Product Reviews

Brother ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W

Compact Color Desktop Scanner with Duplex and Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
11 of 14(79%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Review 1 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exactly what I was looking for
Date:July 9, 2014
By ARhappy
from Arkansas
I was looking for a small desk top scanner that was fast and easy to use as I am computer challenged. I researched and decided on this scanner. I don't think I could have made a better decision.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works Great
Date:May 21, 2014
By SEMTLM
from Richmond, Indiana
This scanner scans documents in quickly and I was able to set it up to save the scans in a convenient file on my desktop. It works great for scanning in 2-sided pages as well and for scanning in multiple pages.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 3 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
works great
Date:March 25, 2014
By thorshammer
from ohio, usa
is compact, easy to install, no driver or software issues.
works great with my paperport
works great with windows 8.1 and seven
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 4 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great wireless scanner
Date:February 20, 2014
By Andri
I am really pleased with this Brother scanner. My favorite part about it is the BR-Receipts software you can download once you register your scanner online. Talk about being organized and managing your expenses. So far, I don't think there will be any need for me to purchase Quicken or another money management software.
Review 5 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Pretty good purchase
Date:February 18, 2014
By VRSRS
from Arlington, VA
this desktop scanner is very easy to set up and very user friendly. Just load the documents and hit scan - custom features are great!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent scanner
Date:February 15, 2014
By Dheller32
from Sacramento, CA
Easy to use and is very efficient. Setup was a snap.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great scanner
Date:February 15, 2014
By bikenurse
from Washington, DC
efficient, scans are clear, easy set up, saves to pdf file. Have used on mac and windows laptop. Best scanner I've owned.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great little scanner
Date:February 15, 2014
By duver
from Madison, WI
I have this scanner setup in the corner of my office, taking up minimal desk space, plugged into power and ready to connect to the WiFi. The selling points for this unit, I think, are the small size for a good-quality full-duplex (two sided) scanner that connects via WiFi.
My use of the unit is probably close to the intended use, for receipts, and also for getting hand sketches into email. Also I can quickly "clip" junk mail items of interest and recycle the physical mail right away. For larger scan jobs, I would definitely use a different piece of equipment, and be willing to walk down the hall to access it... The scanner is too big, especially with the power adapter, to carry around in a bag, definitely not a mobile scanner, but is small enough to take with you from desk to table or other working location. And then it would connect back into the same network.
Setting this up, using a USB cable connection to my Mac laptop, was quite simple. It worked right away, and there were no issues.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Working Great
Date:February 15, 2014
By JillH
from Davis, CA
This scanner is working great; it's very fast and easy to use! I haven't used the software. I scan small receipts on their sides, so I haven't needed to use the included sleeve. Also own Brother 2270DW laser B/W printer - low price, and it uses knockoff cartridges w/o a hitch.
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Easy Install
Date:May 20, 2014
By GraceIT
I was really surprised by the easy setup for the ADS-1000W. Simply put in the disk, run through the options and turn it on. It is fast, compact and effortless. Brother has done a great job with this device.
Review 11 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Somewhat happy
Date:July 29, 2014
By papa1219
from TX
Would be happier if the software was more user friendly, like the software with my DS 600 mobile scanner.
Otherwise I am satisfied with it
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not working for our needs
Date:September 17, 2014
By Awahali
from Franklin, IN
We have a fleet of semi trucks and purchased one of these as a test run in one of our trucks. Our drivers have to scan in load documentation and get it to us quickly so we can collect on our bills. This scanner is very touchy about networks and does not work well via WIFI. Also, it pulls all the papers through at once so the user has to sit and feed each sheet through individually to ensure each sheet is scanned. This scanner is causing more frustration than it is productivity. The driver put the CAMSCAN app on his phone and that works way better than this Brother scanner. We will not be purchasing any more of these for our company.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
bad product
Date:May 31, 2014
By anotherverydissatisfied
no instructions, wont import properly to outlook or quick books
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ImageCenter™ ADS-1000W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Terribly disappointed
Date:January 28, 2014
By JamesSSI
from Georgia
I was enthusiastic to receive this scanner. After an hour (4 attempts) to install it I had to give up. I called my local technician who spent 2 hours and finally threw in the towel. I called Brother Customer Service and first talked to a young lady who gave up after 30 minutes. She transferred me to an "expert" who spent 3-1/2 hours doing everything in the book. He finally said the Drivers could not be installed on my computer (Dell 8300). We all received an error message ISO52 but nobody knew what it meant. I plan to call for a RA today. Regretfully disappointed.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.