoPack
from Eau Claire, WI
After years of leasing or owning large multi-feature copiers, I was hesitant about venturing into a small desk-top model, but I have been pleasantly surprised and very satisfied with the 7040. When the home construction market revives and I'm working with plans on 11 x 14 paper, I'll have to adjust to that, but for now, all I've missed is occasionally being able to reduce an 8.5 x 14 document to 8.5 x 11.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 13 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Wow what a difference!
Date:April 2, 2011
By Anonymous
from Colorado
I am extremely please with my purchase of my Brother DCP-7040. I am in the tax/business services industry and this printer has been a lifesaver for me! I was buying 2-4 ink cartridges per week before I finally said "enough!" I have to get a laser printer! Glad I found the one I did! Can't wait until I have time to play with it and figure out all the bells & whistles.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:April 2, 2011
By Cathy20
from Portage, IN
This is a great machine for my needs. It is fast and efficient. Very easy to use and compact. This was the best machine I have ever purchased.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 15 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I like it
Date:April 2, 2011
By GuyB
from Upstate New York
Nice piece, easy to use, quiet, prints well, scan is great, and you can't beat the price with a hammer. If I would want for anything, color printing would be nice. However it is meant to be a document printer, and forget this price, if it were. Scan to your computer is of course, in color. The usual low print cartrige, (runs out quick,) comes with the machine, but the replacements are easy to find, and priced to be competetive. No brainer installation. Doesn't come with the cable to the computer, as it turned out I had one from other retired equipment, laying around. No doubt, you can get one, at the place you buy the unit.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 16 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I am so happy!
Date:April 2, 2011
By Sunshine
from Bronx, NY
I'm old school so I researched for the qualities I wanted. I recently retired and as we all now we tend to do our faxing,copying,printing and scanning at work. Now I'm home so I needed the same however I opted out of the fax I figured I can use a good walk:) This copy,printer,scanner is incredibly easy to use. Wow and the quality is excellent! Easy instructions not many. My research entailed inkjet versus laser. I already experienced inkjet but the laser is phenomenal in quality. Ultimately everyone's fear of higher cost maintenance i.e. cartridges are worth it. They last longer and do pay off. I am very happy!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 17 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Product
Date:April 2, 2011
By bekka
from Phoenix AZ
Easy to use, convenient size, have had no trouble with it. I bought and returned 2 scanners before I found this model. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a great package at a reasonable price. This is not the first Brothrs product I've owned -- I found consistent quality and simplicity each time. Thumbs up.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 18 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
The best
Date:April 2, 2011
By Zengineer
from Northwest
Of all the copiers I have used this is the very best. It is so easy to use that it almost does the job without input. It is quick, versatile, looks good, and is well thought out.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 19 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Good product
Date:April 2, 2011
By Tommy
from Olathe, KS
I bought this unit to replace an old machine that I had for many years. This Brother copier/printer was easy to set up and easy to install the software. It has many more features than my old machine and is very quiet. The print quality is good and it has many options in the copying mode. I like the small size of the unit too. I would highly recommend this multi-function copier as I have had no problems with this unit. A very good product!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 20 for DCP-7040
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great PDF document scanner
Date:April 2, 2011
By denver49
My primary goal in buying this machine was to scan a lot of paper documents into PDF files. Batches of 10 to 20 pages were scanned quickly and easily. Scanning in this manner is a bit noisy but this is to be expected since any automatic document feeder has a lot of moving parts. Print quality is very good. The included software is good, and is not loaded with bloatware applications. Works with 64-bit Windows 7. Cost per printed page will be much less than that of an ink jet machine, even if eventual drum replacement is somewhat costly.
1 2 3 next>>